We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barranco de la Verga, s/n | GC-500, 35120 Arguineguin, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Dunas La Canaria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arguineguin
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic room facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I travelled with my 18 month old daughter and the facilities in the hotel room were great- especially the washing machine and tumble dryer, travelling with a toddler always requires lots of outfits. The only downside to the room we had which had disabled access was the bathroom- an all marble wet room. When you showered the room tended to flood, which was then obviously a huge hazard for our daughter as very slippery. We had one accident where she took quite a nasty bump to the head. Marble floors aren't extremely child friendly.
The pool was fantastic and the restaurants were nice. The beach at the hotel isn't very nice but you are a short walk away from a lovely stetch of beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Samantha W,

Our sincere apologies for the unfortunate incident with your daughter. I have been personally asking to our Front Office colleagues to get more detailed information related.

Unfotunately, we did not receive any comment concerning this. Otherwise we would have reacted inmediately and try to offer you a proper solution to the problem.

Next time you visit us, please feel free to contact any of our managers to ensure your stay is comfortable.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    100
    26
    2
    1
See reviews for
192
201
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I spent 7 nights there and this place is absolutely lovely. It was my second stay and I was really happy to be there again. Nice hotel with very comfort large rooms, nice swimming pools and lovely staff, especially in the restaurant Joan Manuel and Joan Carlos ( I hope I spell their names correctly).

Room Tip: If you are looking quiet place to relax this is perfect. No night clubs or loud bars!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear angel372,

We are so pleased to receive such a post! Thank you so much for it.

It is a big pleasure for us to make our guests feel that happy during their stay. Juan Carlos and Juan Manuel will be very happy to serve you again should you be coming back again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

we spent just over a week at the hotel in a 3 bed suite, the hotel staff were amazing, so friendly and accommodating, we have a 3 year old and a 2 year old and the waiters in the restaurant made such a fuss of the boys it was great. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the whole holiday was super chilled and stress free. i was recommended by a friend to go to the hotel and cannot fault the place. The breakfast buffet was varied and fresh we also ate dinner ( minus kids) in the smarter restaurant which was amazing, really great food and again the service was impeccable. if you want a reasonably priced holiday in a contemporary hotel with great facilities this is the place to go

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Kevin R,

We highly appreciate your kind review concerning your stay within the hotel.

We also thank you for having chosen our property during your last holiday period and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We've just returned from a wonderful 5-night stay at the Radisson Blu, and are already looking at flights to get us back there early in the new year!

We tacked a trip to Gran Canaria onto the end of visiting friends in Barcelona - so after a busy weekend in Barca, a relaxing break in Gran Canaria was just what was needed.

We actually booked the accommodation very late, via lastminute.com, as they were doing a great deal on a "2-king suite" - which we now realise would have been a 2 bedroom suite!

Imagine our surprise, on arrival, to be upgraded to what is one of the best hotel rooms we have ever had the pleasure of staying in - a fantastic corner, 3-bedroom suite on floor 10 of this wonderful hotel.

The rooms themselves were wonderful - a very comfy lounge area, and a kitchen complete with appliances and even a Nespresso machine. Having a full-size fridge/freezer (combined with a very well-stocked Spar store on Floor 2) meant that we could have chilled / iced drinks at any time, when relaxing in the room - and could even take an ice cold drink down to the pool if we wanted too.

The bedrooms were lovely - nice large flatscreen TVs in each, and a most wonderfully comfy bed with sumptuous pillows and a lovely duvet. It was just heavenly.

The real star of the show, however, was the balcony - which, for our suite, boasted no less that a sofa and easy chair(s) with coffee table, a full 8+ seater glass-topped dining table, a pair of very comfy loungers, and a whirlpool bath - not to mention a fantastic view across the pool / sea.

There was one day (we both had some work to do) where we didn't really leave the suite until late afternoon - and the balcony was a perfect place to get the laptops out and check emails / do admin, whilst drinking cold sangria,

Food was also great at the hotel - we had breakfast every day, and the waffles were very very nice, as was the fresh orange juice. The cold meats and cheeses were also lovely, and the figs, dates and nuts to go with yoghurt / cereal were also a nice touch. The coffee was a little bitter and the tea a little on the weak side, but those are really just minor niggles.

We ate at the buffet a couple of nights and were impressed with the variety / quality - even the desserts, which are so often a let-down.

