We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ubaldo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ubaldo to your Saves list
Hotel Ubaldo
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   C\ Unio,13, Cadaques, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Cadaques B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great value and position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The position was great only 50 metres from the little bay, convenient to supermarket and the municipal car park. The room was cleaned thoroughly each day, the shower was good, the family run hotel staff were very helpful at all times and the balcony was an added plus. One cant sleep with just the shutters closed as the town is very noisy but once the window was closed the noise level disappeared. we stayed for 6 days and would go back in a heart beat the wifi was fantastic and consistent, cant comment on the breakfast as I am dairy free, and no problem with mosquitoes or seagulls as it was too windy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    57
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is adequate, but nothing much more. The night we were there must have been a special one for mosquitoes and seagulls, because they kept up a rather scandalous all-night festival while we were trying to sleep (window on the street), which of course is hardly the fault of the management. There is air conditioning, but it gave off a bit of a smell. The best was the bathroom, which looked and operated optimally. One serious word of warning: No matter what the owners tell you, if you don't have a small car, DO NOT try to use their free parking. It is three stories below ground, with a nearly right-angle entrance. Once inside the door, you will be faced with at least two sharp (and I mean SHARP) inclines that end up in more right angle turns. We started on the first one, and with great difficulty because of the steepness, backed out. Then we had the devil's own time of getting out the main door again. We ended up paying a public parking, which the owners might have advised us to do to begin with. Even after we related our experience and handed back the keys to the garage (200 meters from the hotel), the woman in charge assured us that vehicles larger than ours, e. g. large Volvos and 4x4s, had made it into the depths and back again, though I highly doubt that. I think a nice, simple 'Oh I'm so sorry you had such a trying experience' would have been a better response. 2 stars is a correct qualification.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Very good hotel. This place is located at the edge of the old town of Cadaques, which means it's accessible by car for easy (un)loading of luggage, though you then need to park your car in the municipal lot just up the road. It's a great location from which to explore the narrow winding streets of Cadaques. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful; make sure to order the in-house breakfast and treat yourself to a croissant with manchego cheese and membrillo! We were on the 3rd floor and our room was generally well equipped, with a small balcony as well. Our only minor comment would be that rooms on that floor were somewhat noisy, although that of course also depends on who else is staying there at the time. All in all, well worth staying at, and would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We arrived one day early in Cadaques due to my misreading of the calendar. Luckily the lady at the Tarongeta hotel had a room available at the other family hotel: Hotel Ubaldo. They were totally booked out, and we got to sleep on the 4th floor in a tiny room. It had three small windows and we almost felt like goldy locks:) The room was clean and simple, and of course we did not complain not having to sleep on the street!
I do not know if breakfast was an option, but we did not ask and just walked to a nearby coffee shop to eat delicious sandwiches.
Nice staff. Only stayed one night. No pool, no extra, just a bed (tv in the room with spanish channels)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Nice rooms, clean and comfortable, great location close to everything. Good parking in safe locked lot nearby. Very good value and nice friendly staff. Great restaurant "Al Gianni" around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We loved the Ubaldo. We spotted the name on the hotel minutes after we left the bus station so it was easy to find and the owners are very friendly. It's in a quiet little whitewashed lane, up a few steep steps, and the accommodation is lovely. The breakfast room was light and pretty and the owners made sure we had a vegetarian breakfast! As there are a few rooms within a small area you can hear a bit of noise from other guests but it wouldn't put us off staying again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed 2 nights. Great location, close to the bus station and the city center, beach included. It's a simple place, you get great value for what you pay. The room was small, the bathroom just renovated was very good, bidet included ;) Air conditioning is also available. It wasn't working in our room, but luckly it was not a super hot week. No lift and no breakfast included. Cadaquès is a lovely town!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ubaldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ubaldo

Address: C\ Unio,13, Cadaques, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ubaldo 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ubaldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ubaldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.