We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Booked last min week at Riu Olivia Beach, 12-19 March, in the main because it was situated right on the beautiful beach. On arrival staff were efficient and friendly, this continued during our week with all staff being helpful and friendly. Some parts of the hotel could do with a little update but no big deal.
Unfortunately booked hastily and then discovered that the Riu didn't provided sun loungers or soft drinks or water on the beach which was a huge disappointment as we wanted a quiet relaxing week just sitting on the beach. We were all inclusive and then had to pay 9 euros a day for 2 sun loungers and parasol, we were also stopped by security from taking a plastic glass of water on the beach. There are a couple of beach bars selling drinks but would have expected all inclusive to provide this, like other Riu Hotels around the world including Jamaica. Sadly won't being going back or recommending util the Riu Olivia Beach make some changes. Would also have expected 4 star hotel to provide free internet in reception.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    822
    317
    108
    46
See reviews for
560
1,077
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

this is a fab hotel,it ticks along like well oiled machine as far as i,m concerned,dated and tired said some of the reviews ,traditional i,d say.if you booked in hotel in this country with the dark wood furniture and carpets you'd pay top wack,staff could.nt do enough to help you,tables were kept clean at all times ,you never had to wait for a drink if ther were more than 2 people waiting they would bring your drink over,and they remembered what you had last time,great personal service,the rooms immaculate,hoovered,polished every day,clean towels each day,needed 2 extra pillows put into the room minutes later,the food and drink wwas very good ,and you can book into 2 other restaraunts on the coplex, entertainment topclass and the other bars had singers in aswell, just a exceptional holiday all round,and god blessed us with lots of sunshine.

Room Tip: 252 is good not to sunny or hot,and easy to use stairs if lifts are busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Oliva Beach hotel for a week in March.This was our second visit to this hotel and we had a great time.Emailed hotel a couple of weeks before we arrived to let them know it was my wife's birthday during our stay.On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded to a better room and also on my wife's birthday she received a bottle of bubbly and some sweets.Hotel areas were clean and there was a good variety of food and drink.Room was cleaned every day.The staff were friendly and helpful.If you want a great hotel in a beautiful location then this is the one for you.Cannot wait to go back in June.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Lovely hotel with friendly staff, food good, very clean and they are cleaning all the time, evening entertanment not so good, could do with decorating but other than that lovely place. I would go again

Room Tip: We had an apartment in the gardens across from the main building which was very good, you could go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have just returned from our 3rd visit to Riu Oliva beach and are delighted to say we once again our stay very much. On arrival we were given a room with 2 floors, the curtains didnt really block out the sun for first thing in the morning and although the room was lovely and spacious we would prefer to have a little lay in in the mornings, we asked if it would be possible to change rooms, it was no bother at all and we were moved within a hour.
The food was lovely and plenty to chose from and the waitress staff work really hard constantly. We prefered to eat in the annex restaurant as it was a bit quieter.
The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard. The beds were comfortable although somewhat noisy each time you move slightly.
The beach is beautiful but a bit windy but thats to be expected here.
We ate out once in corralejo at the Steak House, which served a perfect steak and service was excellent.
Coffee machines dont get turned on until 10.30am after breakfast has finished, but you can get a coffee in the restaurant.
We also went for a massage and spa at the Barcelo Hotel in corralejo, a price of 42 euros to enjoy a massage of your choice and all day in the water circuit spa.
Wifi is available to purchase, it was 2 euros for a hour and 20 euros for the week, it was a bit slow but did the job.
They no longer give out free bottles of water, however we purchased one bottle and were free to fill it up constantly from the restaurants and bars.
The safe is located in your room and there is no charge for this.
We had a lovely stay once again and hope to return again later in the year.

Room Tip: 2109 was quiet and had a view of the sand dunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have just returned from a week at this Riu and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had read the reviews so e-mailed the hotel requesting a pool view room on 5th floor and this is exactly what we got. The views across the pool and out to the sea and sand dunes are amazing !!

The food is good, lots of choices and extremely friendly staff in the restaurant at all times

The hotel is a little dated in places but for the price you pay you cannot complain, our room was cleaned to an exceptional standard and very comfortable.

We were lucky to have very good weather and the wind was not too bad but it can get a little chilly at night.

Overall if you want a relaxing week away in the early part of the year then this is ideal, my only negative is that the English are very outnumbered by the Germans who can be quite rude at times and the entertainment is geared towards them !

Would I return - probably yes as it is a great price for a weeks all inclusive break !

Room Tip: Ask for pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My Wife and I booked this hotel at quite short notice.. We have stayed at a number of Riu Hotels in the past.. We have always said that we would like to re-visit all of the Riu hotels we have stayed at. But this one .. we would definitely return to and this is why. Is this the best Riu ?.. No .. It needs some care and attention.. cracked tiles and some painting.... but it is extremely clean and the staff instantly on top of any issue. It is in some respects a bit tired. However .. the staff are amazing .genuinely interested in you and your day.. The facilities are are good and well maintained ..the bars clean friendly and inviting. The food is excellent and plentiful.. there are between 12 and 16 different main choices.. but here lays the the issue. I take issue with any one who says it becomes samey... If you try every choice it will become samey .. be sensible and not trough out... I am always peed off with those Mc Nugget chommering baphoons who say the food is poor when I doubt very much that they are exposed to choice this and other all inclusive hotels offer... on the same subject it is said that the drinks are diluted .. have 2 then or 3 or 10 knock yourselves out..you've paid... There is a cross breeze ..it says so in the brochure.. If you into areas with no shade but is braced from the wind you will fry.. I have stayed at better but won't get back.. here yep i will go back.. if your expectations are good food and drink, clean environment, helpful friendly "genuine" staff.. probably excellent weather (with a breeze)... then this is the place for you... if they are in some way higher.. or you want burgers and kiss me quick hats then it isn't.. Cracking Holiday the staff make it.... er Mr Riu give these troops and troopess'e a big thank you .. one neg you say private beech it isn't.. 3 euros per bed and 3 per umbrella...naughty ... but the hotel complex is good enough to make a walk along the beautiful beech a must..... Best Riu.. No..... worst ... far from it .. be realistic .. you probably got a deal on this gem any way... see you guys next year.. or in Oct

Room Tip: You want sea.sun food, drink, service this the place for you .. Oh you want 6 stars .. book it .. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Address: Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Corralejo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#10 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km from Corralejo. 7-storey main building and 2-storey and 3-storey annexes, surrounded by a 35,000 m2 garden, Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach, 5 km from various shops, 35 km from the airport, 200 m from a bus stop, Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Corralejo
Riu Oliva Beach
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.