We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh tell of this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Playa Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja Pianc, 3, 17488 Cadaques, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oh tell of this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stylish and peaceful. Tasteful room overlooking the gardens which means nice and quiet. Decent size outdoor pool with olive trees to sit under while enjoying a drink from the bar. Pool side jacuzzi. Very chic with good staff- excellent!

Room Tip: Book well in advance if you want a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    109
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
86
207
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a very nice place. Very clean. There was a great rain shower in the bathroom. Rooms were a bit small. We got a room with a view of the water which was excellent. Breakfast was very good. It was very quiet at night so we got a good night's rest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stunning french chic hotel. Short walk to the beautiful Cadaques and 15 minute walk to Dali's house. Treat yourself to a room with a balcony for undisturbed views over the town. Very tasteful and picture postcard perfect. Highly recommend! The staff were very friendly and recommend some wonderful local restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel may be over fifty years old but thanks to its recent refresh, you could not tell. The hotel throughout is very tastefully modernised with a subtle nautical theme and everywhere seems very comfortable (from the bar through to the bedrooms), which feels like it's designed to keep guests warm and comfortable when the weather outside is dreadful. But this is not Ireland, it's sunny, hot Spain but I can imagine this comes in useful in the winter, cooler months.

When we visited it was around 20-24 degrees so we got to make the most of our balcony room on the first floor. The sun arrived on the balcony shortly after noon and stayed until early evening so there is plenty of opportunity to use it if you pay that little bit extra.

The bedrooms are very comfortable and ours had a bath and separate shower.

The hotel bends around a little cove with a beach on the hotel's doorstep and faces across the little bay to Cadaques, which is a very pleasant three minute walk around the bay. Whitewashed Cadaques is stock full of restaurants, a fair proportion of which are top class, and the town is busy enough all day and night.

We were there for three days, parked the car up and forgot about for three days as there is plenty to do just around Cadaques but if you wanted to see more of the area, there is plenty of interesting places around.

The only difficulty that we had in the hotel was accessing the free wireless internet which may have been due to an issue with the router in our room but we had similar issues downstairs on various devices. Maybe a one-off glitch but not the end of the world, given what was around us.

Breakfast was very good in the hotel including croquettes and churros!! And the breakfast room overlooked the little beach.

The hotel's amenities in April is not fully open as the pool, sauna and tennis courts etc were not open but we knew that beforehand as it is flagged on the website. Those facilities looked good and I can imagine would be full in the high season anyway.

Room Tip: Definitely, take a room with a view to the sea as the extra cost will be worth it. All but three ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great location, south facing with wonderful views of the bay. Easy to walk everywhere. Decor very modern & attractive felt relaxing as soon as you walked in. Beautiful peaceful garden & pool to the rear. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sea facing room the views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South france
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

When we visited Cadaques before, we were always accompanied with a dog or two, therefore the choice of hotels was narrowed to the one that would accept 'perros' or burros (donkeys) as I managed to ask one time. This time unencumbered by any four legged creatures, we were able to choose.
I had read excellent reviews for the Playa Sol and it was way out of our normal price bracket, but somehow we seemed to suddenly be standing in the reception asking if they had a room. The friendly reception woman said breakfast could be included in the price. I'm not sure if this was a special deal, or she was just feeling sorry for us in our obvious deep indecision, and non-designer clothing, but it did rather clinch it.
The hotel is tasteful: beige, cream, wood and expensive looking tiling, original paintings, and attractive lighting. Our room was lovely: simple, comfortable furnishings, very recently re-done I would think. I particularly liked the bathroom with 'Paris metro' style cream tiling and both bath and shower. Rather confusing bath taps/ pop-up waste system, but always good to stretch the brain a little.
Oh, the view . . . worth every cent of the room cost. Stunning uninterrupted vista across the bay to the main town with its clusters of white buildings stretching into the hills. We slept with the window open a little as it wasn't cold (March); it was wonderful to hear the waves and the seagulls.
Breakfast at 9.30, hyper late for us as Mark had done a hike around the bay to the lighthouse, but it's available from 8.30 to 10.30. Great selection of breads, croissants, cheese, fruit, ham, etc etc even churros! Ugh, but when in Spain . . .
All staff were very friendly and spoke in French, English, Spanish (yes . . .) and no doubt other languages too. Can't think of anything negative at all, voila.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view, however the garden facing, less expensive rooms looked lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to say in Cadaques so we could get to the Compartir restarant for a dinner reservation. Thinking Costa Brava and Playa Sol we had visions of an out of season hotel full with senior citizens escaping the ravages of a cold winter. We were so wrong! This recently refurbished hotel was bright, clean, modern and the guests ranged across the complete spectrum.
We had a room with a view across the bay towards the centre of Cadeques (a 5 minute amble along the tidy well kept esplanade) and the windows opened up so far that we hardly missed not having a balcony.
WiFi had to be paid for and there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room but a small price for such a stunning view.
Cadaques is a maze of ancient alleys and streets that run up from the sea towards the hills and it is possible to find a different way to walk to and from the hotel to the centre each time. Turning left out of the hotel also leads to a coastal path that winds its way around numerous headlands offering great coastal views, a chance to sneak a peek into the gardens of some of the coast side properties that dot the landscape and ultimately find Dali's house.
We were there in off season but when the summer crowds descend guests may be grateful for the sizeable private outdoor pool that is at the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: The sea virews are stunning book early and pay the supplements to get the best you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadaques
0.5 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 14 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Horta d'en Rahola
Hotel Horta d'en Rahola
#1 of 14 in Cadaques
5.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#3 of 14 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Octavia
Hotel Octavia
#13 of 14 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tarongeta
Hotel Tarongeta
#8 of 14 in Cadaques
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#7 of 14 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Sol

Address: Platja Pianc, 3, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cadaques
#1 Family Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been renovating during this last winter two thousend then and eleven quite all of our rooms. Quite all rooms have been completely rebuilt and redecorated changing distributions, creating a complete new atmosphere in our brand new rooms. We have double rooms, rooms for three people, family rooms for four people and also communicating rooms for five to six people. We also offer a brand new Jacuzzi suite and junior suite. All rooms with Internet access Hotspot one hour free.With the beach in front and spectacular views to the village the hotel is well situated in town. The large garden with pool area, invites you also for lunch beside the pool from June to end of September. The hotel offers you two bars, a large open-air swimming pool with Jacuzzi, Hammam and hydrotherapy shower. Sport activities like basket, ping-pong, petanque, kayak rentals, mountain-bikes rentals, tennis-court (paddle size)are free of charge. The hotel offers also surveyed garage places. Hotel closed from middle December to middle February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Playa Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Sol Hotel
Playa Sol Cadaques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.