We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real disappointment!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Las Marismas de Corralejo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Las Marismas de Corralejo to your Saves list
Las Marismas de Corralejo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Huriamen, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A real disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Firstly the positives.

The hotel setting itself was very nice, although there was no sea view (nearest beaches over 1 mile away) the setting of the hotel was good. The hotel boasts two good sized adult pools (where older kids also play) and one young children's pool. All very clean and tidy, if a little cold! The hotel was situated just on the outskirts of the main lively part of town, easily within walking distance but far enough not to be obtrusive with regards noise.

Conversely this hotel time and time again disappointed us! The service just wasn't up to scratch from start to finish. We arrived to be greeted with the news that our room wasn't ready, it was 1500! No problem we thought, we'll just have a nice drink in the pool side bar whilst we wait to check in. We had decided to go for the All-Inclusive option, which was a mistake! Upon arrival at the bar we were given the option of local beer, wines, sangria, and spirits, a good selection. The problem was that All-Inclusive customers were given drinks in small plastic cups, whilst non All-Inclusive customers enjoyed theirs in proper glasses! The hotels justification for this was due to "guest safety" however I fail to see the difference in two different customers sat in the same location having to drink out of differing receptacles. This prejudice against All-Inclusive customers continued in the restaurant where staff often ignored All-Inclusive guests, whilst seeming to do whatever they could to satisfy other guests.

The standard of cleanliness within the rooms was poor, I counted at least 5 cockroaches during the fortnight, and worst of all it seemed that there was no care to presentation. Towels were effectively thrown back over the towel rail (not changed daily either!) and bedding was just discarded on a hurriedly tidied bed (bed linen often not changed for over 3 days). Irrespective of this, the standard of mattress and pillows was well below that expected from a 3* hotel. The rooms are without air conditioning and the pitiful fan (faulty in our room) does little to cool the substantial heat. No washing up liquid was provided and cleaning dishes was obviously not within the maids remit. The simple action of providing washing up liquid would've really helped.

The shower in our room failed to maintain a constant temperature, often fluctuating from near ice cold to scolding without warning, very nice way to start the day!

We found lots of hidden charges with this hotel, regardless of being All-Inclusive, for example;

€20 towel deposit, with a further €1 per change of towel
€20 tv remote control deposit
€1.80 per day charge for use of the safe (which broke three times during our stay)
€20 deposit for mini golf clubs
€2 charge per game of pool/darts/air hockey etc
€2.50 per person for use of the hotel bus transfer to the beach (this was free the only item free for AI guests)
€3.50 charge for using the washing machine (no powder included), same for the dryer.

This list is by no means exhaustive, they would literally love to take your money for anything, including for water. Water was available for free for AI guest, however only in 150ml cups, only one at a time and only whilst the bars were open. Bottled water was available from a vending machine at a charge or from the hotel supermarket. The supermarket, whilst open, was very good and well stocked, although at times it closed with no notice and didn't necessarily stick to the published opening times.

The gym is very good, and one of the few things available without having to pay a deposit. You are required to sign out the key from reception, however this is justifiable do to stopping kids playing in there.

Overall we were dismayed at the price we paid, verses the quality of the experience we had during our stay. We felt like outcasts, branded with a illuminous green wrist band as All-Inclusive guest. We didn't feel valued and certainly wouldn't stay there again. It felt like everything was money orientated, and since they already had yours you weren't worth caring about. This been said, conversely there were a few stand out members of staff who were bright, helpful and cheery, of note were Raul and Ingrid who always went the extra mile. The hotel lacks management and direction of the staff, all of the problems could be ironed out with a bit of direction from above and a bit more sense of "customer care" being impressed on the staff. During out whole two week stay, no management were clearly visible. We filled out the hotels questionnaire, but were disappointed to see it still sat in the same position in the box days later when we came to leave.

To conclude, our experience was a thoroughly disappointing one and I would not recommend this place to anyone, certainly not if you wished to go All-Inclusive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaxiH, Secretaria Dirección at Las Marismas de Corralejo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Kenny,
thank you for sending your review.
We have read with regret that you were unhappy with some organizational things in our hotel, such as the deposits of material output. Unfortunately, experience has taught us that in this way the discharged material is better treated, returned correctly, and can be used by other guests, too. Also as per our announcements bath towels are changed 3 times a week, bed linen twice and the cleaning is realized 5 days per week. We are sorry that apparently you did not get this information correctly. The same with the bus shuttle to the dunes.
Nonetheless we hope that you enjoyed Fuerteventura and come back to visit this beautiful island.
Kind regards from Las Marismas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    514
    154
    41
    20
See reviews for
570
477
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, North Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

