We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just back from one weeks holiday here, had a fantastic time, Hotel very clean, food great plenty of choice, staff very friendly, entertainment could be better, but had choice of another bar to go to. Stayed in the annex which was a very large room, very clean, fridge a bonus. Plenty of areas to relax in, will be going again. Setting brilliant right on the beach. Would definitely recommend this Hotel, ignore all the negative comments and see for yourself, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    822
    318
    108
    46
See reviews for
560
1,078
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have been to fuerterventura many times and spent time on the beach near to the riu hotels on the natural park.
I like many others that have written on here was slightly apprehensive in regards what to expect .
I need not have worried because it was a lovely relaxing break.
I can't really understand why people moan about this hotel.
I have been to very up market hotels and yes it's needs updating but you really cannot fault the food or the staff.The staff work so hard and the food would probably more varied if some people did not pile on every selection of food on the first mealtime. :).
The check in was super quick and informal which suited us.There was no rowdy Brits which again suited us.My two teenagers loved it .I think they will join in with more activities next time.
We have been to other Riu,s and this was is more in need of an update but it was fine.
I am very fussy but I would recommend it if you want a chilled non stuffy stuck up holiday.
I noticed that some people criticised the fact there were loads of noisy children running around.Al I can say to them is is GO NEXT DOOR
I ami returning in April for two weeks and expect to return home as chilled out as I did in October.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annexe with sun on the balcony.If you want a beach view boo the hotel high flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed one week with my family and had a great time. very friendly staff all of them, reception, chefs, entertainment, bartenders, waiters and so on.
the shows was not that good but they did their best to entertain. a bit to far away from a city for my taste but amazing position on the national park beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed in the Olivia Beach resort 30th October - 6th November, booked with Thomson. We stayed in the appartments in the "annexe" area of the resort which was like a mini village a few minutes walk from the main hotel building. Upon arrival (at 9pm) we were told that we were to have late dinner at 10pm and could drop off our bags etc in the meantime. We arrived at our apartment and couldn't believe the size of it - massive! A living area with a fridge then upstairs to a bedroom, bathroom and wardrobe. The only down side was that it was in need of refurbishment. The room was arranged with twin beds however upon asking reception it was quickly rearranged to a double bed configuration. We returned for dinner at 10 to be served with a cold salad plate - was hoping for something a little more substantial.

We spent most days relaxing by the hotel pool between taking part in the various activities run by the including french bowls, shooting etc. I was usually the only British person taking part and seemed to be more popular with the German speaking tourists but it was fine! The poolside snack bar had the usual selection of burgers, hot dogs, pizza, toasties etc which were average most drinks were self-service with the exception of cocktails. The beach was really impressive but we only popped out of the resort to use it.

The evening entertainment was mainly held in the main stage where there was a nightly show performed by the animation team. We found some it a bit hit and miss - a couple of good shows but we also left part way through a couple of them.

There were 2 buffet style restaurants on site - we used them for breakfast and dinner most of the time. The food was reasonably good and was impressed with the amount of cooking stations. Even fried eggs were cooked in front of you! We ate in the mandarin restaurant one evening hoping it would be something a little nicer, however it was really just glorified buffet - we still had to help ourselves to all the food and the quality was about the same as the buffet restaurant, on that basis we didnt book to eat in the other restaurant (canarian).

The drinks were good however sometimes quite strong! Decent selection of cocktails on the menu and the bar staff were happy to make people custom cocktails as long as the ingredients were available. The beer was ok.

The hotel was kept quite clean at all times and we would regularly see staff cleaning during the day. The pool toliets were sometimes a bit smelly though but nothing worse than experienced elsewhere.

We visited Corralejo town a couple of times, lots of bars and shops and a nice harbour area. Bus is 1.60 Euro and takes about 10 minutes. We got a taxi back one evening after staying out for food and drinks one evening and it cost about 7 Euro.

Normally we would do an organised trip round the area however on this occasion I thought I'd be a bit more adventurous - I hired a car and drove round several of Fuerteventura's landmarks - Pajara (where we lunched), Ajuy where theres the islands only black sanded beach and the impressive Betancuria National Park - a driving experience in itself round its mountain track - just watch out for the squirrels if you stop to admire the scenery!

Overall a good trip. I'd definitely visit Fuerteventura again in the autumn and I'd probably stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location of this hotel is outstanding with a great beach and dune area.
we had a room in the man block which was fairly small but the beds were very comfortable, the room did its job very well. the view was stunning from the balcony.
the food was OK at best, we were only there for a week and it was pretty much the same day in day out with minor variations.
the entertainment was OK, the dancers tried very hard but it was still a bit corny.
in general the staff were as they are in other Riu hotels we have stayed in, very helpful, polite and professional.
a trip down town is a must for a meal while there, there is a great Chinese called Asian Garden and another worth a visit is Waikiki.
Glad we went but would not return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Have just returned from a two week break. Hotel has an excellent position on the large sandy beach and dunes. Sunbeds 3 euros each and the same for a brolly, could be expensive for a family.Pool areas can get very crowded and you may find you have to work your way around the sunbeds. Towels are out from 5am in spite of the hotel requesting guests not to do it. Food not the best, but o.k., very boring after one week. Staff very friendly and helpful, all areas very clean but looking a bit tired. Air con switched off even though it was still very hot, had to keep balcony doors open for a breeze but could not sleep due to late night drinkers by the pool, moved on by security at 2am after complaints. All in all a pleasant hotel for a short cheap break.

Room Tip: If staying in the main hotel, be sure to have a pool facing room nearest to the beach, wonderful vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Beach and dunes by the hotel are excellent, although you have to pay 9 euro for sunbeds and parasol per day and cannot take food/drinks from hotel onto beach. This was not a problem for us as we filled a couple of bottles of water each day at Breakfast. You can also rent a kettle for your room for 10 euro per week which saves all the messing about smuggling cups to your room every morning. The food was nice and we thought there was a decent variety. Very clean throughout and our room (we stayed in the annex) was spacious, clean and beds were comfortable and it was very peaceful. There seemed a lot for kids to do so great place for families. Staff were very friendly and helpful so all in all a good hotel but very big. Be warned though, Corralejo is the windiest resort in Fuerteventura.

The guests were majority German holiday makers, hardly any English (less than 10%) and very popular with the older generation, although they were in good spirits and not at all grumpy. We felt young in our early forties. Evening entertainment not great but it never is at these large hotels.

Room Tip: ask for room in annex away from restaurant if you want quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Address: Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Corralejo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#10 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km from Corralejo. 7-storey main building and 2-storey and 3-storey annexes, surrounded by a 35,000 m2 garden, Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach, 5 km from various shops, 35 km from the airport, 200 m from a bus stop, Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Corralejo
Riu Oliva Beach
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.