We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Playa Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja Pianc, 3, 17488 Cadaques, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cadaques
leicester
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fantastic - everything you could want in this lovely place.
It has the location, beach frontage and swimming pool at rear.
Rooms are lovely, breakfast very good and wifi was ok.
We didnt see anywhere we would have rather stayed.
We felt we were very lucky to have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    91
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
71
166
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Attractive well designed hotel in unbeatable location on the waterside at Cadaques. Comfortable well thought out rooms - well worth making sure you have sea view room with balcony. Service good, friendly pleasant staff and hotel well run. Lunches served in the gardens around the very pleasant pool an enjoyable experience, delicious and relatively good value. Swam from beach beneath hotel. Ate in several restaurants a short stroll away. Loved staying here and Cadaques a wonderful place.
Only gripe - breakfast! For a hotel of this quality to penny pinch over breakfast is unfortunate and very much at odds with the rest of the experience it provides. Also room in which it is served is vaguely canteen like and lacks the luxury of the other public areas.
Having said that they efficiently provided me with gluten free bread every morning and
served it with a smile!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location & views of Cadaques; delicious poolside lunches; helpful staff; small and simple yet still private; renovated this year, so everything new & clean. With all this it seems churlish to complain about the slow (but at least free) wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I sent an email to this hotel to cancel my 8-nights reservation (4 months in advance) as we had decided to rent a house instead. I was still interested to keep the one last night (as rentals are for 7 nights), so I asked if they could do that, but they refused as it was high season. Well, too bad. The problem is that by doing so they kept my whole reservation !!!... And 4 months later (without ever trying to contact me the whole time despite my cancellation) they billed me a full night for a week where I had confirmed in writing I would not be staying at their hotel. I went to the hotel in person four times to explain myself to a manager, the first three times they promised to ask somebody else to consider my demand, but the fourth time an employee just laughed at me nastily telling me I could just forget about it (although the manager never officially replied to my request)... Never seen such poor customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Recently returned from the Playa Sol - Lovely Hotel. Location great. Rooms very clean, beds and bedding very comfortable. Staff friendly. Pool area calming together with nice breakfasts. Hope to return soon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had always wanted to visit this hotel after about 15 years coming to Cadaques and we loved it. The position is ideal and the pool area lovely. A drawback - like everywhere in Cadaques it's expensive in high season but worth it. Only one thing - children shouldn't be allowed to play in the jacuzzi. I couldn't use it as there were 3 little boys playing in it and to not make a fuss lost out on enjoying it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel is a good choice in Cadaques . Rooms were clean , adequate size and modern with great bathroom. We had a terrace overlooking the water which was lovely . Pool area nicely done . I thought this was reasonable value for money and would stay again. This town is gorgeous !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Sol

Address: Platja Pianc, 3, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cadaques
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cadaques
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been renovating during this last winter two thousend then and eleven quite all of our rooms. Quite all rooms have been completely rebuilt and redecorated changing distributions, creating a complete new atmosphere in our brand new rooms. We have double rooms, rooms for three people, family rooms for four people and also communicating rooms for five to six people. We also offer a brand new Jacuzzi suite and junior suite. All rooms with Internet access Hotspot one hour free.With the beach in front and spectacular views to the village the hotel is well situated in town. The large garden with pool area, invites you also for lunch beside the pool from June to end of September. The hotel offers you two bars, a large open-air swimming pool with Jacuzzi, Hammam and hydrotherapy shower. Sport activities like basket, ping-pong, petanque, kayak rentals, mountain-bikes rentals, tennis-court (paddle size)are free of charge. The hotel offers also surveyed garage places. Hotel closed from middle December to middle February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Playa Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Sol Hotel
Playa Sol Cadaques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.