We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Grandes Playas N 103, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 45 hotels in Corralejo
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was a very nice hotel - good standard. Comfortable room. Well appointed. Usual problem in Europe with Wi Fi, but to their credit they did sort it mid-way through our weeks stay. Meanwhile they provided a direct link cable. Internet connection in Europe (yes I know the Canaries are not strictly Europe!)still not of UK, US or Far East Standard.

Although there was a beach sea swimming is not ideal. Apart from the fact that we went in early November there are a lot of rocks, quite rough surf and fairly strong currents. A 10 minute walk gets you to some reasonable swimming beaches.

The food was a very good standard indeed. We went half board and they really made an effort with the buffet. Different every night and to a very good standard. We did go into the town (A 5 Euro Taxi Drive) for one meal - and there are plenty of restaurants.

We also ate in one of the speciality restaurants in the hotel. Even with our allowance it wasn't cheap - but it was really excellent. We eat in the Japanese Restaurant.

Fuerteventura is well named (Strong Winds!) But the hotel had every amenity to ensure you were sheltered from it.

There are plenty of good walks around - but the scenery is more Lawrence of Arabia than Kew gardens! Plenty of sand dunes! If you like Surfing, Para-surfing, wind surfing, kite flying or sand yachting this is the place for you! We didn't hire a car and stayed around Corralejo as we just wanted to chill out for a week. But I guess car hire would be well worthwhile to explore a bit more.

Without doubt the staff in this hotel were a breed apart. From the chambermaids to the gardeners to the bar staff, in the restaurants and at reception you were made so welcome by such pleasant people. Not over the top, just nice and nothing was too much trouble. My congratulations to the management and the staff have every right to be proud.

A lovely weeks rest in an otherwise hectic life!

Room Tip: All rooms are good as far as I know. Sound proofing is excellent and as it is a better class of hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guests,

we glad you took a few minutes of your precious time to evalutate your stay with us on Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to recieve this type of feedback and to find out what you think about our hotel, the staff, the gastronomy and the island itself.

It is lovely to read that you found our hotel to be the ideal place to rest from your otherwise hectic life. And what makes us most happy is the fact that you mention the outstanding staff that goes out of their way to make your holidays easy, relaxed and confortable; sorting out everything you might need.

Thank you for highlighting also the great variety of delicious food on offer in our main restaurant "Alacena Real" and the delicacies our chef prepares in the japanese restaurant "Yamatori" where you can order a la carte.
Just to remind everybody, we have 3 other restaurant a la carte apart from this one, catering to the tastes of all palates. Our food offer goes from typical spanish dishes such as a tapas menú in Las Columnas to international classic such as a saucy beefsteak made to your liking.
Our hotel has won many awards thanks to the renowed gourmet cuisine and thanks to the excellent quality of our service and installations.

In reference to the wifi connection you are right to say that unfortunately in Europe and specifically on the smaller islands it is difficult to get the same high-speed connection as in other countries. We try our best to speed it up, and that is why we decided to install individual routers in each room, the connection is much better now and we are confident it will eventually reach the same standart as elsewhere.

The beach in front of the hotel has been improved also, access to the water is much better than it used to be before this year. Still so on some days we have strong tides and you need to be careful when bathing, no matter which beach you are on. Fuerteventura has an ideal climate all year round and the wind actually is well appreciated on hot days.
Fortunately inside the hotel pool area you will be very comfortable any day of the year as it is sheltered from wind and you will find a sunny corner to boost your suntan or a cool place in the shadow if you like to be outside but not in the direct sun.

Finally we would like to thank you once more for your positive comments and for sharing them here on this public forum.
We hope you will visit us again soon and benefit again from our renowed hospitality.

Kindest regards from sunny Fuerteventura.

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    666
    190
    52
    17
    11
See reviews for
223
518
38
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just got back from a fantastic week’s holiday at the Gran Atlantis Bahia Real in Fuerteventura (4th-11th November 2013).


Firstly, some constructive comments and suggestions to the Management of the Hotel.


