We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday At A Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Corralejo Bay to your Saves list
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Grandes Playas 12, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly BlueBay Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% discount
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday At A Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

First Class Hotel. I would give it 10 Stars if I could here's why. Reception spacious with extremely helpful and polite Staff , Rooms spotlessly clean Towells and Bed Sheets changed regularly, our rooms were family size and were huge with a settee and armchair included It was cleaned thouroughly every day. Food was very good both Breakfast and Dinner included quality well presented fayre.All in All a top Hotel which I hope to return to at a later date.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    676
    199
    52
    36
See reviews for
260
1,426
48
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean, all the staff are Very friendly and the new spa is fantastic. We could not fault it at all, we used the free bus everyday to take us to the Dunes beach and loved every minute - keep doing what you are doing Barcelo - excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Although we were a little disappointed with our stay earlier this year we did book to go back again in April 2012. As usual we emailed the hotel to get quote to upgrade our room to a suite. We usually pay around 27 euros per day, the reason the upgrade was cheaper than usual was because we were returning customers. When we received the quote back it was 53 euros per day. We emailed the hotel back to find out why the cost of upgrading had almost doubled and reconfirmed we were returning guests. The response basically said this is our new price. No explanation, no apology, no room to negotiate. We emailed the manager of the hotel saying we were very disappointed with such a high price increase and again a standard email back from the assistant manager saying this is our new price, no explanation or mention of the fact this will be our fifth time back to the hotel. We were so disappointed with their attitude and tone of email that we have cancelled our booking with them and have booked into another hotel and have upgraded there and it has worked out cheaper. Clearly their customer service skills have gone down hill in the take over to the Barcelo chain.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was our 4th visit to this hotel in 5 years and there had been 3 different names to the hotel-Atlantis Palace, Blue Bay Palace and now Barcelo Corralejo Bay. We had noticed some differences this year namely towels changed infrequently, cava only served once in 10 days for breakfast and this was at 9am, no newspapers available, no welcome bottle of wine, entertainment was poor and desserts were not always replenished if you were still in the warm dining room at about 9pm. Yes the dining room was very warm and perhaps the doors should be opened to allow any air in. The salads were average, with little variation. On the plus side house wine was good value at 6 euros a bottle-we prefered the rose and red to the white. The choice of coffees in the morning was good as was the choice and quality of bread at all meal times. There was a notice advising gentlemen what not to wear at evening meals but unfortunately it was not enforced by the 'stapler happy' Maitre D' at the door. How difficult is it to understand No shorts or vests??

There is still an excellent free bus service to the fanstatic sand dunes which goes at 10 and 11am returning at 1500 and 1630 respectively. The hotel is ideally placed for a short stroll to the town and even closer to the main bars including Retro, Rock Cafe and Aqua. Although the walk to the strip (left of hotel when leaving front door) did involve 11 different ways of us saying no we did not want a curry at the 2 nearby Indian hostelries.

The rooms were large and cleaned to a high standard every day and we had a balcony. Unfortunately, through no fault of her own my wife managed to make contact with the floor of the balcony as the chair was in a poor state of repair, but this was changed swiftly upon discusion at reception.

Would we go back? Um.....The Jury is out. We do believe however, that what used to be a great hotel is now a good one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Having walked past this hotel on previous stays to Corralejo and loved the look of the hotel, we opted to stay here for the first time, and upon entering the hotel it feels a high quality establishment with very nice, attentive reception staff. The room was a good size and clean, the air conditioning was poor but functional and the shower was a feeble dribble. The food choice for breakfast and dinner was fantastic, I must have put on half a stone in 10 days! The entertainment staff were really polite as were all staff I came into contact with, a great credit to the Barcelo. My only moan was the unnecessary charge for sunbeds at 9.00am to get the best spot then at 9.10 me the wife and 50 towels covering beds without a person in sight. The hotel rules state towels will be removed if sun beds are unoccupied and they should really stick to this rule as most people returned a good hour or two later. Don't let this put you off as the hotel had more than enough beds at all times, making the mad rush pointless. I would stay here again no question, for a very clean, comfortable stay in a great location you would struggle to get better than this. Whilst we were staying, the Barcelo had their regional managers meeting and the staff fully concentrated on giving them the 5 star treatment, if they could adopt the same effort for customers they have the winning formula. Stick to your own rules Barcelo and you get my vote every time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Just returned from a 14 night stay at this hotel and cannot fault the accomodation, the cleanliness, the staff, the food or the amenities. I'm afraid the only things that did spoil things, if only slightly, was the holidaymakers' unique ability to exploit any signs of rules not being forced by hotel staff.
On arrival you are given written rules and information to abide by:
Smartly dressed at evening meals.......A lot of people were obviously auditioning for some sci fi nuclear war movie.
No reserving sun loungers.........A lot of towels seemed to fly from balcony to pool with expert ease - AND NO GERMANS!!!
Pool opens at 9:00.........08:45 and you'll struggle to get a lounger.
These are the only faults I found with this otherwise perfect holiday......OTHER PEOPLE!
But don't let it put you off. It's a lovely island with friendly people, a great hotel with friendly and helpful staff and clean surroundings. Simply ignore the poorly dressed halfwits, grab a sun lounger as early as possible and enjoy the surroundings. We will most certainly be going back.
One other thing, We found the taxi fare from hotel to airport is 47 Euros. A lot quicker than the coach which picks up half of Corallejo and the queue of irate passengers were way behind us. Dearer but a hellofalot less stressful.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1118,2118 and 3118 as these face straight out onto the road and the early morning dustbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We have just returned from a week at the Barcelo Corralejo Bay. It was our visit and I don't think it will be our last! The hotel is great, very clean and modern and the staff are very efficient and friendly. The food is amazing with something for everyone. The one criticism we had was the mattress on the bed was so hard it felt like you were sleeping on rocks. Apart from that - great!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Corralejo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Address: Avenida Grandes Playas 12, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly BlueBay Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Corralejo Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Corralejo Bay - Adults only If you are looking for rest and relaxation you will find it at the Barcelo Corralejo Bay****, in the north of Fuerteventura. It is 50 m from the beach and 2 km from the spectacular Corralejo Natural Dunes Park. An award-winning adults only hotel, which has received the recognition thanks to its own guests. Enjoy the large rooms and elegant communal areas as well as magnificent facilities which includes a health and wellness centre with gym and spa. Come and enjoy a complete holiday in contact with the Atlantic Ocean. Corralejo also offers many leisure options: vibrant night-life and bars, a wide range of cultural activities, arts and crafts markets, and various sports options such as golf or water sports (surfing, kite surfing, windsurfing, scuba diving and boat trips to Lobos and Lanzarote). Without doubt here you can enjoy a real holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Corralejo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Hotel Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Hotel Corralejo
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Fuerteventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Corralejo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.