We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total calm or total stress ? Bulldozer mania.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Grandes Playas N 103, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Flanders, Belgium
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Total calm or total stress ? Bulldozer mania.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

March 2014, just returned from a week at Bahia Real. Let's start with the good things : nice and spacious rooms, very-very clean, excellent bathroom with all necessary amenities, good beds and choice of pillows, food and beverages are very good and quality vs. price is ok.
There is a new and modern sun-deck with beautiful chairs and bar on a pier hanging over the sea. Staying there has a price : 30€ per day. At the swimming pool there is a ridiculous management of towels, one is being treated as little kids. But... if you are seeking rest and calm, silence, than this is at the moment not the place to be. While you have your treatment at the Spa, you tremble because of the bulldozers nearby, building a new pier, which will -I admit- be wonderful once it is ready. Although this is a beautiful place, the lack of silence and calm was a disappointment. So, first check how long these works will continue before you go there. Another point of improvement is the lack of good language knowledge of the staff. Although they are very friendly, their knowledge of English is terrible - especially at the Spa (except for Michele).

Room Tip: Rooms with frontal sea view are nice - you wake up with the sun and you hear the sea day and night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination and for sharing your personal opinion with us through Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our beautiful and spacious rooms that are held in pristine conditions, our great variety of food and beverages with a good price-quality relation and the sun-deck on top of the sea.
On the other hand we can see from your comments that not everything was as you expected.

Fortunately we have had the opportunity to meet and greet you personally and do a close follow up of the issues hereby exposed during your stay and through further communication after your departure. Nevertheless we would like to clarify now for other readers.

In reference to the beach we would like to highlight that our hotel is located in a prime position just opposite the sea with a marvellous view over the islets of Lanzarote and Lobos. We have never published our hotel as being a resort with an own private beach, as this is not the case. In fact all beaches in Spain are public, hence anything related to them underlies the local authorities.
We are lucky to enjoy a very good location, our hotel is based within the beautiful bay of Corralejo in short walking distance to the marvellous dunes where you find kilometeres of fine sandy beaches suitable for everyone.
The beach directly in front of the hotel unfortunately didn’t provide an easy access to the sea until now, due to its rocky layout. For this reason and in line with the townhall project of embellishment of the coastline this year it has finally seen some improvement. As a result the stones have been removed, now providing a much better access in safer conditions.
Our guests and locals alike will now take profit from that action and we are looking forward to your next visit as we would love to have your own feedback on this.
The pier to the right is currently under construction, but noise level is kept to a minimum, if at all it only has a visual impact and the affected rooms are not being occupied. The noise was coming only from the beach operation and we do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Although we were not responsible for like to find a way of making up for it, according to our reports you recieved a courtesy gift from us as a gesture of goodwill.
Also we support your suggestion to get in touch with us directly to get the newest updates on the situation as otherwise one might come to wrong conclusions based on reviews that do not reflect the situation as of today.

On the other hand you mention you felt a little letdown by the knowledge of english of our staff. Our staff at both the central reception and spa reception is multilingual, they are able to communicate with guests in spanish, english, german, french and italian. As we have also some trainees that are still learning and have little experience they are assisted by a senior team member whenever neccesary. You might probably refer to them or to our therapists in the spa, they have been chosen due to their professional skills and at times a translation might be neccesary. Therefor if you have specific requirements in relation to your treatments we kindly recommend to let the reception staff know before you start your treatment to avoid an unnecesary interruption during the treatment.

As a resume we like to point out that we are very happy that you mentioned your personal experience to us, thus helping us to improve our tailormade services and better adapt them to your individual expectation.
If you visit us again I promise we will make sure everything is perfect, as we are determined to keep up the good work and achieve a very high costumer satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your honest feedback, we do appreciate it very much.
I hope to meet you again in the near future,

Kindest regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    217
    55
    19
    12
See reviews for
253
601
43
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We knew it was a quality 5 star and wanted as such after 3 years of not having a long holiday abroad but WOW, we never expected the Bahia Real. Having booked our trip some 6 months ago we have been following reviews on tripadvisor (like you do!) and have seen some of the complaints which I shall deal with first for a balanced review and to be a responsible reviewer.

