We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bierzo Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bierzo Plaza to your Saves list
Bierzo Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza del Ayuntamiento 4, 24400 Ponferrada, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ponferrada
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was great. People at the desk really friendly. The room was big and although above the restaurant was Ok for noise. We did however have an issue with the restaurant in the evening. One of the male staff was rude and arrogant. He completely ignored us and we had to leave the table and find someone else prepared to serve us. The food was just Ok for the price. I would recommend you go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Located on the main square in the old town, this hotel is a great mix of old (three converted houses) and modern. Our large room looked out on the square. It is just a few blocks to the castle. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My hostel in Ponferrada had double booked my room so I was upgraded to Bierzo Plaza. I was delighted as I had a modern room and although I could have overlooked the Plaza I chose a quieter room thanks to my helpful receptionist. The staff couldn't do enough for me. I also ate in their restaurant, La Violeta and I hope they will get their menu translated as I missed out on specialities because despite speaking Spanish quite well, menu's have a language of their own and was beyond me! The food was very good with an appetiser which I have photographed!
The railway station is reachable on footwith a small trolley case, around 15 minutes away. The hotel location is close to the Castle and the main tourist sites as well as the Camino to Santiago de Compostela which goes past the side of the hotel.
I had a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Tanzania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located in a main square..nice surronding streets. Rooms are clean and tidy.but very small.

We had a doubble room and we had to step over our bags to move arround. The elevator is strangly located ...

But it is ok for a couple of nights..front desk were very nice and helpful...breakfast was simple.

In case u were driving, make sure to park in the free public parking lot across the hotel...it will save you money than the paid parking lot just adjacent to the hotel...both are same distance.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen ellyn
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Great little hotel with very good breakfast. Had a wonderful plate of Iberico ham and a glass of wine for dinner. Unfortunate graffiti in the surrounding plaza.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend stay (one night) in this hotel. We cannot complain about anything. From the welcome, the help of the receptionists to move around Ponferrada, the clean of the room to the view from the small balcony and the breakfast.

The room and bathroom is super clean. In the bathroom you are gonna find facilities more typical from a 4 star hotel than a 3 one.

The view from the balcony is ideal.
The hotel has 2 places to eat, La Taberna and Violeta, if I not remember bad. I would advise the first one to eat typical galician and castilla food.
La Violeta is quite expensive for what is a small city as Ponferrada, so we prefer to dinner in a small restaurant in the plaza de la basilica de la Encina.

The breakfast is quite good: croissants, cake, natural juices, spanish typical omelette, typical burgos cheese, jamon serrano, ham, cheese, chorizo, salchichon and fruits like watermelon, melon, orange, apple, etc

I just have a small complain and a little advice for you: bring with yourself earplugs as there is quite noise from the square. We talked about this with the recepcionist the morning after, and she told us that they know about this but is the Local Council that dont give the permission to them to put a doble window in the rooms.

Anyway I highly recommend you this hotel for itd location and the services you obtain. We payed 80 euro for a dobled room with breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We were lucky enough to stay in a room at the front of the hotel with lovely views of the main town square, although it was quite due to this area being pedestrianised. We ate lunch at the hotel, which was good. The room was very clean and the air conditioning worked well (there was a heatwave while we stayed there!).

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bierzo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bierzo Plaza

Address: Plaza del Ayuntamiento 4, 24400 Ponferrada, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Ponferrada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ponferrada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bierzo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bierzo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bierzo Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.