We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Very relaxing and quiet Hotel"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Ponferrada by Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Ponferrada by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Ponferrada by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Astorga, 2, 24400 Ponferrada, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ponferrada
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Very relaxing and quiet Hotel"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I recommend this hotel, is close to all the interesting sites and restaurants.The rooms are very clean and comfortable, The food is plenty and very good. The personal in the restaurant "Naomi" was very nice to us, and the young lady in the reception was very helpful too. All the staff are very professional. When in Ponferrada again AC Marriott will be my hotel for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    60
    23
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
52
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed for 4 days on a business trip. It's within walking distances to the famed Castle. Quite a number of restaurants nearby. The hotel is quiet and the room is clean. I had s separate sitting room and a bedroom. The shower is nice. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast with a good choice of bakery items. Wifi is free at the lobby, which is quite comfortable to sit and work. The staff is very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Lawley, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After a disappointing experience with AC Hotels by Marriott in Pamplona we checked in for a great star at the AC Hotels by Marriott at Ponferrada.

The two hotels are like chalk and cheese with two totally different attitudes towards hospitality.

Reception staff were great, the room was great, and breakfast was great.

Just what we would expect from Marriott.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. Well appointed , modern and very good service. It is in a very good location near a park and super market. The restaurant food is very good together with quite good personal service

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

5 night base for Motorcycle holiday, clean hotel with modern rooms.

Secure off street parking for bikes, make sure they don't force you into the underground car park as this exits straight into the road and can be difficult to exit, so request to main car park opposite.

At the time of our visit the air conditioning was not operating and the hotel is city centre based and opening windows is a noises affair.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The hotel has a very modern appearance and is clean and well presented.
Reception
- were very helpful with printing emails and documents for me, very late in the evening. However after 11pm you cannot eat in the foyer so if you are working on the internet (free in the foyer) then you cannot order anything. Only room service, for which you then have to pay a charge to use the internet in your room! A bit if a catch 22 situation! If you arrive very late in the evening. Lobby area was a little cold as near to the main front doors, but good tables and comfortable chairs

Room - My room was spacious and very modern with a stunning bath room and a separate lounge /office area with TV and a big desk for work.
I was on the 5th floor room 504.... beautiful room, very clean, comfortable and with a free mini bar with non alcoholic beverages and a couple of bottles of beer / larger (not sure as I don't drink alcohol).
Well serviced everyday.


Location
Quite near to the main town centre ..... within walking distance and took me about 25 minutes.. I like to walk after work so it was very pleasant, even in the rain.
Also quite near to the famous castle... as I walked back I could see the snow capped mountains which was lovely and worth the walk!

Breakfast.... although not overly inspiring was ok with all the usual yoghurts, Some fresh fruit, pastries, buns, cold meats, cereals and various juices and hot drinks. Which was fine and enough of a selection.

Restaurant - Evening meals and snacks were served in the same room as the breakfast and a good selection were shown... pricing was not too bad. And there were fresh salads .... If you like salads then the chicken salad is very tasty!

A comfortable hotel which is quite well located as Ponferrada is not a huge town! But has some good shops!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Lovely bright clean hotel. Not as conveniently located as it could be for the main area for eating and drinking - but only a short walk into the town. There is a nice park just below the hotel on the other side of the road and it was lovely to sit at the bar in the park, in the sunshine, eating some lunch and drinking a couple of beers. The first room we were given was a little smoky but when we reported this at the desk we were moved immediately and someone was despatched to help us move our stuff - so it couldn't have been better handled. Very pleased overall.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Ponferrada by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Ponferrada by Marriott

Address: Avda. Astorga, 2, 24400 Ponferrada, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Ponferrada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ponferrada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Ponferrada by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Ponferrada by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Ponferrada by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.