We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the good reviews.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aloe Club Resort

Save Saved
You added Aloe Club Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aloe Club Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Pedro Y Guy Vandaele S/N, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 45 hotels in Corralejo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the good reviews.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Well where do I start. My wife, myself and 2 children (4 and 3months) visitied this hotel based on other trip advisor reviews. We are NOT fussy in the slightest and I have to say we were terribly dissapointed in the hotel.
At first all was well, the room was clean and tidy and quite spacious which is what we needed. However about 3/4 days in the air con stopped working and we reported this to reception on more than one occasion (for the babies sake) It wasn't fixed by the end of the second week!!! There was people in our room before we had even left the hotel.
The restaurant wasn't big enough for the amount of people there and the queues for the food were ridiculous more so at night than any other time, which resulted in us eating out a lot. On numerous occasions there was 1 person sat at a table for 4/5/6 people and the amount of times we had to clean and set our own tables was pretty bad.
I am fully aware this isn't the waiting on staffs fault, this is bad management and relying on the same 5/6 staff to do the job of 12 people.
The queue at the ONE bar that was open was also ridiculous it was 15 people deep on a regular basis again I put this down to lack of staff and the fact that the main cabaret bar was shut for the whole two weeks we were there aside from when the footy was on ( even then the bar wasn't open)
The TV didn't work in the room which wasn't a big deal for us but for a 4 year old in the afternoon when getting ready was hard work.
The sunbeds around the pool were bad, I am not a big guy and I literally broke 2 and I think there was more broken than usable. (most had towels on at 7.30am so had to cope with broken ones and considering there were signs everywhere saying reserving beds wasnt allowed?)
The main reason we booked the hotel was because of our children, the first day we arrived the mini club was closed, the following day my wife was told that because my daughter wasn't polish she couldn't attend???!! After that she didnt want to go at all.
The mini disco was in a makeshift bar, it was a rubbish atmosphere and not enough tables and chairs for parents a to sit whilst the mini disco was on.
The one redeeming feature was the food selection it was reasonable and the snack bar was handy in the afternoon.
The hotel is tired and could do with a shake up and some new life put into it.
We were told by reception we would be contacted by the manager in the last few days to tell him these issues but suprisingly this was another promise unfulfilled.
We booked trips in the hotel with the rep, who advised that trips were ideal for buggies and babies ( Zoo/Volcano express) NOT good with little ones especially buggies (Zoo is massive and a lot of the paths are deep gravel and took 2 hours back on the coach when should have been 1 hour)
The shopping centre nearby had a nice tapas place and the old town for us was the best place around there so if you do visit, these are the places to go.
We wouldn't visit this hotel again, and I assure you for me to say I wouldn't visit anywhere again is a rarity.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    128
    45
    13
    5
See reviews for
85
103
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Aloe Club Resort from 25/06/2014 to 05/07/2014 with a party of ten, which included two couples, a 19 month old and a pregnant lady (from one of the couples), and an age range (baby aside) of 18-50 something, and the hotel was able to cater for all of our various needs the majority of the time.
We unfortunately didn't get off to the best start, due to our booking being under the wrong name following a late change in our party's lineup which wasn't communicated to the hotel, but this appeared to be the fault of the hotel's agent, youtravel, or our booking agent, onthebeach, and not at all the hotel's fault (who told us they had similar issues outstanding from previous years that they had yet to receive their payment for from their agents), who would have been out of pocket if they hadn't prevented us from formally booking in until onthebeach sent them a revised invoice with the correct lineup (which actually took 24 hours, but after the first 2 or 3 hours Aloe did let us into our rooms, with the 'compromise' of the first day guaranteed free even if the revised invoice didn't arrive at the hotel. We very obviously very relieved that it did arrive just before the hotel would have been forced to charge us all again.....).
The hotel is quite compact but yet spacious. It is currently undergoing unobtrusive refurbishments to what would have been the cabaret room (but was temporarily reopen for us as the world cup room, with a projector and a few rows of seats in an otherwise bare room). The actual entertainment and stage is currently in the large concourse by the shops, and it's biggest stars are the two ladies who dance with the kids mini disco every single night around 830pm, and are always smiley and entusiastic (by the way you won't be able to leave this hotel without the spanish kids song 'chu chu wah' thoroughly embedded into your brain!), and especially the DJ with the Monster cap whose enthusiasm and distinctive 'oo-ah' sound before every track really makes everything so much more entertaining and memorable.
