We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in Tres Islas, Fuertaventura - August 2011” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Grandes Playas | Corralejo - Fuerteventura, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Holiday in Tres Islas, Fuertaventura - August 2011”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We are both of senior age, so this review is based on that standpoint. This was our second venture onto the island, after enjoying an excellent stay the year before in Jandia (Fuertaventura Princess) in the south. Yet again, the Riu Tres Islas really is an excellent ( but pricey) hotel, this time in the very north of the island. The rooms, facilities, food and service were second to none. All rooms are air conditioned. Evening entertainment not quite on par with the previous hotel in Jandia, but nevertjeless we spent many happy, relaxed hours at the bar listening to what was provided. A comfortable, well appointed hotel with an excellent service standard. Yes - there were Germans - hundreds of 'em and yes- you had to get up very early to select the best sunbeds, but hey, isn't that half the 'fun' of a holiday abroad? (NOT). Beautiful hotel grounds and pools, very well kept and clean, adjacent to a beautiful stretch of golden, sandy beach. We stayed half board and were delighted with the variety of food (buffet style) and service from the staff and the times it was available to us. A separete A la Carte restaurant is also available. There were ample water sports to be enjoyed by those who like them and these seemed to prove very popular each day. There was a charge levied on the adjoining beach per day for the hire of sunbeds and brollies, which of course were free inside the hotel grounds. Wi-fi had to be paid for on a daily basis (9€ per day), and the internet desktop PC's in the hotel were coin-operated (1€ for 20 mins). Satellite TV is free in all rooms but has only 2 or 3 English speaking channels (God Bless BBC News 24) and many German and Spanish Channels
The surrounding towns and harbours are exactly what you would expect to see on such an island going further towards the equator - a bit basic, brown caste and scenery everywhere, lots of unfinished dwellings and shops/complexes along every road, (which had apparently in some cases remained so for many years due to failure of the construction companies), barren land and fields, dusty, very hot, quite pricey in the bars and restaurants, and not a lot of variety in what, surprisingly were very 'empty' shopping centres once inside the towns, just a few tourists each time we visited (different times of the day). Many of the shops were typical tourist-type offering a variety of 'tacky' tmementos, with the better quality merchandise being found inside the larger shopping malls. A bit like Blackpool front but with much better weather and better bars and restaurants (You may have gathered we are not great fans of the 'islands' themselves, nor the immediate surroundings in which the hotels are located, they are all too often drab, dull and very little to see, except if you stay close to, or look at the coast itself and the sea which is absolutely lear and beautiful). We booked many (expensive) trips out to explore the island again, but in the end, based mainly on feedback from those in the hotel who had been before, opted to remain for several of the days in the comfort of the hotel, by the pool, on the beach, in the gardens, on the terraces. From that standpoint alone it really was a great relaxing, really comfortable hotel holiday and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pools and go for at least the second floor - amazing views across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    261
    59
    15
    3
See reviews for
171
537
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We choose this hotel after reading all the reviews. All the good reports were true. This is a very good hotel with very well trained staff, nothing too much trouble for any of them.Rooms are clean and comfortable although as others have previously reported the beds are very hard, soon after arrival we asked for mattress toppers for the beds and this made a huge difference to the comfort of the beds.
The hotel is situated in a wonderful position right on the beautiful beach golden sands with turquoise sea just stunning :)
The only down side was whilst the food was very good it was not hot enough which is often the problem with buffet style food. The evening entertainment was not up to much. The television in the rooms was tiny, unusual in this new digital age!
If you are after a chilled out holiday in a good hotel with good service then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This hotel was superb but it has to be said that the vast number of German guests made our dining experiences uncomfortable as they showed no manners whatsoever. (Unlike the two lovely German friends we made in Egypt). The food was superb and plenty for everyone. The hotel was on a beautiful beach and the pool area was lovely with ample sunbeds but mostly empty with towels on them. There room had double wardrobes so there was plenty of space for clothes.
Unfortunately, the beach was ruined by the fact there were tonnes of jelly fish, the water was cold and choppy. Although one of the pools was supposed to be heated, it was freezing but ok once you eventually made it in. I managed to get into it twice in a week.
The entertainment was outside so because it was cold and windy, we never sat outside to waitress service for the bar. We were about 15 minutes taxi ride from Correlejo but not terribly impressed. Took a ferry trip to Lanzarote which took 30 mins and was very nice.
Overall, for me the holiday was disappointing because the sea and pools were too cold so perhaps we just chose the wrong time of year to go. Couldn't fault the hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We decided to choose this hotel for our honeymoon (28 of March - 04 of April 2012) after reading all the great reviews and especially after looking at the photos of the marvelous sand dunes.
Fortunately for us, all the good things were true - after arriving at Fuertaventura we found ourselves in this amazing national park with a very impressive view from our window.