Firstly, we DID miss having tea/ coffee facilities in our room. Although you can order anytime of day/ night, in the morning or late evening, you do not necessarily want to have to open the door (me usually running into the bathroom to hide of a morning!) We do feel in a deluxe sea view room and above, this facility should be available. Secondly, beach in front of the hotel is not the best (very rocky) and there ARE on going works in progress which can be noisy (although only really had a lot of noise on our last day - so walked to Flag Beach - more on that later) The hotel is trying making the whole experience much better for their guest obviously but be aware.

There IS a pier they have built which has luxury beds on and a bar but at a price. We didn't use it so cannot comment whether it is worth the cost. They are building another pier 'on going works'.

The hotel as a whole is beautiful and immaculate. The staff, now, the staff. I have stayed for a few days at probably one of the worlds top hotels in Beverly Hills and believe me, I will never stay there again because of the staff. However, at the Bahia Real they MAKE the place. All in old traditional dress which is lovely. They're friendly, smiling and very respectful. Can't do enough for you. Unlike those in the BHH! The pool area is so calming and there are so many beds you will always find some and waiter/ess service constantly (although not until 11.00am when swimming is then permitted - probably for maintenance, gardening (fabulous tress/ plants around) and cleaning which is constant throughout. There is one heated pool for adults but the larger pool is just about bearable and quite refreshing (husband didn't think so!)

House keeping is excellent and there really IS all you want. The room we stayed in was 243 and thoroughly recommend it. No one directly attached on the right, so lovely all round sea views and above the beach restaurant, so no one below (absolutely no food smells or noise there from)

So back to Flag Beach. The hotel does charge for beds on the beach but ALL Spanish beaches are public and it's the law. If you are against a charge, sit on a towel on the sand! However, if you're up for it, a half mile walk to the south of the hotel towards the dunes will bring you to the most wonderful beach and two others further on. We found the last beach on our last day and although a trek to say the least, the beach with the two big hotels on it is great AND has camel rides! Basically turn right on the hotel beach and keep walking to the dunes, come to a car park next to a nudist hotel (well protected!) then straight across the car park toward dunes and keep going till you see the flags of the surf school and head there. Two beds and parasol (used as a wind block - yes it's windy there - clue's in the name of the island!) is 9 euros for the day. There's a beach bar as well which is very reasonable, also selling beer and wine.

To summarize, nothing is perfect in life, but honestly, the Bahia Real is as near as it gets. We WILL return.

Room Tip: We would say rooms from 240/ 340 upwards are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time and making the effort of publishing a review on this public forum. Your detailed report helps us to understand how you experienced our hotel and how you felt about it after getting back home.
Nowadays it also a very good way for other travellers to find out more about the hotel they like to book before going ahead. Any comments are taken very serious by us and we do analyse every day what we can do to make our costumers love the hotel so much that they think about coming back as soon as they leave.
Your comments are the true reflect of the ideal holiday experience, as you were impressed by our hotel despite the high expectations you had on our resort.
We would like to answer your report with the same honesty and attention to detail as you have displayed.
Our tea and coffe facility are available upon demand, just ask and you can get a waterboiler for free and a tea and coffe set for free, replacement is with a little charge. Sorry if we did not make you aware of that, our mistake! We do have it already placed in the room in the superior suites, we promise that we will reconsider your suggestion.
In reference to the beach: by the time we are answering your report the maintenance of the beach has concluded resulting in a better, nice, more confortable and accessible beach. Sorry for the inconvencience, the operation was not carried out by the hotel, as it’s public beach. Nontheless we made up to our guests granting free access to the spa and sun loungers were free of charge also. As you say, we did our best to ensure costumer satisfaction and we generally achieved this.
The pier you mention is a Vip area and yes there is a cost for that as these premises are lease we took because we wanted to add an extra value for our guest.
The Coco Beach Chill Out is secluded space offering a privacy and a luxury experience and prices are very competitive with interesting options such as packages including drinks for a full day or half day hire, we hope you have the opportunity to try it out in your next visit.
Our staff: thank you so much about the lovely praise on them and yes they make the hotel, it’s all about people and how they care for other people, everything else is important but people make all the difference.
We try to find out how we can make our guests happy, but always respecting privacy without being intrusive. Each guest is different and so we adapt to them.
If you like to chat and make new friends you will find our staff to be like a one great big family, if you like to enjoy by your own we won’t disturb but we are here for everything you might need.
Our pool area has maintenance every single day and so do the gardens, we do this early morning before we open the pool for swimming. The indoor pool is open for an early morning swim. As time schedule may vary according to season its best to check this prior booking or upon arrival.
243 is indeed a very nice room but then all of our rooms are, so our recommendation is to send us an email with your preferences (close to restaurant, close to the spa, close to beach exit, upper floor etc) and we will allocate you according to that. If you already know our hotel it’s easier and you will soon find your favourite room.
In reference to the beach and the charge of sunbed hire you are absolutely right, there is a standart price for that around the island, and in fact it is the usual policy in Spain. The rate covers also the maintenance of beaches keeping them clean and nice, so it does make sense! You may sit on your towel and that is always free.
The other beaches you found nearby are part of the nature park of the dunes and yes, they are really amazing and worth the stroll. Besides you will see there is a lot going on, kitesurfers, surfers and much more are a delight to watch. Also this is paradise for birds, bring your binoculars if you love birds and you will see how many different species there are.

