We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit to Dali´s house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dali Museum-House

Dali Museum-House
Portlligat, Cadaques, Spain
34 972 251 015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Attractions in Cadaques
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the 1930s, this was the summer home of the famous artist Salvador Dalí.
Caracas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit to Dali´s house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It was a wonderful insight into Dali´s private life and just magical to think we were in the house where he spent at least 20 years, painting such master pieces.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    177
    36
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Dali isn't an artist I like particularly but this house/ museum provides a fascinating insight into his life and helps explain the symbolism in his work. It is necessary to book in advance but the ticket office are most accommodating and will tell you if there is likely to be an unexpected vacancy. This happened as we went the day before in person to book tickets and may not be the case on the phone or internet. The little cove is so peaceful, there is a place for refreshments and a good book shop. Well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An outstanding trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a beautiful location,only the trip by car to go
there is an experience by itself.
The house is small but you can fell some
sort of energy there.
Getting this personal details of dali and gala brings you
closer to the artist for sure.
Looking outside the window to the sea was outstanding.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Favorite Dali museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

While visiting Spain, we unintentionally found ourselves on a Dali pilgrimage.

Never a big fan of surrealism, I was favorably impressed with Dali's art beyond the canvas. The House in Port Lligat was our favorite Dali experience. It is very small and personal. The limited entrance makes the experience far superior to the crush at the Dali Museum in Figureres.

This was a highlight of our trip.

When we arrived, I realized that my reservation was for the day prior. The staff made a great effort to sort this out and were able to accommodate our visit even without a reservation. If you are kind and respectful, they certainly reciprocate.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

great place to visit. book in advance for sure or otherwise you may not get in. short walk up and downhill from cadaques. absolutely eye opening into the mind of a great artist. surrounding area of portlligat was just so scenic

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dali Museum-House also viewed

 
Cadaques, Costa Brava
 

Been to Dali Museum-House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dali Museum-House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.