We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome we loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ubaldo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ubaldo to your Saves list
Hotel Ubaldo
C\ Unio,13, Cadaques, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Cadaques B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Awesome we loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a great hotel, very clean, nothing flash, but everything you need, including a great breakfast. The owners are very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located right in the village, so a 5 minute walk to everything. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    54
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
63
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Stayed here 2 nights in early July. It's a one-star establishment on the edge of the old part of Cadaques. Things you don't get in a one-star include breakfast, service, internet access (or wi-fi), and a hair-dryer.

What you do get is a simple, spotlessly clean, decent-sized room and bathroom. Our room in the annex had air-con, which worked well, and the shower in the bathroom was also good. Our bed was comfortable, although the pillows were rather hard for our taste. We had no problems at all with noise at night, as suffered by one previous reviewer. Maybe the annex is better insulated than the original part of the business? I don't know.

You can also use the Ubaldo's secure parking area, and in the high season this would be a “must”, since parking in Cadaques is scarce. To be absolutely honest, I was expecting to pay for the Ubaldo's parking, but it turned out to be included in our room-rate.

One problem we had was actually finding the Ubaldo in a car, in the warren of narrow, frequently one-way, streets that characterise the delightful Cadaques. The instructions we copied from the booking dot com website were useless. Best plan is to park anywhere you can find on the upper edge of Cadaques, then scout out the hotel on foot. Their car park is less than 100m from the hotel.

Another problem was carrying our luggage up 49 steps to reach our room. (The annex is reached by a tiny stepped lane, and our room was on the top floor). Thinking about steps and stairs, the Ubaldo would certainly not be a good choice for anyone with mobility difficulties.

Cadaques is lovely, and the Ubaldo is in a very good position. We didn't mind the lack of breakfast, since there's plenty of choice in town; we liked “Es Fonte”, opposite the Casino. My feeling overall is that the Ubaldo was excellent value for money, (we paid €57 per night for the room and car parking), especially since prices generally in Cadeques are rather higher than elsewhere in this part of Spain.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We have just spent three nights in the Ubaldo. We found it entertainig to find after taking a wrong turn and ended up going down a very narrow cobbled lane!!! Once we found the hotel, the receptionist was so friendly showing us the room and where to park. She was also very approachable and always happy to help throughout our stay. Great price 70euros a night, the room was spacious and very clean. Great shower!! Enloyed a glass or two on the balcony watching the world go by. we found the location perfect for us only five minutes walk from the sea front. An absolute must when staying Cadaques PRE BOOK A PARKING SPACE WITH YOUR HOTEL. We would have no hesitstion in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Languedoc, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

This is a great hotel if you just want a comfortable, relatively inexpensive, simple room (with en suite bathroom) in the centre of Cadaquès. It's about half way between the bus station/town car park and the sea, in the old town. I loved its simple style - painted white inside and out - and the balcony with a view of the mountains around and part of the town. We stayed in the annexe which is reached by a picturesque cobbled alley way with steps. Breakfast didn't seem to be on offer, but anyway it's nicer to eat down by the sea.
The hotel website is in English as well as French, Catalan and Spanish - we spoke to the staff in Spanish.
Cadaquès is a beautiful village and I shall certainly stay at Hotel Ubaldo if I ever go there again - if I can face the precipitous road from Roses again!

  • Liked — Location in centre of Cadaquès
  • Disliked — I liked everything about it
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ubaldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ubaldo

Address: C\ Unio,13, Cadaques, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ubaldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ubaldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.