We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Calina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Calina to your Saves list
Hotel Calina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Av. Salvador Dali | Platja Port-Lligat, 17488 Cadaques, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
Allerød
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice quiet place. Very large and clean pool. Lot of pool chairs so always a chair to relax on. Rooms are basic but clean and ok. Location is excellent right next to the beach. A brief up and downhill walk Cadaques. Two small beach restaurants very close to the hotel. Rent a kayak on the beach for an hour. Not cheap but fun. Go to one of the two small beaches a brief walk going left out f the hotel. Nicer to swim at than the beach in front of the hotel. Quite a number of fish to see when snorkelling. Take a walk in the nature area close to the lighthouse. Very beautiful, nice views, but hot in the summertime. Breakfast at the hotel is OK. Not a place for lunch or dinner. Service at hotel is good. Staff is friendly. Had a little discussion with them regarding the credit card payment as I upon checkout specified I wanted to pay in Euro and not in Danish Crowns. Despite this I was charged in Danish Crowns. They tried to correct it but when I got home I realised this had just added more banking fees to the bills. I wrote to the hotel and complained and after a brief correspondence they credited my card with the cost of the banking fees so I was happy with this.
We had to depart the hotel before breakfast service was started and when I mentioned this the evening before they said they would bring a tray with bread, juice etc to our room the night before so we had some food the next morning. They brought a lot of food and that was pretty good service. All in all a very nice, relaxing place to be and we would like to come back

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206. Room 201-206 are ground level with direct access to the pool and trees outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    94
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
52
133
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This place was so relaxing! We had been on a hectic schedule of touring and it was so nice to come here and relax for a couple of days. It's a small, but quaint fishing village and the scenery was simply amazing. The Mediterranean was so blue, truly unbelievable looking. It was windy and cool when we were there, but our room had a walled balcony and I was still able to lay out and enjoy the sun. The people that run the hotel are a family and they are very friendly and helpful. We ate at a fabulous restaurant in town called Canto's which our cab driver referred us to (the cab is a golf cart...that's how small the town is). We also had the best Mojito every at a bar while waiting for a shower to pas and doing some people watching. The beds were very comfortable and clean at the hotel and the staff very friendly. I definitely would recommend this for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Have been coming here for many years and obviously if we've come back so many times it's because we love it here. The position overlooking Port Lligat is idyllic and the perfect place to relax. For some people the distance from Cadaques is a drawback but we enjoy the walk down to the village for dinner and the walk back. We find everything perfect. If I had to find one thing I'd like to improve would be more fresh fruit in the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a second visit to Hotel Calina within a few months, we enjoyed our first short break there so much we just wanted to go back, on the second visit we visited with two friends from France. The hotel staff made us so welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were nice and clean and with views of the sea . It was so relaxing sitting around the pool and soaking up the ambience, it is a lovely peaceful haven to return too after a day exploring the region or strolling around Cadaques . Breakfast was lovely and fresh with a variety of choice and we enjoyed sampling the tapas mid day by the pool. Parking for the car was good, with some shaded parking bays..... yes we would go back again when visiting that area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western europe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Quite late leaving this review. Stayed here last September. On arrival became aware that the hotel was only within walking distance of Cadaques by someone quite fit (up and over a steep hill- and a distance of maybe 2 km) which applied to me but not my travelling companion which led to quite a dilemma as we had booked on for a week. Long story short we stayed and ended up having a very relaxing holiday in this low key but ambient hotel. The decision was made by the patience of the family and the fact that they really understood our dilemma and also that the atmosphere is very conducive to letting go and relaxing. The two beaches within walking distance are truely beautiful and great to swim in. Downside - no evening meal available and no satisfactory resturant in the area which means one has to travel into Cadaques at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We chose Calina as a couple of our other choices did not have availability but to be honest I believe Calina might actually be a better option. Hotel is located about 5 mins drive from Cadaques, you need to be alert to the signs though otherwise you may end up at the front which does not have vehicular access to the car-park. Port Lligat is extremely quiet with no shops other than a beach-side food/drink kiosk, no bars and no restaurants. The serenity was extremely beguiling. The walk back to Cadaques takes around 20 minutes, stay quiet and you may be rewarded with the appearance of a wild Wild Boar. The hotel itself is very well presented. We had a room but there also appeared to be family-size apartments. Car parking is free and well organised. Reception was efficient and friendly. Our room overlooked the pool and the sea, the vista was even better than portrayed on the hotel's own web-site, absolutely stunning. Room was well decorated in a simple manner and spotlessly clean. The terrace came with chairs and mini sun-loungers. So far all perfect. Only slight down-side would be the breakfast. It didn't commence until 8.30am, we would have preferred slightly earlier, and whilst beautifully presented and fairly imaginative, it consisted primarily of bread and cakes with a small selection of cheese and hot/cold meats. Our preference would have included more fruit and vegetables but that is possibly just our taste. Overall, I think it proved to be an excellent choice. By the way I don't believe Anny M from Barcelona's review is actually of this hotel as none of it resembles in any way the hotel I experienced.

Room Tip: I think 301 - 308 would all provide the excellent views that we experiences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We traveled to Spain towards the end of March, and planned to drive around Costa Brava and Rosas. This hotel was absolutely wonderful ! We had spent one evening in another absolutely horrible hotel, and were desperately looking for another hotel. Hotel Calina came to our rescue! Esther was so friendly, and spoke good english. We stayed for four days.

The hotel does accept pets (we were traveling with two). We had to book one of the studio apartments, but we're so glad we did. The studio was spacious, has a fridge, stove, microwave and cook ware. There is a large closet & safe as well. Everything was very clean (and is cleaned daily). The tile in the bathroom does look a little like something out of the 70's -brown tiles, but it was very clean and didn't bother us at all. There is a small yard/park area where your dogs can go to the bathroom. There is a variety of foods offered for breakfast. We just had breakfast one time as a treat, and the rest of the days we just made breakfast in the studio. We both agreed it would be a lovely place for a family to go on vacation every summer.

Salvador Dali's house is only about a 2 min walk. It's right around the corner from the hotel. You can also take a 30 min boat ride in Dali's boat 'Gala'. There is a scenic train that takes you around the nature park & near by Cap De Cruses. Excellent hiking in this area. There are also near by places for snorkling, and swimming (but probably in the shallow area only to be safe). The hotel also has a pool for swimming. The town of Cadaques is probably a 15 minute walk downhill, and the whole town is really so beautiful.

This was one of our favorite/memorable trips, and we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel.....we almost didn't want to leave, lol ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadaques
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#2 of 14 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Horta d'en Rahola
Hotel Horta d'en Rahola
#1 of 14 in Cadaques
5.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#3 of 14 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#7 of 14 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tarongeta
Hotel Tarongeta
#8 of 14 in Cadaques
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Octavia
Hotel Octavia
#12 of 14 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calina

Address: 33 Av. Salvador Dali | Platja Port-Lligat, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cadaques
#4 Family Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Calina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Calina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calina Hotel Cadaques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Calina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.