Finally our most heartfelt gratitude for sharing your point of view and for this wonderful report, you could not have described our hotel better.
We send you our best wishes and hope to see you again!

Warm regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Let's get the bit that everyone moans about first out of the way.... The building work opposite the entrance...yes there is unfinished building work, but we all know about the Spanish construction market.
The hotel is beach front focused and doesn't spoil the fantastic views and cannot be seen from the beach, or the pool.
The hotel us fantastic and very well presented. The luxury is visable from the moment you walk into the reception to the time you get to your room.
The rooms are very well presented with a massive bed, large screen tv, and fantastic bathroom.
The balcony was sea view facing giving fantastic views.
The food was very good on all the nights we ate there and on a buffet basis.
We did eat in the top floor restaurant one evening.... The service was excellent as was the quality of the food.
The spa centre was amazing, even though I had to wear a shower cap to swim lol
The only down side was the minibar costs.... Higher than most.

I have stayed in 5 star hotels all over Europe and Dubai, and would put the Bahia Real up with them.
If the people who moaned about this hotel here, stayed at the most opulent hotel in the world free of charge, they would still find something to moan about

Room Tip: Get a sea view suite.... We'll worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful 5 star rating. We are sure it will be of great help for our future guests and also it is a true motivation for our team.
We know that the best publicity is a satisfied costumer who will spread the word, but moreover we really care about what people think about our hotel once they are back home and settled back into routine. Holidays memories are priceless and so we put extra care into reviewing our reports along with other tools we have to measure costumer satisfaction.
Despite first impressions about the abandoned buildings that are not within the hotel we managed to convince you of our hotel and our renowed high standarts.
Thankfully once you step inside the hotel the outside world vanishes and there only is a sensation of having found what one was looking for: the perfect place to unwind and relax. Like you say, the views are not compromised, nor is the luxury and confort or the service. We stand out for being a 5 star deluxe hotel and this is what we give our guests: a truly 5 star deluxe holiday experience.
We like to go beyond expectation, so if you need something or have any sort of suggestions please let us know and we will try to make your dream holiday come true. Whatever it takes, if we can do it so we will.
Our shower cap in the spa is mandatory for hygenic reason as it is usual in the spa’s of hotels here in Spain. The minibar prices are also in line with the usual prices of 5 star hotels in Spain. Nevertheless we will review this and see if we can introduce different brands with different prices.
Thank you so much for your evaluating our hotel as being at the level of other 5 star hotels worldwide, we are proud of your comments.
And thank you most of all for your support, we are sure that if we could do something else to make our costumers happy we will at least try!

Warm regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the Bahia Real on the 13th March 2014. We can honestly say we had a wonderfull time there.we had an excellent room with sea view it had a large comfortable bed and the room was always kept very clean.we stayed half board and the buffet for breakfast and dinner was of very high quality.over all a wonderfull 5 star hotel.Christine&Bob

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Christine and Bob,

How lovely to find your comments here on Tripadvisor. We have enjoyed being your hosts during your visit and we do hope that there will be many more visits in the future. We are thrilled to know that you spent a marvellous time and that you found our hotel to be wonderful and worthy of its 5 star category. Please keep in touch and let us know when you are coming back, we will try to give you a room according to preferences. Our team is here to assist you with anything you may require to make your next holiday with us as enjoyable as this one.