1. A hand rail in the bath tub/shower would be most welcome!

2. Evening entertainment very limited, dull and boring and not to our taste. Could do with some talented acts or perhaps have a selection of up-tempo CDs in the form of (HAPPY) background music! Fellow guests we spoke to all said the same that they were also disappointed with the evening “entertainment”.

Podía esto ser abordada por la gerencia por favour - Muchas Gracias!



Now onto our positive review of this hotel.

Check-in was very fast and efficient as we were warmly greeted by Michael on reception and offered drinks (Cava or juice) whilst we waited (briefly) for the bellboy to take our luggage to the room.


Room

We had booked a sea-view deluxe room on half board and requested a double bed and that was exactly what we got!

Our room (328 - 1ST floor) was spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was gorgeous with efficient power shower (hot water every time we needed it). The terrace was huge with comfy chairs. Loads of storage space for clothes.

The bed was Queen size and although had a firm mattress (which suited us) was fine. The pillow menu has a good choice which will suit all guests.

In the bathroom the toiletries are replaced regularly including a box of tissues and bed-linen is changed as and when required by you. The hotel also supplies bathrobes and slippers for all guests.

Mini bar (very expensive).

Flat screen LG television in all rooms with a good selection of English channels.

Fabulous view from the room – watching the waves crashing on to the rocks - brilliant.

The safe in your room is free and also the internet. There is access to the internet in reception (2 computers for guests’ use).


Food

We went on a half board basis and are so glad we did as the food was excellent with so much choice every day. Our favourite was the Ribs which were delicious.

Each evening a themed dinner (Spanish, Tex Mex, Italian, Indian, Chinese etc.) as well as a very good selection of fresh salads and desserts.

Breakfasts had all you could wish for including Smoothies and freshly squeezed juice.


Staff

The service at this hotel is excellent and worthy of its 5 stars. All staff so helpful and polite (special mention to Michael on reception) as he was outstanding with his professional, courteous and good humoured manner.


Spa

The Spa was my favourite. I had a pedicure which was relaxing and the beautician was skilled at her job. I was very pleased with the treatment here.


Swimming Pools

The swimming pool area is tranquil with palm trees and flowers separating the pools. There are 3 swimming pools to choose from (1 for children) and we had no problem in securing sunbeds. Beach towels are available from the desk.


Beach

As you may (or may not) know that all beaches in Spain are public. This means that there is a charge for hiring sunbeds and umbrellas on any beach and directly in front of the hotel this will cost you Euro 10 per day. This is no fault of the hotel.


Trips

We travelled independently and so booked a day trip to Lanzarote with reception at the hotel. The cost was Euro 37 each. This includes lunch on the boat (chicken, salad and a choice of beverage (beer or soft drink). It takes approx. 40 minutes to get there and the boat takes you to Playa Blanca where there is a market. We thoroughly enjoyed this trip (the boat trip over was rather choppy (please read VERY CHOPPY) but worth it when we go to Lanzarote!!

Highly recommend this trip – good value for money. Leave hotel at 10.00 am & return to hotel approx. 5.30 pm.


Entertainment/Nightlife

This hotel is clearly aimed at providing a relaxing environment (which it does perfectly) but we would have preferred some soft background music when relaxing by the pool.

There is no nightlife at the hotel so to speak of! If you require evening entertainment then you may find this in the local town of Corralejo.


Local Town

It’s possible to walk to Corralejo via the sandy beach and scenic route! Depending on your speed (it took us 25 mins at a slow leisurely pace!). Alternatively reception will book a taxi and the cost is Euro 3 one way.

We weren’t keen on the local town as it’s quite run down and in desperate need of a facelift. The new part of town is OK as there are plenty of shops/restaurants, cafes etc. and is clean and tidy but the Old Town is well-worn and would definitely appreciate a paint and spruce up there!


So to sum up we had a lovely holiday here at Hotel Bahia Real and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Without doubt we would return to this lovely hotel sometime soon.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room as the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review with many details on your recent stay with us at the Bahía Real.
It is always interesting for us to read these types of report as they truly give us a concrete idea about how the guest percieved our hotel. We think that perception is really important, and first impressions have a longlasting effect so we always try to give our costumers exactly what they want and even go beyond expectation.