The meals were good, with a range of options available at each sitting, but more or less the same overall range every day. The cooked breakfast range was identical every day, and the dinner range always had plain rice with a vegetable in it (a different vegetable each day, although one of the last days appeared to be black pudding?), plain pasta (or with a basic sauce), chips, a tray of vegetables (aubergine and courgette being the most regular here), chicken nuggets, basic pizza and chicken nuggets. In addition there was usually a meat stew (often goat or pork meat), and some sort of roast meet available. Veal meals were sometimes part of the range but there were always other options on those days, so this would never be a problem for anyone who isn't comfortable with veal. In theory each night's dinner was themed around a different country's cusine (Mexican, Italian, Chinese etc), but as the normal range formula was stilled used it was only a loosely applied theme.The restaurant also had a pudding table with a range of interesting, if somewhat unidentifiable, deserts and fruits, and a salad and cold cuts table and an basic ice cream bar with four tubs of flavoured ice cream. All the food in the restaurant was self service and all you can eat, as were the hot drinks and juice, and for lunch and dinner the fizzy drinks and lager (pulling your own half pint is not as easy as it looks!). Breakfast is 08:00-10:00, Lunch 13:00-14:30 and Dinner 19:00-21:00. Between lunch and dinner there was a burger bar open (though I never tracked it down personally, but my holiday mates did. The burgers seemed to not be beef though, and were a little rare, but they also did frankfurter type sausages and chips. We were initially told by the excursion bookers in reception, that packed lunches were available for all-inclusive customers going on day trips, but on the day we needed them we were told by the receptionists that this was not an option, so there seems to be some confusion as to whether they offer this service or not, and as the restaurants at the animal park we visited on the day in question closed earlier than anticipated on that day, we ended up having a very hungry day that day). Also, contrary to what we were told online beforehand, the burger bar is not open between breakfast and lunch, so oversleeping and missing breakfast (and who would want to set an alarm on holiday or have early nights just to wake for breakfast?) means a rather hungry few hours or an element of self-catering (since all rooms have a hob and fridge anyway).
The inside bar was closed as part of the above mentioned refurbishments, but the outside bar was open all day until 23:00, The outside bar is actually partly inside the restaurant. You queue up for their cocktails (two are non alcoholic, and the mojito is fantastic), or lager water or a a range of spirits and others drinks (top tip: ask at the beginning of the week if they do your favourite type of spirit or other alcoholic drink, or you may only discover it by accident later on, since they mostly only promote their premixed slushly cocktails and lager). Although they officially only give you two small cups of drink at a time, we found that this rule was usually waived if we ever asked for three or four, and once or twice we sent a couple of our gang up for the whole group's 'round' without problems.
There are several pools available from the shallow kiddies ones to the warmest and deepest one for adults to swim and muck about in, all this biggest pool is commandeered several times a week for organised water polo games, which are fun, if slightly unruly, for those who take part, but a little inconvenient for those forced to leave the pool, or unable to get in until the game is over, though as I say there are other pools still available but they are either smaller/shallowe or slightly chillier.
The location of the hotel is about 20 ish minutes walk in either direction to the nearest shops and pubs, and there is a slightly hidden but beautifully tranquil and natural beach within about 5 minutes walk, although the main touristy beach (with hireable pedaloes etc) is about 20-25 mins away but there is a free bus from the hotel there every day at 10am, returning at 1pm for lunch.
The rooms were fairly good, with pool facing balconies. Our room (227) had a shower but the rest of our party, in rooms 226 and 326, had baths and bidets instead. For some reason we never got given any toilet rolls by the room service ladies in our room, but the other rooms in our party did get them, so ended up buying our own in the local HyperDino. One slight concern about our room was that occasionally water from the bathroom above (we assumed grey water from the shower) drained through a vent above our shower, causing water to cascade down through our shower. We assumed this was when the room above (not part of our party) had a shower, and we weren't sure if this was a fault with the plumbing or a just a bizarre plumbing feature in a hotel who were focussed on not wasting water or electricity whereever possible.
Overall the hotel does need some work, and the immediate local area is also being quite extensively worked on, but the enthusiasm and hard work of the staff more than makes up for it and most people would enjoy a stay here whether they want an active holiday (archery, aquarobics, water polo, football, kids clubs, dance lessons and discos all available at various times) or a quiet holiday (due to the small size and slightly remoter location). Suitable for all ages and group types although there are many staircases inside and outside the hotel which might slightly hinder less abled guests (though this would totally prevent them from moving around the hotel as there are ground level rooms, and some ramps around the area of the restaurant and main concourse.
One final concern was that there was apparently a robbery in one of the other rooms whilst we were there, but the talk around the pool (and I must stress this was only what other guests told our party) was that this affected a larger group staying at Aloe, and only some money was taken, and that ipads and phones and other valueble items were left unstolen in the apparently unlocked room (balcony doors are often left open to keep the rooms cool, and it is fairly easy to move from one balcony to another, as we ourselves had to when our party locked ourselves out of one of the rooms, so remembering to shut the balcony door up before leaving the room is recommended if you have valuebles in the room, or don't choose to hire a safe for your money/documents etc) so this would appear to be more likely a case of someone within that group and not an actual breach of hotel security (but as I say this our own feeling based on other guests' information told to us around the pool).