As our overall impression was very positive, I'd like to list the good things first:
1) Food. Great choice of everything, I was especially impressed by seafood and various meats for dinner and fresh juices for breakfast. You will find buffet style in the main restaurant and ala carte in a small restaurant called Crystal, which is an absolute must visit.
2) Location. Since the hotel is situated in a national park, obviously, the views around it are very impressive, the contrast of golden sand and turquoise water is absolutely striking. The hundreds of reviewers were absolutely right naming this place one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.
3) Friendliness of staff. Everybody is very nice and willing to help, however not knowing Spanish I sometimes struggled trying to explain something.
4) Territory. There are two Jacuzzis and three swimming pools, many sun beds which were not overcrowded. Palm trees create enough shade for those who don't want to sit in the sun. Overall impression - very nice.

There wasn't anything that really put us off, but there were some little things I personally found a bit frustrating. For example, both our agency and ourselves informed the hotel that it was our honeymoon so I expected if not some special treatment but at least some recognition of it. Instead we were placed in a room with two separate beds which (apart from the dunes and the ocean) overlooked a parking lot which apparently contained trash storage and some noisy mechanism (ventilation system or perhaps a generator). Every morning at 5 a.m. the noisy mechanism was turned on and a truck came to pick up the trash, so we heard not only the beautiful "music" of the ocean, but also a lot of unwanted noises.

To be fair upon arrival we did find a bottle of bubbly and a note saying "happy anniversary" which was very nice and gave us some laugh as we kept joking that we were celebrating our first anniversary after just one day being married.

What this hotel could really improve is the quality of desserts and pastries - it was quite a contrast compared to the great choice of salads and mains. Our room and the corridor were a bit 'tired' and could do with refurbishment and renovation, however the lobby and reception area did look very impressive.

Cutting the long story short, I wouldn't advise this hotel to honeymooners, but it's a nice place for a calm and quiet holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at the RIU Palace Tres Islas for a week in April. The hotel’s stunning location on a small rocky headland astride two beautiful white sand beaches set in the middle of a national park, is its greatest asset, with turquoise sea’s this is certainly the place to come and just chill out. This really is the best location in Corralejo.

From the pool terrace take a left towards the Spa, Gym & Wellness Centre and you make your way out onto the quieter beach, during our stay this was the least populated beach, some days only about 10 -15 people within 5 mins of the hotel grounds, and it seems perfectly acceptable if you wish to sunbathe nude. This beach has great views over to Lobos and Lanzarote, but does tend to catch the wind. A beach bar sells drinks, ices and minimal food. Beach loungers and sun umbrella’s only cost 3 euro’s each. Further up the beach, towards town this area tends to attract kite boarding and surf dudes, which tends to be a busier area. You can walk up into coast into Corralejo in about 45 mins

Walk past the two swimming pools and down onto the other beach, this is busier with families from the RIU Club Hotel located about 400 metres away, again this beach stretches for miles down the coast, walk past the areas with sun beds, and you start to enter the nudist area, (the stone circles being the identification point) with the gay beach further down the beach, in and around the sand dunes.
Set back from the coast amongst the dunes are a couple of beach bars serving these areas.

The pool terrace was pretty well sheltered from the winds, with plenty of sun beds and a pool towel service provided in the morning.

The bedrooms at the hotel are a reasonable size, with lots of wardrobe and storage space, with 2 easy chairs, a minibar & flatscreen TV showing English/American programmes you are well catered for, however tea/coffee making facilities are not provided. Pay extra for a sea view room it is worth the extra & request a high floor room. The bathrooms are clean and equipped with bidet, but no separate shower cubicle, the shower is over the bath, but the pressure was pretty good so it’s not much of an issue.
The main downside being the beds are very, very hard and the pillows a bit thin.