We send you our best wishes and greetings from sunny Fuerteventura.

Regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

When you drive from the airport to Corralejo it feels as if you have landed on Mars. You pass a volcano that looks as if it erupted last week, but Wikipedia says there hasn't been an eruption on Fuerteventura for 1000 years. Then you arrive at the Bahia Real and it is a beautiful oasis of luxury. Lovely smiling helpful staff all dressed in the attractive national costume of the Canaries, a splendid lobby with painted Cupola and nice decor in the guest rooms - all with a Roman influence (not sure if the Romans made it to the Canaries).

Food in the hotel is excellent. There are gourmet restaurants well up to international standards. Look out for pate de foie gras as an amuse-bouche in Las Columnas and cannelloni with truffle sauce in La Cupula.

Really good buffet both for breakfast, and in the evening (usually themed - Italian, seafood etc) if you don't feel up to the gourmet restaurants. We didn't try the Japanese one.

Good live music in the bar - violin and guitar for example, and they managed some foot-tapping Irish music on St Patrick's day.

There are two outdoor pools surrounded by attractive tropical garden. Also a good paddling pool for toddlers. The deeper pool is almost as cold as the ocean in March - swimming is an exercise in survival - but the shallower one is a couple of degrees better. We didn't visit the spa which has an indoor pool because it was so sunny every day. It wasn't too windy but there are plenty of windbreaks.

The beach is not the best feature. It is basically volcanic rock with sand laid over the top. At high tide it is OK, and a few hundred metres along it is better. The is a nice dock constructed in front of the hotel with "Balinese" sun beds (that you have to pay for) and a bar. There are steps down to the sea from here.

The town of Corralejo is a dump. Only go there if you need shops, which are better than its third-world feel would lead you to expect (Zara etc).

For Brits it is nice to be in the same time zone.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank for your detailed report on your holiday experience with us. We value the feedback of our guest and we think it is an excellent opportunity to identify where we can improve our services to please our guests even more.
So we have read with great interest your comments and we thought it is a wonderful way of describing your arrival. Yes, Fuerteventura is an island of volcanic eruption but fortunately the volcanoes are not active and the people living here feel safe, in fact we enjoy everything about this beautiful island. The unique landscape, the spectacular beaches, the laid back atmosphere; all of this is the real spirit of this little magic island.
We are set in the beautiful bay of Corralejo, close to the natural park of the sand dunes. This is a prime location and our guest feel privileged to have the beach within short walking distance and the town is only a stroll away.
The hotel decoration has an influence of the roman art but basically it is neomudejar style construction. You will find more information about it in Internet and it is in fact quite interesting.
Our gourmet restaurant “La Cupula” and our “Las Columnas” restaurant, cater for the most selective palates, offering a one of a kind culinary experience. The canelloni with truffle sauce is an excellent recommendation and it is an all time favourite in our restaurant. It’s a shame you did not have opportunity to try also the Japanes “Yamatori” as we are sure you would have enjoyed it.