Room Tip: If you check out several hours before your transfer to the airport is coming, and choose to use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a week stay at Aloe Cub (young couple in our 20s).

Positives: firstly the staff are great, really warm, friendly and helpful (all of them). The food was good having different themed nights is a good idea. The room was clean and spacious with a great balcony. Air con in the room was pretty decent. There were 2 large pool areas. Having a daily free shuttle bus to a lovely beach which is fab, and correlejo town is approx 15-20 mins walk/ 4 euros in a taxi. In town, there are some great bars and restaurants, we would recommend Oscars tapas restaurant!

Negatives: all the sun loungers are reserved by 9am, some are reserved and are not used for half the day! The vast majority of people are there with children, I wouldn't recommend it to people travelling in summer without kids. Entertainment is geared all towards children. The website states the hotel has a gym, the gym is in the basement with 1 broken cross trainer and 1 cycle machine and a few weights. In the 'double' room, there are 2 single beds pushed together with 2 sets of bedding (not great for a couple), the room is sporadically cleaned.

In summary, staff were brilliant, food was good, but for a couple wanting to relax this was difficult due to the number of screaming kids!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have spent one week in this hotel. For sure it looks much better on pisc than in real, however as for 3 stars is OK.
First thing the apartament: bathroom+dining room with balcony +bedroom – clean but with not nice smell, I think it was the bathroom and cloths moth (never seen, but the blankets and pillows found in the warderobe smelled like that). We havent use them at all, cos at the first night we found our skin itchy, therefore we decided to use only new sheets left by the staff every second day. There was problem with the shower, the water was getting to the floor via gap between glass and tiles and was a bit swimimn poll, the towel for the floor was not enough to dry it.
Food: the same meals everyday (not much for vegetarian) I don’t find it tastefull but its up what you like, but generally not great one.
Services: apartament has been cleaning every second day, new towels, sheets was leaving – generally ok.
Staff in the reception: very nice and helpful lady
Animation: in english, good for children but adults too (never participate but saw the program and sounds ok ie. one nite flamenco show )
Location: hotel is located about 20 min walk from the town center (by taxi 4 euro) and the same from the beach (not nice one) and about 45 min walk form the nice beach. There is everyday free bus to the beach (to the city or to the dunes – lovely one!) leaving at 10 am and back at 1 pm for luch but no service for afternoon so we had to walk everyday – but that was ok for us.
Atractions: definitly the dunes – and the beautifull beach next to ! that was fantastic ! Good public transport to other nice places on the island, lots of car hire points.

