We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alisios Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alisios Playa to your Saves list
Alisios Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Gran Canaria, Bis no.1, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Newbury Berkshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The rooms were great and clean although I had no ll roll for 3 days I had a leak in the bathroom ceiling 24hrs later a plumber arrived. The outside bar was great during the day but there is nowhere to sit in the evening as you are not allowed to take your drinks into the reception area or the dining area after eating so you need to go out to keep warm or sit in your room. Food was cold or the 1st 3days due to a technical issue and also the tea and coffee machine was broken for 3 days, things happen I know but we were not told of the problems. Wifi 10 euros or 10hrs but hey no.WHen I arrived I was told I had to pay for my accommodation but my paperwork clearly stated paid in full,this was sorted. William was very pleasant and also Catherine once she to to know us. All in all a great holiday as I was a lone traveller meeting up with my siblings at the hotel which made this holiday special. The hotel is in a great location and is very clean but lacks personality from staff I believe this is due to language and that is fair enough I was the none Spanish speaking guest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisios P, Reception at Alisios Playa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Alisios Playa.

We are very happy that you had a lovely time with your faimily.

As for the coffee machine, yes this was out of order for a couple of days but there was another coffee machine supplied and kiettle for making tea as well as milk sugar etc.

We hope you got away on time as there had been alot snow in England.

We hope to see you again in the very near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    85
    54
    31
    27
See reviews for
67
106
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

stayed from the 11th to 18th of january 2013,really enjoyed it,for a 2 star its very good,food is ok ,there is a choice of 4 dishes at night,something for evereone to eat,apartments can`t fault ,nice and clean,towels changed often,the only downside I had was at night sat outside the bar,it was very cold,you were not allowed to go in the restaurant with your drinks,in the summer no problem,you would be sat in the sun all night,maybe the answer would be a couple of patio heaters in the cold months,something to think about,but apart from that we enjoyed our stay,could not fault the staff at all

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisios P, Reception at Alisios Playa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Alisios Playa.

We are very happy that you had a lovely time and hope to see you again in the very near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned yesterday from these apartments & I can honestly say that the apartments are spotlessly clean. We had a top floor room (47) facing the pool as requested & had everything we needed for a great sunshine holiday. I was very nervous after reading some of the reviews regarding cockroaches as they are my worst nightmare but there was none whatsoever in our room although did see a couple around the complex/resort which is to be expected in the canaries. Rooms were cleaned daily & a thorough job was done at all times. All the staff are very friendly & helpful & will sort out any problems that may arise straight away. The toaster was not working in our apartment, but within 5 minutes of reporting this to reception, a brand new one was delivered to our room, no problem. We also asked for extra pillows which again, were brought to us straight away, Nothing is too much trouble for the staff & the whole complex is kept lovely & clean & well maintained throughout. Cannot comment on the food as we were self catering only. The apartments are very close to bars, shops & restaurants in correlejo. All in all, we had a fabulous week at these apartments. with fantastic weather & would not hesitate to return to the Alisios Playa in the future. Thank you to all the staff here for making our stay a very enjoyable one, you are a credit to the owners of this establishment. Hope to see you again in the future

Room Tip: All rooms looked the same but ask for top floor if you prefer more privacy on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisios P, Reception at Alisios Playa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Alisios Playa.


We are very happy that you had lovely time and we hope to see you again in the very near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Because this is only a 2 star hotel I will hold fire on being to critical in my score and review. I will stick to good points / bad points and usefull tips.

In the right circumstances I can see for this would be a "good bed for the night" but Thompson deserve major critism for selling this as a family suitable hotel, because its not.

Good points:
- Cheap
- Spanish staff where typical Canarians and lovely, especialy with the kids.
- Hotel grounds were attractive, clean and well kept.
- Brilliant location.
- For a 2 star, our room was spacious and clean (although other guests had serious hygiene issues in their rooms, like damp / muldy curtains etc).
- Pool area good for sunbathers, with unrestricted light
- Area feels safe even late at night

Bad points:
-That English women on reception!!!! to be fair the hotel is under staffed and being the only fluent English speaker she must take allot of attitude from some people. The problem is she in-turn gives it out to anyone in advance, a "good morning" is returned with a snarly look. Legitimate requests like asking the blown fuse to the room to be switched back so we have light are met with hostility. I'm sorry that I didnt know that the fuseboard is cleverly hidden behind a picture!
- Pool freezing, and I mean really cold at that this time of year.
- Inflatables are strightly banned, and the ban is enforced.
- Dont buy ice lollies etc from the freezer, they have been allowed to defrost then re-frozen
- Wifi expensive at 10 euros for 10 hours and when you log out it still takes about 20 minsutes of your allowance.
- All of the above are made worse by the fact that we were the wrong type of guess, if I were travelling alone I imagine this review would be very differant. Improving the source of contact with guests would make allot of issues go away.

