We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Playa Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja Pianc, 3, 17488 Cadaques, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cadaques
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were a family of 2 adults and 2 kids, below 12. Our original booking was for a room for 2 people because we thought the beds would be two double beds that could fit 2 per bed. However, when the receptionist saw us, he said we need to stay in a family room and pay more. It would be too tight for four of us to stay in a small bed. Glad he suggested this as the room he gave us was very nice, clean, modern, bright and spacious. It had two rooms with one King size bed and another adjacent room with two single beds. The room came with breakfast but we were leaving very early the next day. The receptionist made sure that we got our basket of breakfast goodies that evening so we had something to fill us in the morning. We had a lovely time in the hotel. Everyone was very polite and the hotel is absolutely lovely. Wish we stayed longer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    91
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
71
166
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portola Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

It's been nearly a year since we stayed at Hotel Playa Sol and my husband and I still thinking about our time. We loved the location - we drove from Barcelona and parked our car in the Hotel Playa Sol garage for the duration of our time and walked everywhere we needed to go, the views from our room were amazing (ask for sea view if available - may need to book in advance), the breakfast and recently remodeled comforts were nice as well. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This very comfortable, modern hotel is right on the water in the villages of Cadeques. Our room was not large but very clean with a balcony, a very pleasant place for cocktails at the end of the day. At night the view across the water with the lights of the town was quite beautiful. The hotel offers a very complete breakfast buffet in a large sunny room on the front of the hotel. There is garage parking but as with most European garages the spaces are tight. There is a large outdoor swimming pool in a beautiful garden setting. Cadaques is noted for being the home of Salvador Dahli, and his home, now a museum, is a pleasant walk from the hotel. The village itself is quite beautiful with white stucco buildings contrasted with the blue of the sea and the sky, narrow cobble stone streets and fishing boats in the bay. The one drawback is that getting to the village requires a one hour drive on well-maintained but very narrow winding mountain road. The views are great, but not for the driver. I highly recommend the hotel and would happily stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed two nights in May 2013, as part of European trip. We paid for a sea view and daily breakfast and the room did not disappoint in any way. The view was perfect and we enjoyed the balcony. The bed was comfortable and clean, and the bathroom very nice with good above average quality complimentary samples. Everything was light and airy.
The service was fine - professional. The breakfast was ok, but nothing to complain or rave about.
I would recommend staying there if you pay extra for one of those rooms which I felt overall good value for money. Its nice and quiet too.
We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Splash out and get a sea view room - after all you are at the Costa Brava!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed 1 night at this hotel in early November.

This hotel has excellent reviews on a number of travel booking sites plus Tripadvisor. But it looked like one of this beachside tourist hotels on the photsand I thought for 1 night, why not since it has good reviews.

I was pleasantly surprised. First of all, Cadaques is a beautiful little town with a waterfront that felt intimate ,with a small narrow road around the bay and no advertisements or neon lights at night. The Hotel Playa Sol was easy to find as it sat on the waterfront. There is parking below the building but the receptionist was kind to suggest we can park on the next street for free as it was low season.

The reception is small, but I there are many cosy sitting/reading areas to the left and right of the reception. There are big picture windows which had great views of the best part of the bay. There is a small beach in front of the hotel and there are a few boats on it, small local fishing boats, not tourist boats.

We asked for a sea view room and it is highly recommended as the road in front is very narrow so no street noise. Well, at least in November. But there are no bars next to the hotel so it cannot be noisy any time of the year.

We were given exactly the room we asked for. High floor, with a view and a balcony with 2 beds side by side. The room was small, but it was spotless. It had a weave covering on the floor which makes it easy to clean, no dirty carpets to step on. The bathroom was also spotless. The room and bathroom have been recently renovated and looked new.

The breakfast next day was terrific. The staff welcomed us as we enter and all tables have good views of the bay. The food was plentiful, and excellent, what you would expect from a 4 star hotel in Barcelona. Very pleased.

The hotel also has a pool which is outside that I did not try as it was cold. It was surrounded by greenery in a secluded spot. There is also a tennis court, but it may have been a smaller one than the standard size , so if you are a tennis player, please check with the hotel in case I am wrong.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and a room with a view for sure.Pay for it, it is worth it. Cadaques is such a charming place, please go.

Room Tip: Pay more for a room on a high floor with sea view. You would not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bustan hagalil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

First of all, in one word: perfect!!
Wonderful Location with breathtakingly view: blue sea, white houses, colored boats and buoys, mountains in the background and seagulls.
Excellent, well kept, friendly facilities
All members of the staff are very welcoming, polite and even more than that.
We want to go back to Playa Sol every year (although some of us come only once every five years ...), we enjoy calling it our second home.
Do not miss this pearl in the enchanting fishing village. Great pleasure guaranteed!

Room Tip: Reserve room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel sits directly on the sea front. A large garden with mature trees, swimming pool and tennis court lie behind. The car park is integrated into the hotel building and doesn't spoil the view. Our superior room was tastefully decorated in pale colours with a comfortable bed and plenty of wardrobe space. It had a balcony with two comfortable chairs and a table looking onto a little pebble beach with small boats. The bathroom was spacious, with separate bath and shower. The buffet breakfast was served in a bright ground-floor room giving onto the seafront. The quality of the breads and patisseries was excellent. Hams, yoghurt, fruit, cereals and cooked food were also available. There is plenty of public space in the hotel including a bar. This is one of the most comfortable hotels in this category that we have stayed at and would thoroughly recommend it. We stayed for four days in November when the village is quieter and the hotel offers lower rates.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Sol

Address: Platja Pianc, 3, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cadaques
#1 Family Hotel in Cadaques
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been renovating during this last winter two thousend then and eleven quite all of our rooms. Quite all rooms have been completely rebuilt and redecorated changing distributions, creating a complete new atmosphere in our brand new rooms. We have double rooms, rooms for three people, family rooms for four people and also communicating rooms for five to six people. We also offer a brand new Jacuzzi suite and junior suite. All rooms with Internet access Hotspot one hour free.With the beach in front and spectacular views to the village the hotel is well situated in town. The large garden with pool area, invites you also for lunch beside the pool from June to end of September. The hotel offers you two bars, a large open-air swimming pool with Jacuzzi, Hammam and hydrotherapy shower. Sport activities like basket, ping-pong, petanque, kayak rentals, mountain-bikes rentals, tennis-court (paddle size)are free of charge. The hotel offers also surveyed garage places. Hotel closed from middle December to middle February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Playa Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Sol Hotel
Playa Sol Cadaques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.