we went in room 2257 & on 2nd-9th October 2013, got there bout 7pm & it was beautiful, very quiet & the weather was still boiling, went to our room which we couldnt believe how hot it was in there as theres no Air con but we just left the cases in the room & went to the bar to get a cold drink, Nice but very quiet. The room is perfect, very spacious & very clean but just couldnt sleep as it was too stuffy, I know theres a ceiling fan but It didnt help much. Had lovely sunny days around the pool, days out to the beach & the catamaran trip was great but we got broken into our room through the bathroom window, so make sure you close it when your out & apparantly a few others were broken into aswell. A supermarket on the complex & a gym & a childrens pool was lovely too. Theres lots of sun loungers with comfy liners if you want 1 & can hire lounger towels if you need one. We also didnt realise there was free burgers/Toasties/Chips from the pool bar to snack on, & a free bus if your AI to the Dunes, beach daily. We went All inclusive & the food was lovely but next time we'l go self catering, little dissapointed in the night time bar as there was no entertainment & every one went to the close by pubs so we ended up spending extra money that we hadnt planned.All in all though, its such a beautiful hotel, reception staff are very kind & helpful & the rooms are modern & spacious, the only let downs are night entertainment & no Aircon, but we still LOVED it there!!.

Room Tip: we were in room 2257 & it was very peaceful, overlooking the gardens but very close to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaxiH, Secretaria Dirección at Las Marismas de Corralejo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Smileyshell,
thank you for sharing your experiences, we are sure that your comments will help others to get the most out of their holiday.
We are pleased that you are already planning to come back next year and are looking forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards from Las Marismas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Trying to forget day one - our booking had been cancelled by the company booked through as they went bust - we had to pay for another room there and then, though this is not the fault of the hotel.

Rooms are massive, ask for a top floor one if you don't have kids it's worth the couple of stairs not to have to noise of chairs moving from above!

Hotel and grounds spotless, pools huge and clean.

It's a 15 min walk in to town, which is enjoyable, or a few euros on the way home when it seems a bit too far!

Went s/c so only had lunch pool bar once, was sound. The bar on a night was very quiet the one time we popped in, but as I say, spent most time exploring restaurants etc in town.

The hotel is beautiful, was full when we went (we paid for the last room) but never seemed crowded.

Would definitely recommend and return - booked on back of the reviews on here and happy to confirm it's all good, had a great time!

Room Tip: Rooms are massive, ask for a top floor one if you don't have kids it's worth the couple of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaxiH, Secretaria Dirección at Las Marismas de Corralejo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your friendly words about Las Marismas.
We are pleased that you finally were able to enjoy a nice stay nonetheless initial difficulties, and hope to welcome you back again.
Warm regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

just returned from a 2 week stay here it was our first visit to fuerturventura so didnt know what to expect but was not disappointed this complex is really beautiful the rooms are very spacious and clean the pools and areas are stunning and very peaceful i cannot comment on the food as we were self catering we ate at the pool bar a couple of times but wasnt really impresssed with it but there are loads of nice places to eat out and plenty of bars too its about 15 minutes walk yo the nearest bar at the top of the strip and about 40 mins to the end but it doesnt seem that long if you stop in a few bars on the way down the only thing i would change here is to put aair con in the rooms instead of the fan but it would put me off going back i would definatly return here and would recomend it to anyone

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaxiH, Secretaria Dirección at Las Marismas de Corralejo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guests,
we are lucky to know that you enjoyed your first visit to Fuerteventura and we have contributed a significant part to it. Please, come back to our beautiful island and explore its impressive landscapes.
Kind regards,
the Las Marismas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The first night we arrived at Las Marismas (last wednesday 25th Semptember in the evening) we were immediately impressed. It is very large clean and pretty.

After dumping our suitcases in our room we went to explore the hotel however when walking past the pool my boyfriend did the wrong thing by pointing out a cockroach running past me. Now me being a girl who hates any kind of bugs was not the best thing to do! I spent the whole of the first night perched on a wooden chair in the middle of our apartment thinking the cockroaches were going to get me!

Please DONT let that put you off like it did initially to me, throughout the rest of the holiday I saw only one other cockroach... again it was outside. The entire hotel is very clean, clean around the pool, clean in the aparments and the surrounding areas. I guess its a hot country and the grounds are really big so you probably are going to see some bugs, afterall they must live somewhere. I promise its not dirty.

