We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Neptuno” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neptuno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neptuno to your Saves list
Hotel Neptuno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Sant Josep 84, 08370 Calella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Neptuno”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a more traditional type of hotel rather than usual tourist hotels, situated on a quiet street but only 100 yards from the main shopping street, bars etc.The main drawback for me was that although there is a small sunbathing area because of high buildings all around the sun hardly ever shines on it!! You always use the pool and sunbathing areas of any of the bigger hotels if tanning is essential and its only 200yards from the excellent beach.
Large lounges and well stocked bar. Dining room was a bit cramped but the food was excellent for a 3*. Service was excellent with helpful and cheerful staff.

I booked a room for 3 days in a last minute decision to extend my holiday and I booked a single room (which turned out to be a 3 bedder). Decor was old fashioned and the beds comfortable enough. The bathroom had an excellent powerful shower in the bath and there was also a bidet. My only complaint was there was no balcony or opening window ( room303) but the air conditioning was fast and effective with a remote control. Also TV. There was also a good fan.For a few euros more I could have changed to a room with a balcony, but I was only staying a few days and only ate and slept there and it only cost me £44 for 3 night half board.Although there was loud music some nights when in my room I could not hear it at all and slept better there than I ever have before when in Spain, the room was silent. Hardly any traffic as its on a side street.
There are weighing scales to check your baggage is not overweight for the trip home. As I was hand luggage only this was great to know my case was not overweight before I left for my flight home. The receptionists were very helpful and can organise lots of day trips and outings for you. You can have a free bicycle for two hours and they have free to use umbrellas and beach parasols. internet access but expensive and uncomfortable but there is an internet place very near costing 1E an hour. 5 minute walk to railway station.
The only downside for me was that 95% of the clientel were German and as I was travelling alone this meant there was no-one to chat to.
Overall the hotel was excellent value for money and I would stay there again.

The whole place was spotless.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a balcony, First and second floor rooms may not be as quiet ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    61
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
58
57
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

LOCATION:
Hotel Neptuno is in a great location in our opinion. When you leave the hotel, to the right (.5 a block) at the end of the street is Parc Dalmau which is a nice place to go for a long or short walk. It's a fun place to explore and the views are good. If you go left and walk to the end, ( approx 2.5 blocks) you will find the beautiful beach on the Mediterranean which is huge!!! On the walk to the beach you will also find the pedestrian roadway with loads of shops, cafes and bars. Don't be afraid to venture up and down the narrow one way streets. You may make some wonderful discoveries.

FOOD:
Our holiday included breakfast and supper. The food was good. We found the breakfast to be very well done with something for everyone, Fresh fruits, tomatoes, cucumbers, yogurt, bacon, sausage, eggs, cold meats, liver pates, cheese, cereal, breads, rolls, pastries and juices, tea, coffee and cava. On Friday nights they had a Catalan buffet meal. The other nights they had a very good selection of meats, fish, potatoes, rice, vegetables, salads, soup, bread and a good selection of desserts for those with a sweet tooth.

STAFF:
The staff were awesome. The servers in the dining room were courteous, friendly and prompt. A big Mucho Gracias to Manuela, Pia, Lucie, Jordi, Ramona and Ari. The bartenders Cristobal and Jose were helpful, courteous and a wealth of knowledge. Thanks to both of them for making our stay a good one. They represented the hotel well and always had a smile. Hello to Zorro. ;-) The front desk staff were very helpful too. Thank you especially to Barbara for helping us arrange our trip to Montserrat and finding out info for us with regards to my ability to get around with a cane. We loved that excursion and had a wonderful time !! Our room was always well cleaned and our maid was a sweetheart.

ENTERTAINMENT:
When we were at Hotel Neptuno, they had flamenco dancers on Monday nights, dance lessons on Wed nights and a disco on Thursday nights. They have 2 pools. One that is for everyone and one that is for over 21. They had a TV room with pinball machines and pool table. The bar area is a nice place to have a drink or one of many coffees. The pool deck, terrace area has umbrellas with comfortable tables and chairs where you can also have a drink. You are close to many establishments if you want to be entertained outside of the hotel.

We had a wonderful holiday. Thank you Neptuno and Calella !!!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, I would suggest asking for a room at the back of the hotel because the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I really appreciated the people at this hotel, everybody were so nice to us.

The food was very good, cleanliness of rooms great also. However, I would have appareciated a better air conditioning in the room. Other than that, really nothing to say. I would return.

Di from Canada

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights in an apartment here. Beware that you will be asked for a deposit of 100 Euros on checking in to cover any damage to the apartment during your stay. We hadn't been warned about this in advance, but 100 euros on top of the money for the safety deposit box was an unexpected sting.