I am very glad to hear that the check in was done in an efficient, polite and smooth manner thanks to the professionalism of the recepcionist Michael, and that you managed to enjoy your holidays right from the start.
As I can see from yor comments you have had a wonderful time and were able to benefit from our fine gastronomy as well as from your confortable room, the pool area with its lovely gardens and our Spa Bahia Vital.
Thank you for your kind appreciation of our effort in delivering an excellent service on a daily basis; this is only possible thanks to our hard working staff. They are the best asset we can have and we are proud of each single one of them.

I also appreciate your comments and suggestions on the different areas of service within our hotel, for example in relation to our evening entertainment program.
We take your opinion into serious consideration and although it is not always possible to suit all tastes we try our best to find musicians that has an excellent background and good acceptation amongst our clientele. We aim to adapt our program to the diferent nationalities we have and it turns out to be a true challenge as we have had guests commenting on how good the musicians are and that we should not change them.

At the Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real we have always kept in mind the original project, that was to create an oasis of tranquility on a beautiful island.
Fuerteventura is a gem and we know why many people come back year after year, we have the ideal climate, beautiful beaches and yes we also have cosy little fishing villages. Corralejo used to be one of them and it still keeps its spirit alive. If you wander the small narrow streets in the old town you will find this spirit. On the other hand the new part of town offers you a lot of choices for entertainment, shopping and many more.
We hope each single traveller will find a spot they fall in love with here on the island and we also hope to be one of those spots for many travellers.

You mention so many different highlights and are enthusiastic in the way you describe our hotel that I trust we will soon see you again at the Bahía Real.

I use the opportunity to send your our most heartfelt THANK YOU in the name of all the staff and we all wish you a Marry Christmas and Happy New Year.
We look forward to meet you again at the Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real in 2014!

Kindest regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Pre-arranged hotel taxi met us at the airport. Warmly greeted at hotel with complimentary drinks. Shown to pre arranged bedroom. Had previously booked restaurants** (4 in total but 3 are only in the evenings).

Free wifi in all rooms but only electric power on occasions did not have sufficient power! Bedroom and bathroom cleaned twice a daily. Linen changed when requested. Breakfast is buffet style to all palettes and make to order eggs & omelettes as well. The smoothies are to die for. The self service buffet changes food themes daily although there are still many choices for children and those who don't like the pre chosen food theme (ie, Spanish, Mexican, International), the fish night was my favourite, the selection of fish was fantastic.

The separate Japanese Restaurant was the best. The show cooking was something else!! The choice of freshly cooked food was just outstanding. All tables of 12 so easy to make friends.

The staff in the entire hotel so friendly and helpful.

The outside pools - one much colder than the other so no takers! Children loved either the baby pool and the warmer pool. Families stayed around the pool as there was a 10€ charge daily for hiring chairs! umbrellas in of the hotel.

A courtesy bus drove to next beach. Much easier to swim there. Facilities for food and toilets are very basic. It is a lovely walk back to hotel if you chose not to opt for a local taxi or courtesy bus.

The evening entertainment is not to all tastes and considering the size of the Hotel was very limited. Nightlife is in Corralejo. We didn't like Corralejo at all, a run down town badly in need of a facelift. We only went in as we had to visit the medical centre several times during our stay.

My ultimate favourite was the Bahia Real Spa. The staff were outstanding. The treatments I had were good although beautician spoke only a little English and I tried with my broken Spanish! The Spa itself was fab. Saunas, steam, jacuzzi and indoor pool all very clean and relaxing.

The only let down was the gym. The equipment looked tired and very worn. The TVs didn't work properly. Not enough staff there to help beginners use the equipment. It needs time and. Ones spending on this room. Never mind building promenades with luxury chairs and looking out at sea and charging guests 30€ daily for this privilege! A second proem dance is to be built in the spring housing a restaurant I believe.

