We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised at quality of Holiday Inn Norton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Norton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Norton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Norton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1051 Park Avenue SW, Norton, VA 24273   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Norton
Kentucky
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Surprised at quality of Holiday Inn Norton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Loved my recent stay at this Holiday Inn. Located in the downtown area of Norton off of highway 58 (I believe). About 2 miles from the exit off of 23 South.

First time to this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice and clean this hotel was. Not sure, but I believe this has to be a newer property. Very clean place. Room was well above average. Bedding was good. The bed frame was a little squeaky--but I am a big person.

Amenities in room were good. Nothing to really complain about. If anything, the elevator was a little slow. I am reaching to say anything bad about this hotel. Service was fabulous. The lady who checked me in answered all of my questions about the various places to eat in the area.

Hotel is located next to a good Italian restaurant and across the street from a CVS (or Walgreen, I can't remember now). But nice to have those places close.

This is a full-service hotel with a restaurant on the top floor.

Would definitely stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    30
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
22
11
8
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tampa, fl
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Absoulutely a fabulous place to eat-an oasis of fine food in a desert of ordinary offerings. There is not much in this part of the county, but boy is this a gem! The hotel is nice-a better Holiday Inn in my book, but the restaurant! Park Avenue Bar & Grille is on the 5th Floor and is a destination in itself worth a trip to Norton. The food is high quality 'comfort food'-do try the peppercorn meat loaf-but the "board specials" are really special and so reasonable for high quality, nicely plated and generous portions. You can get such trendy items as korean barbeque, fish tacos, duck, etc., as well as a great steak. Dinner last nite was a linguini with seafood (including a lobster tail!) and chorizo and I will be eating for 3 days-all for only $19! I can spend that much on a fast food meal! if they have pork chops make sure you order them. Spinich salad is also A+. As for the desserts - oh boy - my favorite though is their creme brule (all flavors). Treat yourself - it's hard to believe such a small out of the way town can have such a 5 star establishment

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

All in all, it's a nice hotel. My stepson is a policeman in the town and he told us this was the safest place to stay. Apparently the other hotels -- the nice Inn down the road -- has been inhabited by construction laborers in the area and there have been many visits by the police for drunken behavior and violence.

They didn't have the king sized bed we ordered, so they upgraded us to one with a whirlpool for no extra charge -- very nice staff!

The restaurant on top is okay -- funny story: we were there one night with our son, his wife and our new grandbaby. We pick a table near the window for the view. A very loud family is in the table next to us. They come over and close the shade on the window because the sun is in THEIR eyes. We order salmon -- sorry, we're out -- and the table next to us gets salmon!! Wow. Turns out, it was the owners of the hotel celebrating with their (noisy!) grandkids.

The next morning, I related my sad, salmon story to a nice guy at breakfast who turned out to be in charge of Food and Beverage at the hotel and he comped our breakfast! So all in all..as I said, it was a nice place. Very clean.

Oh, one thing -- did I mention the train that runs in the back of the hotel all night long? I would say it's unavoidable in all of Norton. Have a fun trip!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel is brand new, grounds are very nice and clean, has no out door pool but a very nice indoor pool. Rooms are clean and nice. Has a great restaurant inside the hotel. This is the nicest hotel in the area of Wise Co. va. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

They are updating but it is a very nice area with a great staff

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Comparable to most hotels, Holiday Inn Hotel Norton had great service and clean rooms. The showers provided a great back massage in preparation for a great night's sleep. The breakfast was preprared and always replenished, not to mention it also had healthy options.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

What I liked about this place is the lounge, i just think it is very nice and comfy, it is like an actual room from some really nice big house. Also, i really enjoyed the "not so slow" internet connection especially after a storm the night before.
The rooms are pretty nice, the individual beds are large enough, and it is quiet. They even agreed to open the pool just for our group especially after coming here at about 10 pm, right after it was about to close.
The food (and i have only seen breakfast) is a little limited to me. There is not a lot of choice, apples, cereals, oatmeal, orange juice, waffles, some cinnamon rolls... that is what i can think of, no eggs or other kind of fruits.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Norton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norton

Address: 1051 Park Avenue SW, Norton, VA 24273
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is Located in the Heart of Norton's Business DistrictTravelers looking for lodging in Norton, VA can enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn hotel in Norton VA, located just off Highway 23 and surrounded by the scenic Appalachian Mountains.Our accommodations in Norton, VA are perfectly suited for families with our ideal location near area attractions like the High Knob Observation Tower, Flag Rock Recreational Area, Lonesome Pine Raceway, Grayson Lake State Park and Mountain Rose Vineyards. Your family can explore Virginia's history by driving along the Crooked Road, Virginia's Music Heritage Trail or by visiting the Southwest Virginia Museum, located just 10 miles from our hotel in Norton.Business and leisure travelers alike enjoy staying at our Norton, VA hotel, located in the heart of the city near many area businesses, like the Mountain View Medical Center, Pepsi Bottling Plant, Old Dominion Power Company and the Virginia Mining Association. You can take advantage of the convenient 24-hour business center and premium event facilities, which can seat up to 250 people. Our Norton hotel also provides free high-speed, wireless Internet access.While lodging at our hotel in Norton, VA, enjoy our amenities like the heated, indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center and on-site restaurant, where kids under 12 can eat for free. Book your hotel reservation today and take advantage of our great Norton hotel's room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Norton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norton Hotel Norton
Norton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norton Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Norton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.