Last meal of the holiday we ate at 222 - the a la carte on the very top of the hotel. The food and service there were also utterly fautless, and the setting / view just amazing.

The pool bar also does a great (and, for a hotel, pretty reasonably priced) drinks service - the cocktails not as good as upstairs, but the frozen coffee drinks were lovely. With the Spar just inside the hotel, it wasn't always necessary to pay the 'bar' prices for a cold drink which made a refreshing change from most hotels where you are practically forced to buy from their bar or not at all.

In terms of locations - there are some other places to visit within walking distance (e.g. along the seafront walk to the Anfi Del Mar complex) but it is quite a quiet location. We had rented a car, so getting around to Mogan and the other surrounding towns was a breeze - but don't expect TOO much within easy walking distance, as this isn't what the hotel is all about.

The pool was fantastic, too - huge and with plenty of sunbeds, so there was never any fighting for space.

Finally, we also used the Spa services - and both had a couple of excellent treatments / massages, which were fairly priced for a luxury hotel, and were very relaxing. The Spa is a quality addition to the hotel, and is very comfortable.

We are already planning a return trip!

Room Tip: The higher floors are better (usually bigger rooms) but all rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear jampott,

We must say your post is absolutely awesome! Thank you very much for taking the time to write it and give such a detailed explanation of your getaway.

We can't wait to welcome you soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just got back after 7 nights here. Everything was great for us.
Junior suite with large balcony had 2loungers and table with 4 chairs to relax the night away.
The gardens and pool were the highlight -no problem getting beds and no need to get out there at daft o'clock to reserve!! Kids club was a great drop off for the odd hour or so for our daughter although she was the only English speaking child there. The staff were great with her (gracias Eva).
Food wise the breakfast buffet was great and had a huge choice so nobody should worry. We dined in the same for the evenings and always found the selection to be good and varied so you didn't get bored. The staff here were also very friendly and the happiest breakfast team I've ever seen. Top tip is to use the small spar in the hotel for basics - you can get most things there if you want to self cater but we favoured wines for late evenings on the balcony & drinks to cool down with. Cleaning was a concern after checking previous reviews but we had twice a day cleaning so no need to worry.
The bed was also worthy of note as exceedingly good - Jensen beds and I now have to get one.
Overall a very relaxing place and will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view - if not happy ask and they will offer a different room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Bern73,

Thank you very much for posting your thoughts in Tripadvisor. How nice is to know that your expectations were exceeded and you had such a wonderful time among us!

We are really looking forward to receive your visit very soon!

Greetings from Arguineguin,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you want a relaxing holiday this is the place. Made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived at check in to the day we left. Staff must have been on a Custommer Care course, without exception they were excellent.Food excellent especially the cooked to order omlettes (tortilla) at breakfast. rooms spacious and clean. No, there is not a lot of evening entertainment, but that was ideal for us, go elsewhere for ear blasting music. A short walk to the town will find plenty of entertainment, mostly English tribute acts. No having to rent pool towels, clean towels available every day by the pool.

Room Tip: For best sea view high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear ElizabethSouthEast,

We want to express our sincere gratitude for this five star review.

All the staff members of the hotel are really grateful for hearing that you appreciated their Yes I Can! attitude that much.

Please do not hesitate to come back to the Radisson Blu Rsort, Gran Canaria. We will feel extremely happy to serve you again.

Greetings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks and were very impressed by this gem of a hotel.

We travelled with elderly grandparents, one disabled and in a wheelchair and two children under 4 and that means lots of special requests (and concern that a hotel we have never been to before will get it right). We had no worries here. The junior suites specially adapted for disabled clients were fantastic - my Mum and Dad say its the best adapted room they have stayed in. Only issue is they are all on the 2nd floor which is barely above ground level so the views are somewhat restricted but this was not an issue for my parents.

When we arrived the superior one bedroom suite we had booked for ourselves and our toddlers did not have a bath or hot tub (which I had read on Trip Advisor may happen) and so I had to go to reception to arrange to change it. Martina and Maria were fantastic and within an hour we were in our new suite - with bath and hot tub) and my in laws were also moved to a higher room for a better view. In fact, through out our holiday, no matter what our requests, the reception staff dealt with them with a lovely manner and great efficiency.