Tips:
- Space for car parking outside
- Has a good 3 star all-inclusive hotel next door in Caleta Dunas with (slightly) heated pool. Worth paying 20euro's and spending a day there. Breakfast is not good but, pool, drinks, staff, lunch, dinner and evening entertainment are all very good. An VERY British hotel.
- 10 minute pleasent walk to the beach
- Avoid the English women, find one of the better English speaking local staff and be patient
- Out the front gate, either left or right supermarkets and shops are about 3 minute walk in either direction.

Room Tip: None, you will get what you a given
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisios P, Reception at Alisios Playa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Alisios Playa.

We are very sorry that you felt your holiday was not to your expections.

Further to your comment about inflatables, this has been in force since the complex opened and there is a board stating this and other rules to do with pool.

We are sorry if you experienced a problem with the receptionist. As you say with less personel, there is alot things to do to help the clients. She is always around to help clients with any problems and is always professional in doing so. We are sorry if you thought otherwise.

Alisios Playa is a 2 star hotel and unfortunately the pool is a little on the cold side during the winter but you would be hard pushed to find a 2 star complex with a heated pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

well where do i start on the "alisios playa".this has to be the worse holiday we have ever had,the place is i would say " not catered enough for kids " they cannot play in the pool with inflateables of any type or if they attempted to do ( which all children and parents did as we thought it was the norm ) the staff were the room was quick to take them away from you,this spoilt the holidays of everyone who had kids,and people are going to complain to their tour ops on return as i allready have. the bar closeing at 10.30pm is very unusual as other places stay open alot longer.the staff could hardly speak english,and did not know what a "milk shake " was,the rooms were damp and cold,we had to hire an heater,but other apartments with foreigners in had central heating.we upgraded to all inclusive " big mistake " the food was terrible.the room was cleaned onc and a half times in a week as the maid forgot to do one of the rooms,and there was no toiletries at all!!! overall do your homework before staying here,and please note if you have stayed here before,that the owners have had a fall out and now the alisios has been split in two,the other next door had the lot,entertainment and stuff for kids to do. never again!!

Room Tip: try and get a room with cental heating in the winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisios P, Reception. at Alisios Playa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time write a review about Alisios Playa.

We are so sorry that you didn´t enjoy your holiday.

Firstly, there is a notice by the side the pool showing the pool rules and this does include that using inflatables is not permitted, this rule has been in place since Alisios Playa opened.

Alisios Playa are 2 star apartments and we do not, in any rooms have central heating. If a client requests to have a heater then this is rented from another company.

We are very surprised that you were not happy with the buffet service supplied. We have had very good comments about the food served. We believe, for a 2 star complex, the food is of good quality.

The apartments are cleaned 5 times a week, towels changed 2 times per week and sheets 1 time per week.

If there was an error when you booked your holiday and you thought you were booked into another complex, then you should bring this up with your travel agent as they have all the correct information about Alisios Playa and it states that there is no entertainment. Alisios Playa has been separated sinced June 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

just returned after spending xmas at the hotel, went all inclusive, drinks good but does close at 10.30 fine to go out into town for more drinks. food ok but didnt pay alot so eat out at well. rooms fab big rooms and cleaned every day except thursdays. good location 10 min walk into town. quiet at night and slept very well in beds. weather lovely only afew days of cloud but do need jumper etc for night. over all would return and recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisios P, Reception at Alisios Playa, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about Alisios Playa.

We are very happy that you had lovely time and hope to see you again in the near future!!

Happy New Year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just returned from a weeks break at Alisios Playa with my partner which took in Christmas. All we needed was a self catering apartment which was clean, well maintained and in a good location. These apartments hit the spot exactly. They are basic and not luxurious but they do exactly as they say on the tin. We opted to go for self catering as there are many restaurants in Corralejo, so we never sampled the complex's catering. But the apartments themselves are spacious and comfortable. The complex was fully booked and we had booked late and perhaps a little unlucky to get an apartment that got no sun at all. But that was purely due to the time of year. It wasn't a problem as we spent very little time in the apartment during daylight hours.

I can only assume that the people that left negative feedback here on TA were deluded into thinking that although paying 2 star prices, they thought they were entitled to 5 star accommodation and treatment.

If you are booked to go here or are considering going, it is great value for money. Just don't expect 5 star luxury and you will have a great time in Corralejo.

Room Tip: A 1st floor apartment will be quieter and request a pool facing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisios P, Reception at Alisios Playa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thankyou for writing a review about Alisios Playa.

We are very happy that you had a lovely time and hope to see you again in the very near future!

From all of us at Alisios Playa, we wish you a very Happy New Year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alisios Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alisios Playa

Address: Avenida de Gran Canaria, Bis no.1, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alisios Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alisios Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisios Playa Hotel Corralejo
Alisios Playa Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alisios Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.