It was our first visit on Fuerta and we’ve imagined it will be much better, however we are generally glad and if you are not demanding person you should find this place as OK one.

Room Tip: we had room on the 2rd floor with view of the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked without hesitation after reading the reviews but were so disappointed when we arrived. We had emailed on the beach and the hotel to ask for a high floor room with a kitchen as my fiancé doesn't drink but lives his coffee so we brought a stove top coffee maker with us. The first room we got was beside stairs, didn't have a balcony or a kitchen - I could have moved hotels there and then. With encouragement with some euros, the girl at reception got us a better room with kitchen and high floor.
This hotel may be better at other times of the year if it was quieter, but was so busy with queues of people waiting for drink at the one bar and the restaurant was like a bun fight to get a table. If you ate outside, the birds would steal off the plate if you got up to get anything. Food was ok- very repetitive but fine. Probably great value for families, but just realise that all inclusive is not for us, we still spent money going out every night to get away. Location isn't great, too far from town.
We come to fuerteventura 4 times a year and this has been the most disappointing hotel ever.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel for a week from 21st June as a party of seven. Five adults (one of who is 84 years old), one teenager and one infant under 2 years old. The rooms were very spacious and spotless. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I had e-mailed the hotel prior to our visit to ask if they could organise a cake for my daughters birthday while we were there. This was done with no problem. I also asked if there was any way they could accommodate my father (84 years old) in a room with a "walk in" shower. When we arrived he was in a room with a walk in shower. The staff have been more than helpful throughout our stay. The food was fantastic, plenty of choice, themed nights most evenings, and more than enough to eat!! The restaurant was immaculate and the cakes were to die for!! needless to say we are all on a diet now we are home.
The only thing I would say wrong with the place is the sunbeds. Most of them were broken and it was hard to find one in tact with no cracks in, and people around the pool should learn to dispose of their plastic cups when they have finished with them instead of leaving them to blow around and spill everywhere. Other than that it was a really enjoyable week for all of us. The entertainment was a little sparse but the kids enjoyed the disco. A really good time had by all and we would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms 120/121 are ground floor overlooking the pool area. We were in 329 - third floor very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and a friend, both 25 stayed here for a week on 10th June on an all inclusive basis.
Check in very easy. The room was spotless, spacious and very modern. Cleaned 5 days a week. Pool areas great, staff very friendly, especially andrea the entertainer and the two women on reception. Food was brilliant and restaurant staff lovely and hard working. Alcoholic drinks were great, wine, sangria and beer on tap at lunch and dinner. Cocktail slushes served at the bar day and night, loved the mojito! Entertainment on every night, more than average in standard. Shops and bars a 20min walk, turn right out of reception. Beach a 20min walk, turn left out reception. Waterpark 15min walk, 25euros.. 20euros after 2.30pm. Plenty of sunbeds all day long around the hotel pools. Very good for kids as there's a kids section in the pool, and kids disco at night. Dont let this put you off if you are travelling without kids as there is a quiet pool too. The atmosphere in the resort was relaxed, peaceful and friendly. We would definitely return, and would advise anybody to book this resort. Happy Holidays!

Room Tip: Top floor, pool view..lovely rooms. In the 300's
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloe Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Club Resort

Address: Avda. Pedro Y Guy Vandaele S/N, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#11 Family Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloe Club Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Aloe Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloe Club Hotel Corralejo
Aloe Hotel Corralejo
Aloe Club Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloe Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.