We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're going to dive do it with these guys...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abyss Fuerteventura

Abyss Fuerteventura
Calle Gravina, 10, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
+34 652 95 82 97
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 75 Activities in Corralejo
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Simon and Hannah welcome you to Abyss Fuerteventura.We are situated in the town of Corralejo in the North of Fuerteventura an island with 150km of sandy beaches and turquoise waters in the Canary Islands.Come and join us to discover the secrets of the underwater world. We would love to share our experience and passion of diving with you, here in the warm and clear waters of Fuerteventura.We offer a full range of PADI courses, from beginner to professional, always in small groups with all our professionalism and attention.All the courses can be taught in ENGLISH, and SPANISH. We will take all the time you need to make sure you enjoy each moment of your course in a safe environment.We can arrange free Hotel pick-up.Opening hours : From 9 am t 7pm open everyday we are now please to announce that we are a Gold Star Deptherapy Instructor Development Center, we we can offer the full range of deptherapy courses as well as PADI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If you're going to dive do it with these guys...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a holiday on the island and diving with Abyss was the highlight of the holiday! Simon and Hannah are a great team, great hosts, brilliantly accommodating and very knowledgable divers. I'm qualified AOW and did 8 dives with Abyss; from pick up & drop off from our hotel to tours of a variety of dive sites from boat or shore, day and night, to the coffee and snacks provided between dives; these guys provide the whole package with a relaxed, friendly and importantly safety first attitude. It was a pleasure diving with them and best of all they introduced my wife to diving and she loved it! They were also more than happy to offer advice about the local area and island. My wife's comment was, that they make you feel like you've known them for years! The abundance of sealife here makes each dive different and I hope we have the opportunity to dive with you again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smac343, Manager at Abyss Fuerteventura, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Honset-view

It was great to meet you both last week and great dive with you both, I'm glad we have a future convert to diving in Laura, and a fantastic role model of a diver in you to help her along the road to Open water..and beyond. We hope to she you both back out here soon, this time we will ensure we get to spend some Apre dive time with you both (if you come out to dive or not....)

And thanks for the Pictures its nice to see the dive sites from a diferant perspective..

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Last dived with Abyss in September 2012 and we returned this year to complete your PADI Advance Open Water. Before I travelled we contacted the new owners Simon & Hannah and made some plans via email, and when we eventually met them (and intern Dave), we were made to feel very welcome. All the equipment is very well maintained and they will only dive with very small groups, so felt very safe and comfortable.

Every day we were picked up and dropped back to our hotel and everything was well managed and almost felt like you could just turn up, change into our wetsuits, do a briefing and then go dive.

We did two daytime dives followed by a night dive - which if the conditions are good then I would highly recommend as the sea really comes to life in the dark. We also completed a couple of deep dives which again where excellent. After the dives they provide coffee, water and cakes and we even got a photo editing lesson at a local bar which was a great way to get to know our hosts.

Really enjoyed every dive and had some great laughs, I would highly recommend diving with them and would definitley come back and dive with them again.

Please note that you do need a medical certificate to dive here, we had one completed in 5 mins, and a Drs office just around the corner from the dive shop which cost approx 25 euros or you can get one from your own GP - these last 2 years.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smac343, Owner at Abyss Fuerteventura, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
David , many thanks for the kind words and indeed the great time diving you you guys, the photo editing lesson will be a hard act to follow for years to come. you both did an amazing job on the course and we look forward to seeing you both back out here real soon...

even if not diving please pop in for a coffee and a catch up.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best dive centre on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Team Abyss Fuerteventura are marvellous! They looked after us from day one, making sure we had everything we needed for a great holiday. Their dive centre is a friendly, first rate diving centre and their professionalism made sure that every dive was a great one but above all safe. Whether you want to fun dive or take a course, Abyss Fuerteventura is the dive centre to choose, divers of all ages and experience are welcome and I would recommend it to everyone to try it as part of their holiday to Corralejo.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smac343, Owner at Abyss Fuerteventura, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Karen, it was great to dive with you and you are a true professional in and out of the water many thanks, and the Team at Abyss can't wait to dive with you again real soon

S&H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Scuba dives”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

dived with the new owners twice here in May, both dives were good but preferred last years owners to be honest,

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smac343, Owner at Abyss Fuerteventura, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed the Discover Scuba Diving Experience and hope you go on to do one of the diving courses in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Many thanks to both Hannah and Simon, and also their DM Dave for making me so welcome at abyss, I had 2 great dives with them at El Jablito, although not deep dives very enjoyable, They have got a great diving mentality, always safety first then fun and laughter. Coffee and cake during our S.I. what a nice touch. Once again many thanks guys, keep doing what your doing and I dont think you'll go wrong. Will definately see you next time I'm on the island.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smac343, Owner at Abyss Fuerteventura, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
It was a pleasure to have met and dived with you, and to have pulled up a sand bag and spun dits....when your next out we will venture to Lobo. till then S.A.F.E diving

Hannah and Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyss Fuerteventura also viewed

 
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to Abyss Fuerteventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abyss Fuerteventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.