I think we went at the perfect time of year as it was really hot 26/27 degrees everyday and virtually no wind which i was suprised by as everyone in work kept warning me how windy Fuerteventura was going to be but we barely felt any wind in week we were there. Also as it was coming to the end of the season its wasnt rammed full and there were plenty of sunbeds available any time of the day (good quality ones too) and the pool was very quiet and peacefull. Which is just how I like my holidays, maybe others would find it boring but if you want peace and quiet while you relax in beautiful surroundings then this is perfect.

My 6 year old son loved it too and enjoyed the free minigolf - You have to pay a 20Euro deposit but you get it back no trouble as long as you hand the gold clubs back within the hour which is plenty of time.
There is also a waterpark directly opposite but we didnt go (previous bad experience on our last holiday in Turkey that resulted in my son being rushed to A&E) although it looked fun!

We went self catering as we like to eat out a different places however the food in the hotels a la carte restaurant is devine. We only tried the food here towards the end of our holiday and wished we had tried it sooner. Lovely food, well cooked and overlooking the main pool and the staff were lovely and friendly and gave us free alcohol to try and extra free starters to taste.

To be honest we were a little disapointed by the restraunts close to the hotel as they all serve the same pasta, pizza and grilled meat unless you want to walk quite far down the harbour.

You have to visit the sand dunes and beach while your here 2euros each for a return ticket on the hotel bus which is daily 11am and returning from the beach at 3.30pm. The beach is stunning and the sea was so blue and clear. (If you want to see photos of the beach have a look on instagram @karis5ax ) I normally hate beaches because i hate seaweed and not being able to see what I might be stepping on but here you can go really far into the sea before it gets too deep and its so clear you can see everything. It really is a beautiful beach.

Well thats it for my long review i would definately come back to this hotel.

GOOD POINTS:- great location, helpfull staff, large rooms, 3 pools, pretty, everything is free including minigolf, the gym the tennis courts etc and most importantly - clean! :)

Things to maybe improve on:- could do with air con, althoug the large balcony screen doors and fan are ok, more english channels! There is only 1 channel and thats the news, luckily we took a dvd player for the evenings when my son was in bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaxiH, Secretaria Dirección at Las Marismas de Corralejo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Krissijh,
while reading your review we feel very happy that we finally passed your test, as you seem to be a critical observer ;) The more we are delighted that you had a great stay, enjoying our peaceful grounds and beautiful beaches.
Hopefully we can welcome you back next year.
Kind regards,
the Las Marismas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, the grounds are immaculate and provide a stunning setting. The pools are lovely and the children's pool provides a great safe depth for toddlers to truly enjoy a splash and play. Also plenty of sun loungers available around each pool every day.
The room was spacious and very clean with good kitchen facility's and dining table. Only drawback is there is no air con but the bedrooms do have a ceiling fan. We had a large spacious first floor balcony overlooking the hotels own mini golf course, definitely worth requesting a pool view or garden view room.
The food is of good quality and plenty of choice and the staff in the restaurant are friendly, helpful and keep the tables clear so always a free table. The pool bar has a good menu and reasonable price however only one member of staff serving during our stay so sometimes a little wait but not too long.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, I rarely revisit the same place twice however myself and my family thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and are currently in the process of booking again to go back to stay at the Las Marismas for two weeks next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaxiH, Secretaria Dirección at Las Marismas de Corralejo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear family,
we are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and are even thinking about coming back next year - quite contrary to your habits, which definitely isa special praise for all of our employees.
Please, do not hesitate to visit us again!
We send you very kind regards from sunny Fuerteventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Las Marismas for a week, as a group of friends. We choose bed and breakfast. As soon as we turned up, the property looked very nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The pool area is nice, with 3 pools and a pool bar. There are a few activities such as tennis, gym and crazy golf which are either included or carry a small charge. The on-site supermarket is good too.

It's only a few minutes walk to the main street, having said that it is far enough away to be quiet at night around the hotel complex.

The pool bar is good for snacks and there is a good choice of food for breakfast.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaxiH, Secretaria Dirección at Las Marismas de Corralejo, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks Alistair, for your friendly recommendation.
Kind regards from Las Marismas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Marismas de Corralejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Marismas de Corralejo

Address: c/ Huriamen, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#9 Family Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Marismas de Corralejo 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Marismas de Corralejo, enjoy the luminous apartments, with spacious terraces and balconies, as well as the Canarian and International food we offer in our restaurant. Enjoy our spectacular pools, all surrounded by beautiful gardens that imitate different elements of the landscape of Fuerteventura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Las Marismas de Corralejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Marismas De Corralejo Hotel Corralejo
Las Marismas De Hotel Corralejo
Marismas Corralejo
Corralejo Las Marismas De
Las Marismas De Corralejo Fuerteventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Marismas de Corralejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.