The evening entertainment is always trying to melt with our public, and there is always a reason to celebrate, whether it is a local festivity or a festivty anywhere in the world.
In the pool area we have three different pools, one for babies and toddlers which is climatized, one for children and adults which is also climatized and the deeper one that is suitable for anyone who wants to give it a go. Some guest get up very early and go to swim in the ocean or the non climatized pool, as it seems it boost circulation and is very healthy.
We also have an indoor heated pool in our spa aera (only adults area) and an outdoor jacuzzi on the roof. You will find your prefered pool very soon and there is plenty of space around to relax, read a book or dream along.
In realtion to the beach we like to point out that it has recently been improved as the access to the water wasn’t very good, but now it is much better providing a safe access and also the new dock you mention has a bathing facility. Our Chill Out Beach Club is a VIP area providing an extra value to the guests, here they may enjoy a day by the sea in a very private setting.
Corralejo is a nice fishing village that eventually developed to a town. It harbours a good choice of shops, bars, restaurants, entertainment and a nice promenade as well as a dock where sailing trips are offered and where you can take a ferry to the neighbouring islands.
If you do not feel the need to venture into the town, you will find that the hotel offers the possiblity to take it easy as everything is at hand. Still so we recommend a visit around the island to experience Fuerteventura and if you have time why not also the archipielago.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with other travellers, we hope to meet you again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here last week on a Half Board basis with a sea view room which had a lovely balcony and a perfect sea view. Previous reviewers have indicated that the sea view rooms are mainly in the shade and whilst it is a five star hotel and the staff are kind and helpful, I think they can do little to alter the rotation of the sun, but the view itself was beautiful and calming all the same. Reception staff warmly welcomed us with cava, escorted us to our room and explained the hotel facilities. Our room was very comfortable and had everything you could need, plus a turndown service each night. All communal areas were clean, nicely furnished and well attended as you would expect from a five star hotel. Spa staff are friendly and we had use of the Spa each day (no extra charge). We enjoyed the buffet (breakfast and dinner) which consisted of fresh fish and meat cooked in front of you and we were free to sit wherever we wanted to. Drinks were purchased separately (we were HB) and found to be on the expensive side. We also dined in Yamatori (Japanese restaurant) one night which was also quite expensive but a fantastic dining experience. The pool area was quiet and relaxing with many sunbeds available to choose from. In terms of hotel entertainment, we experienced traditional flamenco and on another evening a jazz musician, again very enjoyable. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were sad to leave. It is certainly a five star hotel but the best thing about the hotel is that it maintains high standards without being pretentious. We would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay in march with us. Your feedback is very important for us and after reading it we are very pleased to hear that you found almost everything to be of your satisfaction. Of course as you have highlighted we cannot change the layout of the hotel and we thought it most important that our rooms face the sea or the pool instead of the street.
How nice that you experienced a warm welcome and you enjoyed being escorted to the room with a welcome drink. We like to make our guests feel at home from the very beginning they get a proper introduction to the hotel so that they can feel they belong and we care about them.
Also the rooms are in line with our concept of luxurios confort beyond expectation, the turndown service is an added value and it is nice to come back after maybe a long day touring the island to find your bed prepared for the night and the room refreshed.
Being a 5 star deluxe establishment involves all that, and then it is the little things we use to stand out for, like a small surprise if you celebrate your birthday with us, a smile when you least expect it, an invitation to join our traditional flameco dancers, a new cocktail you just discover on the menu and decide try out and many more.
Our spa is another highlight and at the moment the daily entrance is free of charge. Besides you can book our treatments that are always tailormade, our reception at the spa can give you personalized recommendations on that and elaborate a suitable programm for you.
You have mentioned also that you enjoyed our evening entertainment program and the relaxing pool site. We have tried to create the perfect match of entertainment and relax, and find the balance between one and the other. Thank you for such positive comment we know that we have achieved it! This is a great motivation for us, rest assured we will continue to work hard so that we keep up the high standarts!

Thank you for your visit and please get in touch if you plan a future visit so that we can assist you personally according to preferences.

Kindest regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascot
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at the Bahia during the last week in February on a B & B basis and booked a sea view room and that is what we got. What we didn't realise was the sea view rooms, or ours anyway, didn't get any meaningful sun, I cannot blame the hotel for that but it is worth bearing in mind.
The reception and their staff were perfect, the rooms are fine and the general areas are clean and well maintained, however,from that point onwards the five star hotel became ordinary and expensive. Take for example the buffet, we chose to eat there the first night, no one to show you to a table, its a help yourself, the buffet was ok, but the only memorable aspect was the price, 37 euros each plus about 20 euros for a bottle of house wine (it was dreadful and half of it is still there) plus I think some 6 euros for two cups of coffee. We ate like kings for the rest of the holiday in the local town for under 50 euros. The sun beds around the pool area could do with a thorough wash, you collect the towels from a shed which has a pile of old tatty magazines and books in a heap, you might think, (it is a five star hotel) the attendant would show you to a position, no chance. We heard something of the hotel entertainment whilst passing through - if you like the banging and crashing of the heels and the discordant music of flamenco style, then this is for you, but not for us. I cannot recall seeing any member of the 'management' in the restaurant/public areas/ or anywhere during the whole of the stay, and in my view that is what is required, some serious 'management by walkabout' I do not believe that the staff who are supposed to be running this hotel know what is happening (or not happening) on the ground
What you have is a five star hotel that is well short of the rating.