The food in the restaurant is of very good, 2 choices of soup, great salad/cold meat/fish buffet, and a very good choice of hot dishes including show cooking, a good selection of deserts, ice creams and fresh fruit, cheese & biscuits are also offered on the buffet. However the waiters seemed to want to rush you & clear plates away, whether this was because we were on the later 8.30 sitting for dinner, and they wanted to finish, who knows? but this did detract from the service.
Last year we stayed at the RIU Palace Maspalomas and we felt that the service at this hotel was far superior, (they served the cheese course to you at the table, and there was an option for an a la carte main choice served at the table, superior waiters). The breakfast was of a good standard, but repetitive, again the RIU Palace Maspalomas scored better, by offering a far greater choice of fruit juices and fresh fruit.

Entertainment at the hotel was very repetitive and this where the hotel needs to dramatically improve, virtually every night of our stay, “Enrique, Niya & Me” churned out the same songs!
There was an ABBA tribute band… who was OK, jugglers etc with the best act being Soulamenco (a sort of soul/ flamenco/dance group) who were very good. However everything had finished by 11.00pm, consequently there was no atmosphere in the bar after about 11.15pm. The hotel needs to cater for those who like to stay up a little later.

The staff on reception are very helpful and the staff, maids are friendly.

A small supermarket is about 8 mins walk located on the main road by the bus stop into town; you can buy basics here, drinks, nibbles, sun cream etc.

It is easy to get a taxi into Corralejo, (about 7 or 8 euro’s at night) however the resort is not the most attractive and in some areas quite run down, nightlife tends to be centred in shopping centres, so don’t go into town with huge expectations! Fuerteventura is not the prettiest of islands.

There are a huge amount of repeat clients at this hotel, some who have been coming for 20 years + therefore that is recommendation in itself, however tweaks could be made to improve standards of service in the restaurant, the beds and the entertainment, not withstanding these comments it is a good hotel and with the best location in the resort, so if you want a quiet holiday just relaxing and chilling, this is an ideal hotel.

Room Tip: Request high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, U.K.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We have had two marvellous holidays at the Tres Islas. The staff are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble. We were so well looked after it is hard too describe. The hotel is spotless, the food is beautiful and always fresh. although it is mostly buffet style, except for a small restaurant which you can eat at for no extra cost, you never return to your table to find the plates from the previous course. There are a selection of pools including one which is heated with a pool bar serving snacks and drinks during the day. The beach is on the same level as the hotel so no steep slope to negociate down to the beach, then seven kilometres of beach to walk along one way and three or so the other way.
We are going again this year and can't wait to get there. I have never been to a hotel where I feel so much at home.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room all you have to do is ask to look at any that are free and you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Riu Palace Tres Islas is a good hotel in an unbeatable location.

The hotel was built by Franco many years ago, hence it stands in the middle of a national park in the moste beautiful beach in Corralejo, Fuerteventura. Such huge constructions, standing only a few meters away from the beach and in the middle of a national park are strictly forbidden and unthinkable of today.

The hotel is in the middle of 2 beaches:
- to the north you have Flag beach: awesome for kite and windsurfing. The beach has beautiful views to Lobos and Lanzarote island.
- to the south a beautiful beach shared by 2 hotels full of hammocks. Much more touristy and less windy.

We visited the 3 islas during easter holidays, and our plan was to kiteboard at flagbeach, however we only had 2 good days. The rest of the days were spent at the beach / pool reading a book and just relaxing.

The other hotel guests were 90% german and 10% british, age average above 65 yrs old. Such old average meant that all the hotels activities are geared towards an older population: there are daily music and magic shows at night, all of them end at 23:00.

Breakfast is fantastic, offering a huge selection of fruits, breads, beverages and eggs.
Dinner is really good: the buffet is huge and has 20 or 30 different main meals to choose from. The salad bar and desert area are huge with dozens of choices available.
Drinks are not included, and wine will cost you approx. 20€ per bottle.

The room is spacious and clean. The TV is super tiny (19" LED) and the decoration is old-fashioned. The bed is big, bit the pillows are a bit old and thin. We did get extra pillows delivered immediately after we asked though. The mini-bar is quite expensive (2,50€ for a small beer), however we had no problem stuffing it with our own drinks which we purchased at the supermarket.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas

Address: Avda Grandes Playas | Corralejo - Fuerteventura, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#3 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 5 km from Corralejo * Renovated in summer 2007 * 5-storey building * Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach * 5 km from various shops * 35 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tres Islas Hotel Corralejo
Riu Palace Tres Islas Corralejo
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.