We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Residencia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel La Residencia to your Saves list
Hotel La Residencia
C/Caritat Serinyana, 1, 17488 Cadaques, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Cadaques
SpainGermany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We (three adults) stayed in Hotel Residencia for one night. There are good things to say about the hotel and not so good things. Our stay was not a bad experience, but I had hoped for more, especially regarding the rather high price we paid. The location of the hotel is very good. Our room was on the third floor, with a nice sea view (which I had asked for - so this was perfect). The room was a bit crowded with furniture, but this is what I had expected after having looked at the photos published online. The room smelled a bit funny but it was clean. I slept on the sofa and would not recommend this experience (ouch, my back!). But the beds upstairs were okay. We had a kitchenette in the room which obviously was not to be used, seeing that there were no plates or cutlery. It occupied a good bit of space and should really be taken out of that room. The fridge was a bit noisy, especially during the night.

The breakfast was bad. We got a plate with a croissant that didn't taste good, one bread roll, zwieback wrapped in plastic, some butter and two sorts of jam. I don't eat a lot, but I left the breakfast room feeling as hungry as before. The only good thing was the fresh orange juice.

As for the treatment: Good treatment by email, quick answers to my many questions. The person who served the breakfast was very nice. The person at the reception was a bit ... don't know how to say. Sometimes nice, sometimes not really willing to help (I had problems to find a parking space and did not receive any assistance apart from "Park behind the hotel on the street". Those parking lots were obviously full already, and besides they were marked green. When I asked about the meaning, he said: "Parking might be allowed there or not. I don't know." Which was not very helpful. Finally I parked the car in the big car park where I had to pay 20 EUR, but at least the car was safe there. When we checked out the next day, we asked if we could leave our luggage somewhere. There was no storage room available, we were told to leave it next to the stairs, where everybody had access to it. I didn't like the idea, so we got permission to leave it in a sort of living room, also open to the public, but so crowded with things of all kind that our luggage happily fit into the setting without attracting unwanted attention. When we picked it up in the afternoon, the room was secured with a "don't-pass-rope", and someone was sitting close by to keep watch. That was a very positive surprise.

Still, I did not feel comfortable in Hotel Residence and I would therefore not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
14
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This small hotel is exactly what we were looking for on our stay in Cadaques. We knew that this was a lovely town, and that the spirit of Dali and other artists woud be found here. When we travel, we like to stay at places that will bring us closer to the town we are visiting. If you are looking for a marble bathroom, extra large bedroom, and ultra luxurious accomodations, this is not it. But this hotel, run by its owners, and just steps away from plenty of restaurants, the beach, the square where everything happens, is ultra charming and immediately immerses you in the atmosphere of Cadaques. Talk to the owner, ask him about Dali, art, the people that lived here. He will tell you lots of colourful stories that are worth listening to. if we ever come back to Cadaques, we will deffinitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

A wonderfully located hotel with great Dali artwork. Staff took care of our luggage, rode with me to the parking garage, and we're helpful if reserved. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Our room looked out over the ocean. All in all, a great value.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armenia, Colombia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

You have to appreciate the type of bookstore hotel this is.. I thought it was really charmy.. We got a small room, for about 60 EUR in high season (August) which was an awesome price incl. breakfast.. Even if the room was terribly small, the hotel is situated in a perfect location, close to everything, and the room was clean, and tastefully decorated with a flat screen tv. Great value ! Only thing was that personel was not so friendly, but everything else made up for it. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

On our 7 day walk along the coast this was the low point of our hotel experience. It does have a good central location, but the rooms were quite small with little room other than for the bed and there was a certain odor I couldn't identify! The staff at the desk where friendly enough but the breakfast was the skimpiest: just one croissant and juice and coffee. The lounge with all the interesting Dali stuff was off limits most of the time. There seemed to be many better places to stay in Cadaques than here, I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was our third stop as part of a walking holiday along the coast. Approaching by foot, it’s a relief to discover that the hotel sits more or less on the front and therefore saves a walk around trying to find it. On entering the hotel, the first thing you’ll become aware of is the devotion to Salvador Dali which you are reminded of at every turn.

We had a room on the second floor, and given the kind of grand entrance and ornate features of the reception, we were a little disappointed at the ordinariness of the room. This isn’t to say there wasn’t anything wrong with it, it’s just that the hotel leads you to believe that your room may also have some surreal aspect to it, which of course it doesn’t. It’s just a hotel room in a Dali themed hotel.

The room was fine though a little small but perfectly adequate for our 2 night stay. The bathroom as well was clean and tidy with nothing to complain about. The best thing to be said for the place would be the location which would give you a view of the sea if you had one of the suites at the front of the building. Our room was at the side of the building and afforded us with a view of a side street with some cafes on. There are plenty of amenities within a stone’s throw of the building including a bakery across the road, a fruit market which isn’t immediately apparent but can be found by walking about 15 yards down the side street and also a supermarket which is handy for supplies if walking.

Breakfast isn’t up to much but you do get tea or coffee, a croissant, a bread roll, jam and butter. This is quickly assembled as and when guests come into the dining area.

All around Cadaques there are bars and restaurants many of which serve sea food. Being vegetarian, we were looking out for places that would serve us well and we weren’t disappointed. Along the sea front there are 3 Italian restaurants next to each other all serving pasta and pizzas. We also spotted a small bar coming into Cadaques that did vegetarian hamburgers but was closed on the actual day that we went so can’t comment on that.

You can also visit the house that Salvador Dali lived in in Cadaques which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. You will need to book for this as it’s very popular and tickets are £11 and you are in the house for over an hour. There are no works of art to be seen and I think £11 is a little pricey for what you get.

This is a decent hotel with friendly staff and interesting Salvador Dali bits and pieces to look at in and around the reception area.

Room Tip: There are suites at the front that will have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

I guess since in this lovely town there is a lack of hotels, owners can charge whatever price they want and not bothering to do any proper cleaning.
They say Picasso stayed in the gotel a few times and Dali visited it. I guess owтук вусшвув to preserve the air and everything there like it was 30 years ago...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Residencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residencia

Address: C/Caritat Serinyana, 1, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Residencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residencia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Residencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.