We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Escanelles

Save Saved
You added Hotel Son Escanelles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Son Escanelles
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   C/ Son Escanelles, 19, 07170 Valldemossa, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Valldemossa B&B and Inns
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place is seriously good. Dont think about it, just go. The setting is breathtaking, the house itself is beautiful, the staff are brilliantly friendly, Tony the dog is my new best friend, the pool is very relaxing and quiet, breakfast was a triumph.

Valldemossa is such a knockout but we barely moved from the very quiet pool and gardens, just venturing out for food in the evenings of our 3 might stay. We had a suite with a terrace which was worth the money.

Go to the little port outside of valldemossa and eat at the little fish restaurant, mallorcan cod was very very good.

Overall 5/5 - its a wonderful little place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent a weekend at Son Escanelles and I think it was one of the most battery charging week ends yet. If you are a city person like me, when you arrive you are immediately transported to another world. When you look one way the picturesque town of Valldemossa gives character to the mountains and when you look the other, it’s just a breathtaking panoramic view. I personally loved lazing in the chill-out area just taking it all in after a dip in the pool. The cool thing about the place is that although you seem to travel in time the owner (Ramon, you have to meet him!!) has put a very stylish and contemporary spin on many details. Be sure to wake up on time for breakfast or you will miss out on some of the delicious local “Spanish hams”.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ramon (owner/Host/now friend) has done an incredible job creating a beautiful hotel for his guests. He made you feel very comfortable and was very accommodating. He has excellent food recommendations as well as day trip spots. We have told all of our fiends and family about Ramon's hidden gem and look forward to the day that we can return. Thank you Ramon for such a great time! Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

the property is nice, but the room we stayed in was not up to par. we weren't aware there was no air conditioning, so we tried to open the windows, but we were on the first floor with a decent amount of foot traffic, so we were a bit warm. we would have used the sheets at night, but there were none - just a comforter. we were also not aware that all the rooms did not have terraces so the privacy was lacking.

the breakfast was good and the grounds were nice, but would we stay here again - no.

we traveled through 3 of the 4 islands and this was our least favorite of the 5 hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escanelles, Owner at Hotel Son Escanelles, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Facil_Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Whilst I appreciate all comments, it is important that they are factual. Firstly, you booked our property through booking.com where it is clearly stated that we do not have air-conditioning. We are an environmentally firendly hotel and do not see the need for airconditioning. Again on booking.com we advertise 3 types of rooms, superior, superior with terrace and a suite. you selected a superior room without a terrace. In terms of the bed linen, we spent more than 8000 Euros recently on all of our linen which are top quality. When you asked me to provide you with bed sheets instead of duvet covers, I did say I shall do this for you, however you refused. My suggestion to you would be that in future you study the type of hotel you want to go to which is more to your taste. Certainly there is ample information provided about our hotel and others on booking.com for you to make an intelligent decision. Once again, thanks for your review. Every review counts for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

There are not enough words to describe amazing emotions! If you want to feels like you have a friend with his own gorgeous house in Mallorca and you were invited to spend time there – that this hotel is perfect place to make this dream come true. In this hotel everything on right place – in meaning of decoration, rooms are amazing, cleaning every day.
But the biggest attractions are the owner Ramon and his dog Toni. Ramon will cook for you the most tasty omelet you ever tried in your life, he will drink with you made by himself caipirinha (people telling the best in Mallorca), smoke a cigarette and tell you full of humor (sometimes black) stories. He's organizing amazing dinners with guitarists, singers, sometimes he's playing with them. Sometimes I had feeling that he’s like Great Gatsby!
Also we are full of thank to all Ramon’s team, they makes us feels real guests, they were taking care of everybody very well, the other visitors also were sharing with us best review about how they feels in this hotel. If you want to discover Mallorca from inside – this is right place. Plus Ramon can organize everything for you: car, boat, private jet plane… PS: ask him were is situated the tapas bar Quita Penas own by his friend Axel, you will be very surprised with taste of best tapas!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent 11 nights here in June and thoroughly enjoyed it. Ramon and Lena gave us a very warm welcome and there was a very happy atmosphere at the hotel. All the staff got on well together and we frequently heard lots of laughter amongst them all.

