We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday 3 adults 3 kids , 2nd time we have been, rebooking this week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Artija Urb. Sa Coma, 07687 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Sa Coma
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday 3 adults 3 kids , 2nd time we have been, rebooking this week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Arrived at midnight, they fed us and got us a free beer or 3. The rooms we got wernt the ones we wanted, and they moved us straight away to 2 brilliant rooms, views to die for. Staff are fanatstic, drinks good, foods ok, for the money its a brilliant holiday , great location. If you want to ask anything about the place email meI will be happy to respond steve@kidsquads.biz

Room Tip: Cant tell you as we want the room sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    78
    45
    18
    11
See reviews for
102
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

The first thing to say about this place is its not English. The hotel is run by a German operator and if you have something against being at a non English hotel or being around a lot of Europeans then this isnt the place for you (although there was around 10-15 british families that stuck together there so your not alone). Also with it not being a English hotel you have to understand that you have to put up with non English things, the food wont be English and the drinks wont be English. If your happy with the above then you will have a great time.

Room.
We travelled as a couple +1 and we was given a enormous room on the third floor, 2 bedrooms, a open plan kitchen living room and a spacious balcony with one of the best views in the world (straight looking out to the sea)

Food and service.
The food was good. being all inclusive you have to keep a wristband on all week to get it. The food at breakfast and tea was basically the same each day with a few speciality dishes changing, although they did start to double up by the end of the week. The drinks are all half's and they tend to know every kind of drink you want, the only downside (or upside for some of the british people wanting to stay up to early hours) is that drinks stop at 11pm dead, you can order as many as you can carry at that time but don't expect anything a minute later. Dont forget though the food isnt english biased so dont expect full english breakfasts and British teas.

Noise.
Kids club through the day so dont expect lie ins, and the occasional (British) family wanting to stay up getting drunk into the wee hours but no different to a normal holiday.

Sa Coma
Beautiful town, amazing beach with a few shops in the centre. We went out one day for a meal and Id recommend turning right on the beach and trying some of the restaurants on the beach.

Overall a nice little break that was worth the money, and if your dont care about being a minority then you will love it.

Room Tip: Spar shop across the road to fill up with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Firstly (and this is very important!) if you are not driving yourself then make sure your taxi or transfer driver drops you at the correct hotel; there a millions of hotels in Sa Coma with very similar names. We read this on Trip Advisor and low and behold, it happened to us.
Other than that, our check in was with a friendly receptionist who popped our All Inclusive bracelets on and let us go straight in for lunch. The bracelets require a 20 Euro deposit. You also need to hire the safes for 15 euros per week if you'd like one and I believe a fan for the room was a similar price.
The food was okay, it was better some days than others. When they served more spanish fayre, such as paella or seafood, it was lovely. There was always a good variety (and the deserts were great!) but the hot food could have actually been hot... Lots of nice salads as well.
The all inclusive drinks were great if you're a massive drinker, very generous measures of local spirits! They also served Estrella lager which was very good and I believe costs a fortune in the UK! Good range of soft drinks too, teas, coffees and slush puppies included. Lots of snacks served throughout the day also, so you will not go hungry!
The room was an apartment with a separate bedroom and kitchenette, lovely cold fridge as well. Very clean and plentiful with the towels! The decor (as with everywhere in the hotel) was very tired and dated, although we spent most of our time on the balcony as the view of the sea was amazing. Only one British channel (BBC One) so if you need to watch TV you might be disappointed. No full length mirror which annoyed me but seems to be typical of hotels. We found the beds very uncomfortable as well, there were sheets provided which I hate, I prefer a light duvet.
The pool was lovely, all inclusive bar right next to it and a very shallow area that small children were playing in. No lifeguard that I could see however. Pool area was a real suntrap, plenty of sunbeds as well as tables and chairs. Mediocre entertainment for children throughout the day, although we were slightly out of season so it is probably better when there are more kids.
The adult entertainment was HORRENDOUS and very loud if you're not interested! I thought some of the entertainment people were quite unpleasant as well. It included kareoke, daft drinking games and spanish bands etc.
All in all however, the hotel is right next to the beach and S'Illiot and Sa Coma so well located. The drinks were good, food hit and miss, but very clean with friendly local staff. We had a very good holiday and I would go back if they had a decorate and revamp!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Hotel very clean, rooms cleaned daily. Small pool for such a large hotel, pool area well maintained. Plenty of sun beds but no parasols to offer any shade. Food very good but limited choice. Staff friendly and very helpful. I was in a wheelchair and I found all areas very accesable. Our only major complaint is the very loud music from the hotel next door and when coupled with the music from this hotel it was not at all relaxing, This hotel is advertised as sutable for couples and families, for couples trying to find peace and quiet forget it. The resort is picturesque and all on the flat making it easily accessable for people in wheelchairs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We traveled to the Sa Coma Playa Apartamentos in 12th September and stayed for 11 nights. Traveling with myself was my husband, my mum and my 2 year old daughter. We arrived just after 9pm and receptionist was very friendly. We had to pay a ten euro deposit for each all inclusive band which was returned on departure. We had paid for a one bedroom apartment and were told we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment. She then told us that there was a cold buffet available for us.