The rooms were nice enough - however the windows offer nothing in terms of sound proofing. My other half is a very light sleeper and struggled to get a good night's sleep during our entire stay. Normally I sleep soundly but also found it difficult. The hotel entertainment usually ended around 11pm, but noises like people shouting and singing on the street below, lorries, glass being emptied from bins and people moving furniture around at 4am made it very difficult to sleep. Our apartment (number 20) also had ants. Hopefully they will sort this out. The air conditioning was good.

One member of the reception staff was helpful - I think her name was Barbara. However, when we encountered a problem with regards to our return transfer we largely dealt with another younger girl who was not helpful.

The hotel is very nicely presented and the pool areas were kept clean. We particularly liked the adults only pool area - as it was quieter there. Note that there isn't all day sunshine due to height of buildings and narrow streets in Calella - the pool doesn't get much of a chance to heat up in the sun and you will have to follow the sun around!

We only opted for breakfast as part of our board. The breakfast buffet was decent, with a good selection of fresh fruit, bread, fried eggs, bacon, cereal, cakes, yoghurt and anything else you might want.

The pool tables could do with fixing! We played on both - one was slanted so much it was impossible to get the balls to the other end of the table, the other was majorly cracked and the balls jumped off the table.

The bar staff were very nice here. Overall, we probably wouldn't stay here again if we re-visited Calella - but it was nice as a base from which to explore Calella and Barcelona.

Room Tip: 100 Euro deposit if you choose an apartment as opposed to a room. Not for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Spent a week in mid-August and had a great time at this hotel. Food was excellent great choice every meal time lots of fruit and salad. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, reception staff very helpful. Hotel very clean and cleaners always seemed to be cleaning communal areas. Pool was great - even though the hotel was full the pool was never overcrowded the separate adult only area was a bonus. Lovely atmosphere at the hotel with lots of different nationalities. Hotel 5 minutes walk from Calella beach and train station. Entertainment every night and kids club with mini disco. Free bike hire at the hotel for up to 2 hours and some beach activities free.

Had a family room which was quite spacious only downside was there were not enough plug sockets in the room, just one for tv and one in bathroom so was a bit of a scramble to charge phones use hair straighteners etc.

But all in all this is a great value 3 star hotel - recommended !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earls Colne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a cheeky week in August with my wife and two daughters (13 and 10) and enjoyed an excellent stay at the Neptuno. The staff were all so friendly, without exception, and the manager was very visible every evening spending time with his guests.
The children's pool was in the shade for most of the day which was perfect and what a fantastic idea to have an adult only pool/relaxation area.
The bar staff were all excellent with drinks at extremely reasonable prices (2.5 euros for a large beer, 2 euros for a glass of wine) and the free wifi in the bar was a massive hit with my teenager allowing her to keep her Facebook entries up to date (OMG)!
Entertainment every night if you wanted it but the main town was only a 5 minute stroll away so there were other options.
The food was excellent with good choice and different dishes available for both breakfast and dinner, and again the restaurant staff were all so very helpful. The wide range of nationalities (British, Spanish, Portuguese, German, Dutch, Russian, French) amongst the guests ensured a great atmosphere in the hotel which I believe was also a reflection on the staff.
Beach only 200m away and the train station about 15 minutes walk with trains into Barcelona every 1/2 hour (1 hour journey).

Room Tip: Rooms on the street can be a little noisy but that's the trade off for being so close to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We travelled as family of four and thoroughy enjoyed the hotel. We stayed two weeks and had a fabulously relaxing time. We asked to change room which we did when one was available from one on the street side to the pool side which was very spacious and light.
The hotel is well situated on a street in the old town near but away from the shops and five minutes walk to the beach. There is also a wonderful outdoor spanish park across the road at the back of the hotel with various play parks for children and shade for the mid day heat.
The food was wonderful with a great selection of healthy choices with a separate table for children with my four year old enjoyed and was plentiful and diverse. There is also a packed lunch or pique nique service available which is useful for days out.
Although the hotel had evening entertainment it did not carry on too late and weekends were quiet- the mini disco is a big hit with children. There is also free wi fi access and payable internet access ( handy for those boarding cards!) The swimming pool was small but popular with the children and was mercifully in the shade on hot August days. There is also an adults only area for those wishing for some peace and quiet.
The staff were friendly and helpful talking to those who wanted the social side but leaving in peace those who were of a more reclusive nature.
There were lots of visitors from Germany, Russia and Spain hardly any English (which was a plus point for the peace and quiet!!)
I would recommend this hotel as is small but with great facilities, fantastic location (near to train station for trip to Barcelona), excellent food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Neptuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neptuno

Address: c/ Sant Josep 84, 08370 Calella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Neptuno 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel, in the town center of the nice city of calella, not far from the train station to the city of barcelona. Very confortable hotel specialy for beach holidays, families, couples,... All the meals buffet, all the rooms with air conditioning, tv sateleite, telefon, hairdryer,... Free entertainement programm for adults and kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Neptuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neptuno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.