We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rocamar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rocamar to your Saves list
Hotel Rocamar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Dr. Bartomeus s/n, 17488 Cadaques, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Cadaques
Bournemouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Slightly faded hotel but didn't matter as quiet location in Cadaques overlooking sea with pleasant walk into the town. Beach and interesting rocky promontory close by for sunbathing and good swimming. Clean pleasant room with good view. Breakfast basic.

Room Tip: At front with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    112
    43
    15
    13
See reviews for
46
135
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We loved the resort and the location of this hotel. It was very clean, air conditioned with excellent breakfasts. However it didn't start well for our party because the rooms were reconfigured wrongly and it was difficult to work out where the mistake had occurred, booking agent or hotel. That said the hotel didn't crown itself in glory in terms of how it responded, having promised they would resolve the problem the following day this didn't happen. The staff were not the most friendliest and you simply could not get a bar drink late in the evenings, but the breathtaking views of the hotel more than made up for it. With some focussed investment this could be am amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Try for seaview as the scenery is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Having just arrived from Palamos down the Costa Brava and having stayed in the top floor suite at the Hotel Trias (which I highly recommend) at the higher priced Hotel Rocamar, perched atop the horseshoe shaped bay with its absolutely stunning view of the port and town, I anticipated a room, if not equal in size, well appointed and gracious. And, although I upgraded to a sea view room with balcony what I received was a small room that was almost dormitory like in size with armoir, dresser and chair and a separate and very small bathroom. Now, this was not inadequate, neither was anything really 'wrong' with the room. Simply, at the @$185.00 were it not for the breathtaking view from the small balcony on which you can just step out and sit, I might have changed hotels. The staff, as previousley cited, was charming and gracious and helpful. The outdoor terrace had the sterotypical breeze, view and jaw dropping scenery.The deception was the contrast of the post card surroundings and the expectation they invited. All that being said, the stay was really pleasant. I will review the restaurant separately but suffice it to say that given we were told that they hired three kitchen staff from El Bulli, now defunct, the food was inferior at a high price that the terrace view commanded.

Room Tip: I have not been in the 'superior' rooms which have a large balcony facing the front side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director-Propietario at Hotel Rocamar, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your opinion. We are pleased to know that your stay in Rocamar was pleasant. We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit in the next future. In this case we kindly recommend you to book a Superior room with sea view which is a nice room with a large terrace overlooking the sea or if you prefer our Suite of 80 m2. also with a large terrace and a splendid view. There is a Restaurant in Cadaques hired by three kitchen staff from El Bulli. Our Restaurant Sa Conca is actually considered one of the best in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Nice quiet spot with beautiful breezes and views. Mattress was hard and room was too stuffy or too cool depending on whether window was open. Dinner on the Prix Fix menu, very good, had salt encased fish, (better than it sounds!) Food and Beverage staff staff stood-out--excellent. Desk person called/disturbed me to dress and come down to check out at 10:30 pm since we were leaving early a.m. --seemed odd since the desk was staffed in the morning. Good Stay.

Room Tip: Some Ocean view rooms have balconies, nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I would highly recommend staying at the Hotel Rocamar when in Cadaques. If you book a room facing the sea, you will have the view of a lifetime. In addition, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Although the room was not cheap, it was certainly worth it.

Room Tip: As for a room with a sea view on the fourth or fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Rocamar in Cadaques in late May of this year, and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is an older hotel, but maintained well enough. It is at the end of the small town of Cadaques. And, it's really quite a thrill to drive along the promenade "road" (which is more like a sidewalk) to get to the hotel. We felt like nothing larger than a bicycle should be on it with the pedestrians!

We paid 150 euros/night to have a sea view room (compared to 117E for a montainside view). This was certainly well worth it and we had a wonderful balcony with table and chairs that we enjoyed sitting on. It was great to watch the yachts, kayaks and other activity on the water.

The room was good--spacious and clean. The hotel has other features that we didn't utilize, like an indoor pool, tennis courts, etc.

We were in southern France and Spain for a month and have to say that the breakfasts here were the best anywhere by far. This includes comparing it with many of the Spanish parador breakfasts, which are notably wonderful. Everything was excellent, but the baked goods were simply awesome. The breakfast room had great views, and coffee can be taken outside later on if you so desire.

Walking into town is only 10 minutes each way, and we loved the little village. The Dali House nearby is definitely worth seeing. But you should have the hotel's front desk reserve space, as admissions are limited. You might even ask in an email before your arrival, as it was extremely crowded the day we were there. Also, the drive past the Dali Home to the Point at the end of the road is wonderfully scenic.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Above the hustle and bustle of the tourist town is a quiet oasis.
You are greeted by AMAZING reception staff - Marce, Katy, Sonia and all other staff go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Best nights sleep in all of Spain, fresh air coming in off the Mediterranean, no roudy street noise, it is a little piece of heaven.
The breakfast is first class, the restaurant serves very good quality meals although a bit meager in size and high in price.
Go for broke and book the sea view, and if really splurging upgrade to superior.
The excersize you get from walking to town, will be good to help burn off those extra calories from the fabulous food and wines in the region.
The grounds need some love but they are extensive and need more help than they have.
Truly an enjoyable experience, we would love to return here.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rocamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamar

Address: C/ Dr. Bartomeus s/n, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cadaques
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rocamar 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rocamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocamar Hotel Cadaques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rocamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.