All in all a good holiday and we will return in the hopes that our pre paid taxi back to the airport arrives! This arrived eventually but the front of house manager not so helpful and understanding. I has to prove this by my written e mail confirmation of the prepaid taxi!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a sea view. Pre book restaurants before you go. Book a taxi to and from hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent stay with us at the Bahía Real.
It is a pleasure to learn that you spent a marvellous holiday with us and had a lovely time in our hotel.

We are delighted to find out that you particulary appreciated the warm welcome, the fine gastronomy of our main restaurant "La Alacena Real", and our japanese restaurant “Yamatori” as well as our Spa “Bahia Vital” and the the friendliness of our staff.
Since we strive to maintain and continuously improve our high standards, a positive feedback and suggestions of our guests are of great importance to us.
Hence we have taken into serious considerantion your comments and will do our best to improve our evening entertainment and our gym area.
In fact all of the decisions we take are according to the wishes of our guests, but please understand that it is quite challenging to accommodate to the diferent types of tastes and preferences.

So far we have had very positive feedback on our evening entertainment, especially because in our bar “El Mirador” we have managed to achieve an atmosphere of a place beyond time, where you may spend hours chatting to friends or your partner or just watching the performance of a variety of musicians with a vast repertoire going from classic music to the typical spanish flamenco dance.
Our gym area has recently been improved as we have reviewed the equipement in need of maintenance and invested in new equipments wherever neccesary. We beg your pardon for the TV that was out of order, it has now been fixed. In reference to our staff at the gym we have a monitor there every day unless sundays, but still so our team at the spa reception is at disposal of guests for any doubts they may have.

Also we have improved our wifi connection, individual routers have been placed in each room and the connection is now much better than before.
In reference to the transfer to and from the hotel to the airport please keep in mind that this is usually handeld by the touroperator not directly with us, so to be in order to help you we obviously need to see your confirmation email or service voucher.
I am confident the front house manager did his best to try to help you out, possibly phoning the responsible company to confirm the pick up time.

The beach in front of the hotel has had a face lift ,the accesibilty to the water is way better now and after the changes the general appeal of the beach is remarkable.
Our Chill Out Beach Club has become a favourite amongst our guests, it is the ideal setting for a relaxing day at the sea without compromising on luxury as everything you need is there: a comfortable balibed with curtains for your privacy, a bartender at your service and free magazines and music to go with the chilled atmosphere.

As you see at the Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real we do follow up on our guests feedback and we will continue to work hard in order to achieve a high costumer satifaction.
We are looking forward to your next visit and as always we will offer you our best service with a heartfelt smile.

Kindest regards,


Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Here for 4 days mid November, sea view room. All in all very good and impressive hotel though pricey for this time of year. Staff seem very helpful though haven't had much need, all is as it should be. Would come back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for commenting on your stay on Tripadvisor. We are very glad that you had such a nice time with us and that you were impressed by our service and facilities.
We would love to host you again and if we can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to get in touch with the managment.

Kindest regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire,UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have just come back from a one week stay at the Atlantis Bahia Real Resort in Corralejo in a junior suite. The room was a really good size with a nice sitting area at the rear and a large balcony as all the suites seem to be on the lower floors you don’t have a great view from the balcony when sitting on the chairs (minor moan) the bathroom was a generous size with a nice walk in shower. The only problem we had with the room was when the maid turned the bed down the first night she remove the large bed throw which revealed two single beds, we were most annoyed at this as we had requested a double room at booking if we had not had everything unpacked would have gone back to reception to get room changed

All the staff were very friendly and efficient, we were on bed and breakfast only so for dinner we ate first at the buffet restaurant starters were ok but the vegetables for the mains were all cold and that was only 30 minutes after opening the only hot thing was what you wanted from the grills, so next night we had an early meal in the pool bar I ordered the green vegetable curry and rice, there must have been a bit of problem with the translation as what came was vegetables in a white creamy sauce with not the hint of curry when I went to take a spoon of rice from the bowl I could not get the spoon to lift it out so I put my fork in the rice and the whole bowl of rice came out in one large rubbery lump which looked absolutely revolting needless to say not much was eating. The my wife who ordered the prawns which came on a plate with about 15 prawns on it but after she managed to get them shelled she was left with 7 prawns and a plate of mush, needless to say after that we went into town to eat at night.

