We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compartir

Compartir
Riera Sant Vicenc s/n, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
+34 972 25 84 82
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 92 Restaurants in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant Compartir Cadaques was founded by Mateu Casanas, Oriol Castro and Eduard Xatruch in April 2012. Located in the centre of Cadaques, the 19th century architecture is typical of the area, with a large outdoor patio, giving the restaurant an ambience that represents the identity of this authentic and unique village on the Costa Brava. The cuisine is characterised by dishes designed to be shared, with a distinctly modern style. But there is also place for some traditional recipes, such as rice dishes. Guests are served in an informal and relaxed atmosphere where our team, led in kitchen by Marc, Nu, Enric, Angel and David, and in the dining room by Ramon, Montse, Roger and Tassi, make our philosophy a reality. On 9 desembre 2014 we opened Disfrutar in Barcelona, a new space with a different proposal of Compatir.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surpassed expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I must confess to some misgivings on booking, expecting the usual pretentious nonsense which surrounds many restaurants of this quality. The reverse was the case. The food was imaginative and delicious, served by a charming young team in lovely surroundings.The wine list was excellent and reasonably priced. A wonderful evening; thanks to everyone concerned.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    90
    27
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IPSWICH
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Superb Presentation !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This restaurant opened in 2012, by I believe, some of the Chefs from the world famous El Bulli restaurant, which recently closed. The menu is devised with the intention that you "share" the various courses. The food presentation was exceptional & the quality superb. The staff were courteous & attentive. This is the second time we have been there & would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riguepeu
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Second time around and just as good as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife has a problem eating many foods, especially fish and quite a few other items, which on the menu of the Compatir is a bit of a challenge.
This creates a dilemma as the whole essence of the Compatir is plate sharing, choosing 3 or 4 dishes and halving them. However we managed to find a compromise, not the full blow out I would like, but still very enjoyable as the cooking and inventiveness is superb.
We were able to sit outside and enjoy the ambiance and be looked after by the attentive staff, and as we visit this part of the Costa Brava yearly, we will be back next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived in Cadaques on a dreary day, so decided to find a nice restaurant for lunch. Our friends had originally seen this place on the internet. It was a delightful place, quite unusual, and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The young staff are extremely efficient and pleasant, and the sharing plates of food delicious. The Mussels in Bearnaise Sauce were to die for, and the rabbit ribs sublime! Just wish they didn't have such an obsession with 'foam'. we hate it! The recommended wine was also perfect. Best meal of our stay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

After a dreadful campsite expercience this resturant allowed us to feel a whole lot better! Wonderful food service and imagitive food presented in a glorious setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Compartir also viewed

Cadaques, Costa Brava
 
Cadaques, Costa Brava
 

Been to Compartir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compartir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.