We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

we went here in september 2011 as a family of 10 - and it was a brilliant holiday. The food was its usual excellent standards for the Riu group - with hundreds of choices, the rooms were cleaned daily and the bars in the evening were serving until 2am. The staff were really friendly and even let 2 of our party serve their own drinks one night . The beach was a step away from the hotel, and the 2 pools and jaccuzi was fabulous. I would certainly return there and recommend anyone to visit.

Room Tip: it there is a large party of you stay in the annexes - the pool is less busier and theres more chanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    822
    318
    108
    46
See reviews for
560
1,078
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed here from 5-19th October. We travelled with our 19 month old son and auntie. We wanted a relaxing holiday in a hotel with nice food and drink and a good beach for our little boy and that's what we got. We researched the hotel on tripadvisor before booking so we new what we were getting before we arrived. The hotel is located approx 5km out of Corralejo, it is isolated but you can get a taxi into the resort for 7 Euros or bus at 1.20 Euros. Corralejo is ok, the harbour is nice but the rest of the resort is a bit tacky, bit like blackpool in the sun. The hotel represents excellent value for money. We stayed in the main hotel on the 6th floor overlooking the pool. The sea view was amazing. The room was good, yes it could do with updating but it was spotlessling clean and very comfortable, just like the pictures in the brochure. We did a few issues with our air-conditioning (it didn't blow cold air!) which we got sorted in the end after a few complaints at reception. The main hotel public areas were fine, 70's/80's decor, old fashioned but again spotlessly clean.

We dined in both the main hotel and annexe restaurants, both good. Good choice of food, show cooking at breakfast, lunch, dinner. Breakfast is either continental with good choice of breads, cheese, ham, salads, pastries, cakes or the usual boiled, scrambled, fried eggs, sometimes bacon, franfurters, beans, pancakes. Once or twice they served fresh omelletes. Lunch and dinner, there was always a very good choice of salads, fresh fish, chicken, pork, veg, croquettes, pasta and the quality was always good. You could get burgers if you wanted but didn't try them. At dinner there would be a carvery on in both buffet restaurants. I would say the desserts weren't brilliant but ok, icecreams were gorgeous. We did book in both of the speciality restaurants, the Mandarin (asian restaurant) was lovely with a good choice of food. The Canarian, didn't particularly enjoy, food was just ok. There were two dining slots in the speciality restaurants 6.30pm and 8.30pm. We were told you had to book at 8am to secure a table for the following evening, when I called at 8.02am I was informed the 8.30pm slot was fully booked so I booked the following morning at 7.45am and managed to get a table! I then heard that some people were being told to book at 7am, far too early to get up even with a baby!. The drinks were self service in the main buffet restaurants (water served by staff) but drinks were served to you in the speciality restaurants. The staff worked very hard and were always pleasant.

During the first week they put on a paella and sangria lunch which was excellent, very good quality. Also during the first week we had mussels, prawns at lunch and dinner and smoothies in the morning. Not sure why this wasn't served the second week, maybe it was due to capacity/budgets.

We didn't eat at the pool bar/snack bar it never looked that appealing, ok if you like pizza, burgers etc. you could get salad as well. I believe they served afternoon tea and we did see some people with cakes which looked nice. The snack bar mixed lovely cocktails though.

The drinks throughout the hotel we had were of a good standard. The wine was ok for all inclusive, although we only tried the white and rose. The beer on tap was Cruzcampo which was also good. We had a few g&t's, pina coladas, brandy's all of which were of a good standard and not watered down. Good choice of coffees, hot chocolate from the self service machines. In the evenings there were a few bars around where drinks were served by bar staff. After our meal we would have a walk around the grounds and then we would sit outside with a coffee and brandy and our son asleep in his buggie. I believe there is a quiet room where you can go to enjoy a drink if you are not able to sit outside due to weather.


We spent our days on the amazing beach which our 20 month old loved. It cost 9 euros for 2 sunbeds and a parasol. The sea was rough on some days but good fun probably not suitable for young children learning to swim or gain confidence in the water. We didn't sit around the pool but there was the issue with the sunbeds/towels. We thought Annexe apartments looked run down in certain areas and defnintely could do with a refurbishment.

We didn't see the entertainment but the room/area was always busy. There appeared to be a good entertainment programme throughout the day for children/adults. The hotel was very busy whilst we were there with mixed nationalities, German, French, Spanish, Dutch, English.

I would say this is a good solid 3 solid star all inclusive hotel appealing to ALL ages, representing excellent value for money. First Choice market it as a 4 star premier which it definitely isn't and I think if you are going with that expectation you may well be disappointed.