The week we arrived, the hotel has started to charge to get into the Spa area of the hotel which we felt what you are paying a night is a bit greedy plus all the other charges for chairs at the beach etc no wonder not many people were not using them.

A lovely hotel great staff but wont be back

Merc

Room Tip: It is not a problem if you don't have sea view as the beach to the water is all rocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your constructive comments in reference your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are determined to keep a high level of satisfaction of our guests and therefor carefully read each review and try to improve our services wherever possible.

In your case we understand from your comments that you were overall very satisfied with the room facilites and the service of our staff. However we are sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with the bed in the room.. It seems you did not fancy to change room as you had already unpacked everything, but I am sure that if you had requested it we would have offered a change as soon as possible according to availability. In any case we are able to prepare the beds as double bed, this means that our maids prepare a special cover so that the beds stay toghether, you will hardly notice any difference.
It is a shame you did not adress the matter to reception as we could have assisted you straightaway.

In reference to our gastronomy we are surprised about your complaint as our hotel has an excellent reputation and has gained many awards specially because of the food quality and we do indeed make sure that the temperature of each meal is the correct.
Some of the vegetables like pickles or italian selection of vegetables and grilled peppers are served cold but we have at least 6 different choices of warm vegetables apart from the soup of the day.

Our roomservice offers a selection of meals to order, the green curry with vegetables and rice is a favourite amongst our guests and so far has had a very good acceptance, I am sure this is an isolated incident and we will make sure this does never happen again. The prawns, always come unpeeled and of course after peeling them the size of them on the plate is smaller.

Entrance to our Spa “Bahia Vital” is subject to paying the entrance fee as it is common practice in all hotels of our category, however we give guests the opportunity to test this service for free as each guest gets an invitation per stay.
The beach in front of the hotel is public as all beaches in Spain are, the use of sunbeds has always been a payable service on the Canary Islands, the prices are affordable considering that we offer top quality sunbeds with windshields, bar service on the beach, shower possiblity in the hotel garden and the access to the walkway on top of the water for swimming.

We would like to apologize sincerely for the inconvenience caused and we would love to host you again at the Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real. Hopefully you will give us another chance to proof we can do better.

We wish you all the best.

Kindest regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid europe
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

amazing hotel with sincerely high quality on everything. yes, it is expensive but, if you compare with hotels such as barcelo corralejo bay which might be a bit cheaper you will get so much more.

hotels in fuerteventura are not known for being without cockroaches bad management or cheating commercial - this is an exception and if you want a relaxing holiday go for this.

and, it is not as snobbish as i thought. very relaxed and sincerely professional.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the inner yead are cheaper but can be noisy from kids in the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we wish to thank you for your friendly review published on Tripadvisor.
This feedback is not only valuable for us but also for other travellers in search of the perfect holiday destination.

We are very happy to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest and that you evaluate our hotel as being worthy of our category and definately a good choice within our price range.

We particulary loved your comments on the relaxed atmosphere despite being a 5 star deluxe hotel. We strive to keep a direct contact with our guest making them feel as confortable as being at home with the difference of being on Fuerteventura. Your opinion reflects that we are doing it the right way and this is the best reward we can have for our hard work.

Your kind words are highly appreciated by all of us!

Once again we wish to thank you for your 5 star review and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is the second time we’ve stayed in the Bahia Real, summer 2008 and this Halloween 2013, both times have been fabulous. The hotel is on the outskirts of Corralejo and would be a 20 to 25 min walk into the town depending on your speed or 5 mins by taxi.

We found the staff to be extremely helpful, they always had a smile and were very courteous.

