We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views in a charming village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rocamar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rocamar to your Saves list
Hotel Rocamar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Dr. Bartomeus s/n, 17488 Cadaques, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Cadaques
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views in a charming village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is located high on a hill overlooking the sea and the village of Cadaques. Our room was large, with a king size bed, but we had no view from our window. We did, however, have a lovely sitting area on a mezzanine level above our bedroom and we could always go to the dining room or ourside for the view. I was reluctant to book a 3* hotel (preferred a four or five) but none was available in Cadaques. I needn't have worried, because the Rocamar (3*) was better than the 4* hotel we stayed in in Barcelona! Wonderful restaurants and delightful people are all over the village, a ten minute walk from the hotel Rocamar (downhill into the village, uphill home). The dining room where breakfast was served had the most stunning views anywhere in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    112
    43
    15
    13
See reviews for
46
135
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed in a 4 bed room ( 2 adults and 2 children) which was spacious and clean ( nice bathroom ). The hotel is in a fantastic location about 10 min walk from the main town and is therefor quiet. With some money spent on it , it could easily become 5 *. The 3* however gives it a very relaxed feel , the pool area is nice with shade, path down to the beach ( pebbly ) and there is also a big terrace with lovely views. Breakfast is good too. If you have very small children you need to be careful as there are quite a few walls with steep drops so you need to be on your guard. Lovely walks in the vicinity too. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The only reason why we stayed here was because of the the only available room in Cadaques.

If you want to enjoy the small and cozy village of Cadaques then choose another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

It isn't easy to find rooms in Europe for a family of four, so I will say that the set-up at this hotel was nice. We had a room with two beds and the bathroom, then a door separating the other room with a queen size bed. The rooms were very tired looking, much like a Motel 6 in the U.S. The beds were not comfortable. We booked the least expensive floor, which is the bottom floor, so you are really looking at nothing but a couple of walls and a few plants. However, I imagine the rooms on the upper floors probably are nicer since the view would make them more airy and bright. The location is good, outside of town but walking distance. The view from the front of the hotel and the pool are great. There is also a tennis court. We ate lunch there one day and it was very expensive. Breakfast was included and was very nice. No one helped us with our luggage and our room was difficult to get to so that wasn't too fun. On the day we checked out the elevator was broken so we literally were told to take our luggage through the window, which we did. This was actually much easier then dragging it through the hotel. Of course no one helped us. Other then this the staff was pretty nice. I thought the room was overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Me and my wife visited 2nd-9th April 11 stayed in room 104 which is situated above the restaurant and sea front entrance quiet at this time of the year but maybe in the summer it would get a bit noisy.Found the staff to be very helpfull.The breakfast had everything full English or continental something there to suit everyone. Fantastic view of the sea/beach just 2-3 minute stroll to the centre wher ther are plenty of bars and restaurants to chose from.
Prices for a pint of beer range from 1.5 / 2.5 euros during happy hour which seems to go on all day.Had a great stay at the Rocamar and would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Fantastic infinity pool on third floor reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this elegant, romantic hotel in March 2011. It was still off season and the hotel was very quiet, but it probably gets busier in the summer. We asked for a room with a sea-view, and they charged us about fifteen euros more per night for it, but it was worth it. Our room had a gorgeous balcony overlooking the sea and we enjoyed watching the misty sunset and listening to the waves crashing against the rocky cliffs all night. We had a very good seafood dinner and a nice full breakfast in the hotel dining room. There was a small bar off the lobby and we had a pleasant time in the evning sitting by the terrace with a glass of wine. We noticed an indoor swimming pool (which we didn't use) and an outdoor pool which was still closed for the season. The desk staff were friendly and spoke English well. I'm only sorry we didn't have more time to explore the town of Cadaques itself. Driving to Cadaques was quite an adventure; the narrow, winding mountain roads were picturesque, but somewhat daunting for an American driver who is more used to highway driving.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed here for two nights. The room was great, with a balcony overlooking the patio. We were only on the 2nd floor, but loved the view of the ocean through the trees. The breakfast was great. The staff was a bit worried about the return of the bath towels, but, other than that, the stay was great! I would stay here again, due to the location and the views. The room was fine, the bed comfortable,and the food very good at the breakfast and at the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rocamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamar

Address: C/ Dr. Bartomeus s/n, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cadaques
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rocamar 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rocamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocamar Hotel Cadaques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rocamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.