We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Corralejo Bay to your Saves list
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Grandes Playas 12, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly BlueBay Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% Discount
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
GreenLeadersBronze level
west midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here Easter with husband and another couple the hotel itself is lovely the rooms spacious and clean large bathroom and balcony. The beds were huge and so comfortable best sleep ever had at a hotel. The pool area is beautiful. The food was great vast selection always being replenished some of it cooked in front of you we stayed half board and was more than pleased. You do get a choice to have a special meal in the pool restaurant once per week but has to be booked. We tried this but you do not get a choice of food so is a set menu and if you do not like it then there is nothing else. Champagne (cava) on this night after first drink is free but they do not tell you this unless you order it luckily cava is what we drink anyway so that was a pleasant surprise. weather wise be warned though it was very windy for a couple of days and the wind literally howled when you were in your bedrooms depending on what side of hotel you were on. Weather wise was disappointing lots of wind cloud and cool however when sun did come out it was lovely to have a breeze and warning you get burnt with the wind and through the cloud so always cream up. Daytime activities now this is where it lacks a little the choice was French boules which we played loved and won! There was a dance class, flower/windmill making which was good for us as we work in a primary school and it was a idea we could take back, silk painting which we joined in as weather was not good that day and surprisingly loved it. Cocktail making to allow you to make a cocktail. It lacked On my way! It lackedMore games such as archery or tennis or darts or other social games. I think it is because the clientele are very mature now do not get me wrong we are mature late fifties but we are a young at heart and the evening entertainment
Was also on the old side the twice we did stay in we were the only ones up and dancing it lacked atmosphere but maybe that was just the week we were there.
The hotel is very close to the main town which is mostly commercialised the only bit of character is down by the harbour area. We did stumble on a lovely craft market on the Sunday if you turn right out of hotel right again and then left it was inside a commercial centre but was busily and full of atmosphere with live music. I would definitely stay in another barcelo hotel but not a lot at Fuerteventura for us to want to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    605
    179
    49
    33
See reviews for
247
1,243
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peak District
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent ten days at this hotel from 3rd april and it was our second visit in two years. We were upgraded to a side sea view room and it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Lovely views and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is located just a minute away from the beautiful beaches at la galera where there is the relaxing, friendly sunset bar - perfect. A really laid back resort. Only a couple of miles away are the sand dunes. These are stunning and a must see. You can walk there but it took us about an hour along the beach. Worth it though.
Already.planning our return trip next Easter.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Went here in April for a week. The hotel is very comfortable. Lots of lovely seats to sit in and watch whatever event was going on. Three bars, all with different entertainment. The bedrooms were very comfy, nice pillows (for a change), very large beds (twin). Rom was spacious with a lovely sunny balcony with nice chairs with matching footstools. The staff are very good and extremely helpful. I can't say enough about them, they made our holiday. It was a. Special anniversary for us and I had asked for a pool view, which I got. Thank you Barcelo. The food we thought was very good. Breakfast had plenty of variety from breads to cold meats and pastries and hot dishes. dinner at night was good too. We ate very well! If you get a chance to take the a-la-carte .... Please take it. We loved it and it was nice to get waited on for a change. We would definitely go back. super relaxed holiday.

The entertainment staff are vey good too. Luna, is so friendly and cheery. Her cocktail lesson was a laugh and she has a a novel ways of measuring them - go and find out!!!!

One more thing, the hotel is extremely central for the town and you are able to walk anywhere as it is flat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side as you look towards the beach have very sunny balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo Corralejo Bay 17-24 April. A very clean/tidy hotel, food great, room lovely and spacious. The area around the pool somewhat cramped as no gardens just poolside area, however very peaceful and relaxing, no loud music booming out all day so great for chilling out, animation team were pleasant and good fun but didn't force the activities on you, only a few activities each day which were not intrusive if you didn't want to join in. Some entertainment in the evening for about an hour which was OK.
This is a slightly different All Inclusive holiday to others we have been on, it seemed to have restrictions, ie no AI drinks after 11pm., there isn't the abundance of places to eat or get a drink, only one poolside restaurant but food there also very good. Getting wine with dinner wasn't easy if you were AI, getting a second glass of wine if AI even harder. The dining room seemed to be running on a very small staff as getting a waiters attention was difficult and often there were not tables ready as not enough staff to clear them. Dress code for dinner in the evening which was nice to see. No AI drinks in mini bar you have to pay for these or buy your own, no free Internet only half an hour free per day and it was not very good it kept dropping out,you also have to pay for the safe.
Overall we enjoyed our week but felt that the hotel was lacking something, not sure what but OK for a chill out week but two weeks would be too much for us. Town and beach are easy walking distance but very much like most other resorts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just returned from the Baracelo and have had a really good holiday. The room was lovely, the beds very comfortable and the bathroom smart. Two things that could be improved is the heat of the meals, and the night time entertainment. I would certainly recomend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: We had room 3107 which overlooks the pool area and has the sun in the morning, I think the rooms tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I have just spent a one week half board holiday at this hotel. It is really well placed for the beach and the town centre, only minutes walk. The hotel, the accommodation, the public areas, pool and its facilities are really lovely and we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. It is ideal for a quiet relaxing get away, and that is what we had. Food is plentiful, and varied, we had no complaints at all. We had a standard room, it was very clean, modern, spacious, mini fridge provided, and with tea/coffee facilities. Staff are very pleasant friendly helpful people and we had no problems at all.
Poolside beds get taken quickly in a morning, but there are more beds available kept away in the "towel" room, which are presented on demand, so no real need to queue early in a morning unless you really want just that special bed in that special area. Whatever floats your boat.
If you want low quality, noisy, shambolic & chaotic then you need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: In our opinion there is no need to upgrade unless you really need the slippers and robe, the standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our second time at the Barcelo, and we had the same suite as last year, the first few days there was no entertainment (unlike last year) and the heart seems to have gone from this hotel, we knew the furniture was dated but would have thought that t here may have been some updating (no). The food although very plentiful was not up to last years standard either, pork chops unable to cut through, rubbery tough chicken breasts, see through bacon. The first morning our kettle was not working, then we had a power cut, unable to get the safe working although we still were charged 21 euros for it. The staff had changed as well not as friendly, although when we did ask for some thing it was sorted quite quickly. Missing Leah the PR person (whom we found working in a local jewellers) Will not be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Corralejo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Address: Avenida Grandes Playas 12, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly BlueBay Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Family Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Corralejo Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Barcelo Corralejo Bay, situated in the north of the island of Fuerteventura, in the Canaries, next to the sea, close to the Grandes Playas and the Dunas from the Corralejo Nantural Park. Its extensive range of facilities and cuisine make it the perfect choice for a family holiday, and also for those looking to enjoy a wide range of cultural and leisure activities, practice different water sports or simply relax and enjoy an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Corralejo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Hotel Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Hotel Corralejo
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Fuerteventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Corralejo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.