The rooms themselves were amazing - spacious, clean and the twist is a 5 star hotel with a fully fitted kitchen - what a fantastic idea - especially when you have young children! The washing machine was well used also - and reception provide you with a clothes horse to use on the balcony on request - very handy! Having the Spar supermarket in the hotel itself was also great - next time we visit I will take a lot less as all toiletries/baby essentials like nappies, wipes and swim nappies etc were available and at extremely reasonable prices! We had lunch in our room most days with fresh bread from the Spar and a variety of foods to suit the children - and the cleaners even clean all your dishes from lunch (in the dishwasher)! The only down side was the beds. They are the softest I have ever experienced and when we asked if they could be made firmer, the solution was to place a wooden board under the mattress! This meant we went from too soft to too hard (Goldilocks anyone?). I would have thought that a 5 star could come up with a better solution than that and sincerely hope by our next visit, they have changed it!

We thought the breakfasts were one of the best we have had - plenty of choice, hot, fresh (it does help being down early with the children) and the buffet menu at night varied and well made -we could always find something to satisfy all members of our group. The chefs even cooked plain chicken for our extremely fussy toddler whenever we asked and let him see it being cooked. My husband and I had dinner at the 222 a la carte restaurant on one evening and it was wonderful. Great food, fabulous service and a lovely setting - would definitely recommend it.

The entertainment was a bit low key - mostly happened every second night and not always at same time. As we were there at the quietest time (off season, end Aug beginning Sept) there didn't seem to be much of a push with this and the seating set up was a bit poor - you had to drag chairs over yourself but we don't really look for much from the entertainment yet as the children are still young so this didn't bother us.

The pool area is very nice, (apart from the couple of areas that are plain concrete) and the way it is divided up for the children's pool is quite clever although the other parts of the pool go quite deep quite quickly (not great when you are only 5ft). My only complaint was the freshwater pool was closed for the last 3 days of our holiday as there was "essential maintenance" - it looked a bit more major with whole areas of the pool being retiled! Unfortunately the noise and dust was a bit disruptive and if I had been staying longer I wouldn't have been too impressed. However, I guess the work needs to get done at some point and when the hotel is open all year, it will always inconvenience some.

The location the hotel is in is away from a lot of touristy places (which we didn't mind but might not suit those looking for a bit more night life) although Anfi is only a short 20 min walk away. The timeshare area has a few restaurants, bars and shops (and a lovely man made island with very cool sunbathing area and bars which anyone can use).

We used taxis to get to Mogan which was only about 20 mins away and very reasonable. I gather the bus service is good too but can't comment as it wasn't suitable for our needs.

There was a black sand beach to the left of the hotel which is very popular with the locals and had some impressive waves but right outside the gated entrance to the right of the hotel is a wee man made cove which was very calm and perfect for the children to play and paddle.

The staff in all areas we used were very friendly and were always happy to help. The hotel was very quiet and we were told it was only half full due to the time of year but this didn't affect the service we received.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would visit again as I loved the 5 star treatment with the more laid back approach with the "self catering" theme. It might not be for everyone but for young families and couples looking for a relaxing time, it's great.

Room Tip: Any floor from 5th up gives a better view, Junior suites are only available on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear AirdrieToots,

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us this gentle post.

We do appreciate the possitive comments and explanations you have provided. We also would like to apologyze once more for the noise and inconvenience you experimented while the pool maintenance works took place.

We do hope that you will visit us again should you be willing to spend a new holiday break in the island with you family.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria

Address: Barranco de la Verga, s/n | GC-500, 35120 Arguineguin, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Dunas La Canaria)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Arguineguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arguineguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria. Perfectly situated on the southern coast of the Spanish island, Gran Canaria. This stunning waterfront resort offers ocean views and sandy beaches along three sides. The island itself provides a wealth of opportunities for enjoyment with picturesque towns, idyllic beaches and 32 Protected Natural Areas. Not far from the resort lies the quaint fi shing villageof Arguineguin, and the well-known Dunes of Maspalomas are located only 10 km. away.The island’s airport, Las Palmas Airport, is a 30-minute drive from the resort and popular tourist attractions like Palmitos Park, LasPalmas and Puerto de Mogán and can be easily accessed via the island’s high-quality road network. At the resort, guests can relax in oneof the 189 rooms and suites and indulge in extensive leisure facilities that include water sports, swimming pools, a garden, a tennis court, a paddle tennis court, a beach tennis court, a gym, a kids club and a full service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas La Canaria Hotel Arguineguin
Dunas La Canaria Arguineguin
Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria Arguineguin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Resort, Gran Canaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.