We stayed on a B&B basis, great breakfasts and big selection, ranging from cooked food, to smoothies, to continental. We had lunch a few times at the pool bar, great food and great staff but can be a little pricy, being on the outskirts there’s no other real options nearby to go for lunch if you want a change of scenery, we found a local bar/restaurant down the road, Corky’s, OK but very basic, but Corky was good craic. We didn’t eat in the hotel any evening, again thought was expensive approx €300 for 8 people not including drinks versus €150 to €200 max in the town including tip & drinks.

I am partially disabled and would only be able to walk limited distances. I found the resort great for access, plenty of ramps down to the pool area but they could have done with a solid handrail on the main ramp, it had a rope rail but I think more for decoration than functionality. I had arranged for a mobility scooter to be delivered to the hotel and there was a bike lane all the way into town I was able to scoot along.

Pool area was lovely, didn’t do the beach as it was very windy. They’ve built a chill out area/platform out into the sea since we were last there, I would say this is more an adult area to escape the families round the pool. All pools were salt water, big pool was freezing, family & kids pool were heated but still cold for this time of the year, kids didn’t seem to mind as they had plenty of fun jumping in and out!!

We stayed in adjoining junior suites with sea view which had a walk in shower, not sure if they have any fully adapted rooms but presume they do. Rooms were fabulous, plenty of space, masses of wardrobe space, which pleased my wife and a great big HD TV which pleased the kids. Small step into shower but no handrails which I could have benefited from but great for fully able bodied persons. Toilet cubicle was a bit tight if you have problems getting up from a seated position, but as said it was not a fully adapted room.

Leave the patio/balcony door open and you can hear the sea crashing onto the shore when you’re in bed at night, love it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guests,

first of all I would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel again as prefered accomodation for your second visit to Fuerteventura.
We always aim to seduce our guests into coming back and therefor we love to keep in touch and update them with any news and improvements that took place in the hotel.
As you have noticed there have been a few positive changes since the last time you visited.
So we are now able to offer a bar service on the beach, a safe access into the water from the platform and a new chill out area that offers more privacy for our costumers.
Our location is as you say set away from the town centre but the main road with shops and restaurants is in fact only 750 metres away. The old town is a bit further ahead, but if you just fancy a walk or a dinner outside the hotel it is pretty easy to reach by foot within few minutes or by a very short taxi ride.
We offer a great selection of fine restaurants in the resort, there is the buffet where you will always find a different theme night and our 4 a la carte restaurants.
We have a japanese, a typical spanish and mediterranean cuisine. So you are actually spoilt for choice, and in any of our restaurants you will find a unique atomosphere and privacy.
Of course you may find cheaper options in town, but please remember that our prices are according to a deluxe 5-star service and ambience and so are the delicacies you will find on our menú. You can taste for example the finest selection of iberian hams, tuna tartar, lobster, garlic prawns from Lanzarote and how about a tiramisu with capuccino foam as a desert? We are sure it will tickle your tastebuds like no other place.
Thank you for your comments on our staff, we will share your comments with them as it is always a huge motivation for them to find out they have done a great job.
In reference to our rooms we like to highlight that we have fully adapted double rooms that are specially indicated for disabled guests. These are located close to reception, on the second floor with seaview and they are available upon request.
Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us directly for your next booking in order to assign you a room according to your needs and preferences.
Thank you for your second visit, we would love to see you again and count you amongst our many loyal repeat costumers.

With friendly regards from the entire team,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real

Address: Avenida Grandes Playas N 103, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#1 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#3 Family Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real 5* GL se encuentra situado en uno de los rincones mas bellos de la isla de Fuerteventura, en primera linea de playa, junto al Parque Natural de las Dunas de Corralejo. El nuevo Coco Beach Chill Out es un lugar unico donde disfrutar en sus camas balinesas de un momento de placer y relax sobre el mar. Un rincon especial donde disfrutar de un cocktail en un ambiente agradable y sofisticado con una ubicacion simplemente magica. La nueva playa del hotel dispone de hamacas, sombrillas y paravientos donde descansar sobre la fina arena blanca y sumergirse en las cristalinas aguas con vistas excepcionales a las islas de Lobos y Lanzarote. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Corralejo
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.