Room Tip: Sea view does not mean sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to say thank you for taking the time to publish a review on your recent stay with us.
We are happy to read that you particulary liked our rooms, our friendly staff and the way our general areas are always kept in inmaculate shape.
On the other hand we are very sorry to read that not every aspect of your holiday was to your entire satisfaction.
We work very hard in order to achieve the hightest costumer satisfaction and we always welcome any sort of feedback as it helps us to improve our services and take neccesary measures wherever required.
However we do not agree on some of your comments as unfortunately they are based on wrong or misleading information.

Our rooms are distributed on two differents wings, one of them is facing the pool and the other the sea. All rooms have nice and spacious balconies, and all of them do get sun. However as the evening approaches the sun gets down behind the building and so you don’t get the last rays of sun there.
We could have built the rooms facing the road and then probably you would enjoy the sunshine a little longer but we thought people would enjoy more looking out to the sea.
In reference to the prices, we like to point out that they are in line with the usual prices in Spain for a 5 star deluxe establishment. You will probably find cheaper options in town but what you pay for is the tailormade service of our theme restaurants, the great variety of our buffet, the excellent quality of all our 1º class brands, the atmosphere, the live music, the beautiful setting and the direct sea view. This is what our hotel is all about: it’s a special place with a unique charm and this is why we can count many repeat costumers amongst our clientele. You will find many of them also commenting here on Tripadvisor and we hope that travellers are reading different opinions to make themselves a better idea.
The hotel entertainment is also in line with our establishment, we have live musicians such as pianoplayers, guitarist, a violinist and yes, we are in Spain and we do love Flamenco. it is an essential part of our culture and tradition and we think it is simply beautiful to watch, so we wanted to share it with our guests.
Our public relations team is at the entrance during the entire duration of service, receiving you with a friendly smile, asking you if you had a nice day, offering help wherever it is required.
It has never been a problem in our buffet to find a table, so there has never been a neccesity to show all of our guests to a table, in fact it's a more relaxed atmosphere as it is usual in a buffet, clients can choose where they like to sit.
We do show clients to the table in our theme restaurants, as they are smaller and you dine a la carte in a very intimate atmosphere.
We have free magazines and books at the swimming pool, at our Chill Out Beach Club and we have a library and newspapers in our lobby. During the day it has happened many times that guests leave their own books and magazines behind and sometimes they are not in the best shape. These are reviewed and if they are not in condition to be exposed we usually remove them straightaway or the earliest possible. If you like to have brand new books maybe its best to buy one at the nearby supermarkets you will find a good selection of english books and magazines.

You have also commented on our management and I must say it is quite offensive to read such a comment, especially because we are constantly reviewing all areas of the hotel and always greet all guests we meet on our way. At least one member of the management is always present in the hotel and we are approachable at all times and open to communication should there be the slightest reason for a complaint.
It would be great if I had the chance to meet you personally sometime in the future. I am sure we could then have an interesting exchange of impressions about the Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real, hopefully before your departure.
Finally we apologize sincerely if we didn’t fully live up to your expectations, we will try even harder next time in order to achieve that you leave our hotel 100% satisfied on everything.

We wish you all the Best,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real

Address: Avenida Grandes Playas N 103, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real 5* GL se encuentra situado en uno de los rincones mas bellos de la isla de Fuerteventura, en primera linea de playa, junto al Parque Natural de las Dunas de Corralejo. El nuevo Coco Beach Chill Out es un lugar unico donde disfrutar en sus camas balinesas de un momento de placer y relax sobre el mar. Un rincon especial donde disfrutar de un cocktail en un ambiente agradable y sofisticado con una ubicacion simplemente magica. La nueva playa del hotel dispone de hamacas, sombrillas y paravientos donde descansar sobre la fina arena blanca y sumergirse en las cristalinas aguas con vistas excepcionales a las islas de Lobos y Lanzarote. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Corralejo
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.