Our room was very luxurious and kept spotlessly clean. The L'Occitaine toileteries were a real treat. Breakfast was fantastic, yoghurt with fruit, meats and cheeses, bread and fresh eggs, cooked however we wanted them and sometimes cakes home made by Lena, the hotel manager.

Ramon cooked a fantastic gourment meal one night while we were there and brought in a Cuban band to entertain us whilst we ate. He really is a man of many talents, as well as doing the cooking, he joined in with the band and visited every table several times to explain thhe indvidual courses and make sure we were all happy. An exceptional host!!

The hotel is much smaller than any we have stayed in previously so we weren't sure what to expect, however you feel as if you are a privileged guest in someone's house. We were very well looked after and highly recommend Son Escanelles. We'll try and go back sometime.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here on our walking holiday, having walked from Estellencs.

Positives
- the hotel and grounds are beautiful. Stunning views and the building is wonderful.
- breakfast is freshly made and high quality
- comfortable bed
- shower had an amazing view over the mountain
- owner was really friendly and gave us lots of restaurant recommendations

Negatives
- breakfast didn't start until 9 and we were told we couldn't have it any earlier because no bread would be available until then. This didn't work for our walking holiday as we wanted to be out by 9. We were disappointed that at 165 euros this was the best they could do. You expect flexibility at that price. Weirdly the bread wasn't that great - clearly fresh but mostly baguette. Wondered slightly what we had waited for. Probably would have been fine bought the day before!
- no choice at breakfast - you get a bowl of yoghurt and muesli and then eggs. It was well cooked but we prefer more choice.
- our room was noisy. We were kept awake by a DVD playing in our neighbour's room and then woken by hair drying in the next room. We live in London so we're used to noise - but you don't really expect it when paying top rate hotel prices.
- when we went to pay, they told us they'd already taken the money off our credit card. We don't think this is the right way to approach payment.
- the honesty bar was expensive. We really wanted a drink but didn't want to fork out those prices and we're used to London bars!

The owners seem really nice. If you're staying here and you tell them what you want then we're sure they'll provide it. But you need to tell them in advance- they haven't really anticipated so well what people might want. We think this is fine, but the price of the rooms demands more flexibility than this. Unfortunately this just makes it feel overpriced.

Good overall but we expected more for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escanelles, Owner at Hotel Son Escanelles, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for review. Whilst I understand your issue with the time we serve our breakfast, your reservation came to us through another hotel on the same day and we tried and accommodate you even though we were full booked. On your arrival we informed you of our breakfast and to be honest you are the first to complain. In terms of the bread, this is surprising as our break is freshly baked at the Es Cos bakery in Valldemossa and it is of the highest quality. I agree with your comment that if there are special requirements, that we should be informed well in advance to try and accomodate. As you had not planned which hotel you would stay in, I understand why you couldn´t have informed us of your special breakfast requirements in advance.

In terms of payment, again we always charge at check-out, however your reservation came to us via another hotel without a credit card guarantee. We simply charged you on your arrival for your 1 night stay.

I am not certain that staying at our hotel for one night with planning your part makes a fair and qualified review, but I appreciate it none-the-less
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Son Escanelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Escanelles

Address: C/ Son Escanelles, 19, 07170 Valldemossa, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Valldemossa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Valldemossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Son Escanelles 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Son Escanelles Situated between the picturesque small village of Valldemossa and the peaks of the Tramuntana Mountains you will find our historical manor Son Escanelles.The traditional manor house with its 7 individual and comfortable equipped suits, our pool and a lot of romantic terraces as well as the extensive 11.000 m2 garden with lots of orange, lemon and almond trees invite you for an unforgettable stay.We are looking forward to see you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Son Escanelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Son Escanelles Valldemossa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Escanelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.