We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blaumar Cadaques

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blaumar Cadaques to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
C/ Massa d'Or, 21, 17488 Cadaques, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Cadaques
Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“A very comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

In many ways this hotel ticks the important boxes.

It's wonderfully sited 10 minutes' stroll from Cadaques's central waterfront area, and only 30 minutes from Dali's house in Port Lligat.

Finding the hotel is easy once you notice a sign to it, at the first roundabout you come to after the mountain road approaching Cadaques. This sign takes you to the left side of the bay, along a narrow, and occasionally worrying, one way waterside road. The hotel is signposted up a turning to the left, and turns out to be in a quiet residential area.

It is spotlessly clean, has a nice pool, helpful staff, comfortable, nicely decorated rooms (although a mirror in the room as well as the bathroom would be a useful add-on) and free wifi (although not in our room).

Breakfast was OK, but the fruit salad was out of a can and I did not feel that the mid-season price of €9.50 per person was really justified for what was available.

Although we thought that the Blaumar was a bit lacking in 'character', we will undoubtedly be back because it's a very comfortable place to stay in an utterly irresistible resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    52
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denvver
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This family run hotel is nestled into a little spot on the edge of Cadaques. The property is gorgeous, pool area is wonderful . A large cold breakfast is included in the beautiful dining, pool area. The rooms are small, but spotless, and linens soft and white and blue...like the town and Mediterranean. The owners and staff are completely helpful and friendly in multiple languages. It is a great value for the price, easy walking to all that the town offers. Ask for a view , and you will be amazed! A spectacular view from you room of the entire waterfront, lit up at night, pink in the morning. Spectacular and unforgettable. Feels like a home away from home. Also parking right in front, no charge...would recommend a car for travel to Cadaques

Room Tip: Ask for a view, 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Drove here from Girona using satnav. That created a minor problem in that it took us to 'an area' rather than a specific point. The result was that we parked in the main town car park on the outskirts, walked to find the hotel then drove there. In reality, it is quite well signposted along mainly one way streets around the harbour.

Once there we were pleased with our choice. Nice room with a great view across to the sea. Easy walking into the town for bars and restaurants. Good service. Nice breakfast. Lousy weather in late May was a downer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

As we drove through the centre of the town following the signs to Hotel Blaumar we were a little concerned that we would be too far away from the town but not so...every evening the walk back to the hotel was a delight. This hotel is as my title describes was faultless - the room was so clean we felt as though we were the first to have stayed there, the view was superb, the reception always friendly and helpful, the breakfast excellent. If the weather had been warmer the pool area would have been lovely to while away the siesta time...maybe next visit. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 106 - lovely view to the bay, the mountain and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My family and I came to Cadaques in October in some of the wildest weather imaginable!!!! Hotel Blaumar was comfortable, excellently placed, outside the centre of town (fabulous walks back from the restaurant in the evening...), handy for Dali's house and with a lovely view!
...and the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and spoke English well...
N.B. We went for breakfast at the fantastic patisserie close to the sea on the main street in town...

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the good views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived in Cadaques without a reservation in late September, although we did have the names of a few hotels. While looking for the first one on our list we took a wrong turn and saw the sign for the Blaumar. What a lucky wrong turn it was! From the minute we stepped into the lobby and met Arantxa, we knew we had found the place to stay the night. The location is wonderful, a short walk from the restaurants and shops, but not right in the middle of it all. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the pool and sitting area were very comfortable (and although a bit chilly- late September after all- the pool was a big hit with our 4 year old. And of course, Aranxta, who was kind enough to call the train tour company to find out remaining hours. We very much enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the Blaumar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieusse, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

What more could you want? Friendly staff, spotlessly clean with plenty of hot water and a powerful shower. The hotel is very well located in a quiet part of town but within easy reach of the bars and restaurants of prety Cadaques.

Difficult to fault, though we would have welcomed a vanity mirror in the bedroom!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Blaumar Cadaques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blaumar Cadaques

Also Known As:
Blaumar Hotel Cadaques
Address: C/ Massa d'Or, 21, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cadaques
#3 Family Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Blaumar is located in the bay of Cadaqués within 10 minutes walk from the centre in a quiet residential area, close to the coves and the sea. It is a modern Mediterranean building where the white and blue predominate. The small family-run hotel has 27 comfortable rooms with air-conditioning, central heating, satellite TV and en-suite bathroom. Most of them have a nice balcony overlooking the village. The Hotel also has a small summer pool, bar, terrace, and breakfast buffet. Secure parking and bike hire are also available. There are no facilities / activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Blaumar Cadaques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blaumar Cadaques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.