All in all we had a lovely relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool offers better sea view and sun on the balcony. A higher floor would be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed here for a week from 19 Oct,just before the kids holidays but there was still a few around and come the friday & saturday it was full, but that didnt bother us as we have 2 boys & we understand & the hotel is catered for families, our holiday was very relaxing just what we both wanted.The weather was great and we spent everyday at the beach, the best beach I have ever seen, better than Egypt & Turkey. The sea is a bit rough so I would be careful of children playing on their own, you will need to watch them as the waves can be high at times, but what great fun for the kids (& adults) in the blow up rubber tyres and body boards. The food was ok, soup, meats, veg, pasta, curry, rice and of course Chips!! There is something for everyone. You help yourself to drinks in the dinner hall and sometimes the hall was packed, but we would go to breakfast at 8.30/9am & it was fine, evening we'd go about 8.30/9pm, we wouldnt leave the beach unitl 6pm and as you can see there isnt any need to rush around. We dont go on holiday for the evening entertainment so I cant really comment on that, but the hall looked full whenever we walked passed & the kids were always entertained from what we could see and hear. We went into town a couple of nights just for a change, as you dont have anything around the hotel but we knew this before we went so dont take this as a moan. The taxi into town is about 6.50euro, the bus is 1.10euros each. We had a meal when we was in town,which was starters main and drinks (vodka mixer's and larger's) roughly cost about £45 in total we didnt think that was too bad. Our room was in the main hotel and we was on the other side to the pool room 354 it had a sea view but we didnt get any sun on the balconey at all, also there isnt a light on any of the balconies so if you like to read in the evening you wont be able to,, or do what I did and put the tall light behind the blackout curtain. There is a nudeist section on that beach, it has a green flag to show where it starts and ends, but everyone to their own, we did go and have a walk along that part of the beach but just for the crack of it!!! This hotel is great value for money, but would I stay here again, maybe not, as I felt that it was a bit too big for us and at times and it did feel a bit like Butlins. (sorry) I know I have given this hotel a 3 rating but I would say it is a 3+.

Room Tip: if you want sun on your balconey you need to be on the pool side in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed here early October and had a good time. We had a room in the annexe which was actually two rooms - a sitting room with sofa, tv and dining table with patio doors opening onto balcony and then upstairs a bathroom, bedroom - again with patio doors opening onto another balcony !

We were only there for a week so didn't get fed up with the food, I can imagine if you stay for two weeks it could become a bit repetative. We tended to eat in the hotel restaurant as there seemed to be less children there. Even though it was early October (start of new school year) it surprised us how many children were on holiday there. Don't get me wrong, I'm not anti kids - had two of my own.

The beach is fantastic, although the sea can have some big waves and strong currents at times.

The only negative worth noting is the fact that the whole complex - hotel and annexe - needs a refurb.

I've rated this hotel three out of five, but overall our holiday would be 4 because of the beach and the other parts of the island we visited.

Room Tip: If you want the extra space ask for a room over in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset. England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Just arrived back from a chilaxing week at the Oliva. Having read all the reviews before we were therefore made aware of all "pitfalls" which made it easier for us. From our perspective yes the rooms are tired, but we did not go to spend time in them, we had the bungalows 2153/4, 2 adults, 2 teenage girls. Yes, there is a nudist beach to the right of the hotel, but you don't have to look. We watched a few of the shows, again you don't have to watch them, there are plenty of areas to sit and relax while taking a drink. The card tables are a real bonus. We did enjoy the Jackson tribute, 3 chaps brought in, not the hotels staff. We just loved the big waves and had so much fun, but the sea was calm a couple of days. Liked the idea of leaving your shoes before going on to the beach. We left all our belongings on the sunbeds and every thing was fine. We all walked the most gorgeous soft sandy beach for an hour each morning, with the glorious setting, the only other hotel in view being the sister to the Oliva. The staff work really hard and could not have been more helpful, the cleaner went out of her way to not just clean but tidy the teenagers room. The sunbathing areas were plentiful, you shouldn't save the sunbeds but we learnt you have to after the 1st day, and it worked out ok. Lots of different nationalities not just Germans, we did not have any issues with anyone, or noise in the evenings. This is a very good value for money hotel, and we all said we would return one day.

Room Tip: If you want quiet choose the bungalows away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I would advise anyone who wants a relaxing holiday to go here, the food was brilliant, beach stunning, pool a bit boring but ok. Entertainment was not that good but the Jackson tribute was ok. There is a disco but a bit dingy lol. The buffet was amazing with excellent choices and variaty every day....the only downfall on this holiday was TOMPSON the reps were not at all interested in talking to us or giving any info. Looking to go again but not with them as very disappointed with the service. all in all a great 4 night break in a lovely place. The town was a 6 euro taxi away, to the market and shops. Not anything to do around hotel as its in middle of sand, but beautiful place. Unfortunatly no water sports either.

Room Tip: ask for quiet side which doesnt overlook pool but still has sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from Riu Oliva Beach. In a very quiet location on a superb beach. Couldnt really swim in the sea due to the big waves that can knock you down in an instance. Beware, not far from the hotel is a nudist beach. This is fine if they stay in that area. On one occasion an elderly gentleman decided to do a jog down the beach letting it all hang out. I am no prude but there were small children about at the time.
The hotel does need updating but is very clean.
Having been on holiday to Egypt a few times recently, the staff in the Riu could do with some lessons from them in friendliness and manners. We found some of the staff especially reception could be quite abrupt.
Now the meals. The food in general was quite good, apart from soggy undercooked bacon. However if you went in early for dinner, it felt like feeding time at the zoo. It was very crowded. Drinks are self service and if you end up sitting at the back, you are up and down trecking across the dining room for everything. The speciality restaurants are a joke. I went to book at reception to be told that you have to book at 7am on the previous day to ensure a place. I'm sorry but i thought that i was supposed to be on holiday, not getting up at 7am to book a restaurant. When I questioned this, I was told 'well we only have 27 tables and there are 2000 guests in the hotel. Well im sorry but my maths tell me that they need a bigger restaurant.
Dont think I would return to this hotel. The Riu Vistamar in Gran Canaria is much better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Address: Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Corralejo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#10 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km from Corralejo. 7-storey main building and 2-storey and 3-storey annexes, surrounded by a 35,000 m2 garden, Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach, 5 km from various shops, 35 km from the airport, 200 m from a bus stop, Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Corralejo
Riu Oliva Beach
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.