We were placed in room 016 which was a ground floor garden apartment. This apartment was fab especially with having a pushchair. It was the last apartment on the ground floor and therefore it only had a small fence separating it from the main promenade. On our 7th morning we awoke to discover that we had been broken into while we slept. The door they broke in through could not have easily been opened from the outside so if you get room 016 please be careful to make sure that all patio doors and windows are locked properly before you go to sleep. The door they used was most probably left open a tiny little bit and we hadn't noticed as we didn't use it. The hotel were very helpful and moved us to a new apartment on the 6th floor and the manager drove my husband to the local police station so he could get a report for insurance purposes. Noting major was stolen and we did not let this ruin our holiday.

There is always something available to eat at the hotel. From 8.30 until 10 you have breakfast which is your usual toast, croissants, muffins, bacon, egg, sausage and fruit juice etc. From 10.00 until 11.30 the bar has ham and cheese sandwiches with croissants available. From 11.30 until 3.00 you can get hot dogs, burgers and chips from the bar and then from 1.00 until 3.00 the restaurant is open for lunch. I am a fussy eater so opted for the burgers at the bar most days however, my husband and mam managed to find something to eat most days. 3.00 until 5.00 sandwiches and cakes are available from the bar and from 4.00 until 5.00 you can get crepes. Tea is 6.30 until 9.00 and I struggled to find something most nights but as mentioned I am a fussy eater. My mum is diabetic and isn't a fussy eater however, one night we found ourselves on a mad rush to burger king as there was nothing she could eat to get her sugars to stay stable. My husband ate in this night as he didn't struggle. There is normally always 2-3 meat choices, fish, potatoes or chips. My two year old hardly ate, it was not a toddler friendly menu.

The entertainment staff work really hard, granted the shows aren't the best but they put a lot of effort into them considering they seem to work all hours under the sun. The really get to know their guests as well. All of the staff at the hotel seemed to be really friendly including the night porter who dealt with us on our departure.

The pool is an ok size although it would probably get very busy in the high season. There was a lot of Germans at the hotel but there was also a lot of English and polish too and the entertainment team included us all.

Overall we had a fab holiday at this hotel and met some great new friends while there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

arrived early hours of morning and found our room easily,very surprised to find it was two bedroomed with view of the sea and pool area,the food was really nice all our stay with plenty to choose from,the rooms were clean and tidy,with clean towels just about every day,the staff were fantastic especially donna from leeds,all the animation team worked hard to entertain everybody and did a great job doing so,thank you rainer,geoffrey,max and the girls.the beaches at s'illot and sa coma are brilliant for snorkelling with lots of fish to see of all kinds,plenty of bars and restaurants to visit if you wish and also a few entertainment parks for the kids,also two mini golf courses which were great fun.there are different nationalities staying at the hotel which is good because it can be quite good fun talking to them and trying to understand each other,we met lots of wonderful people especially gary,lucia and family from london and karen,nigel and family from norwich.all in all we had a fantastic time and would go there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We have just returned from holiday on 3/9/10 after staying 2 weeks at this hotel. All I can say is that it is VERY German orientated. The reps speak for 5 mins in German, to explain what's happening, and the translation seems to be 1 sentence, in English. They only seemed to want to involve us during the second week, because a lot of the Germans had gone home. The Germans (kids and adults), are very, very, rude. They have no manners at all!!
Now the food, what can I say? EAT OUT!!! One evening my only option was to have a CAULIFLOWER SANDWICH!! I'd had my fill of greasy pork, bony fish, dry paella, greasy cucumber!!!, wafer thin chips, smash (out the bag!!!), chicken nuggets, potato croquets, very greasy salad, greasy salmon, very, very greasy breakfasts, etc etc. Honestly, the food is terrible, and a lot of the guests agreed, I only hope they take the time to review this hotel, for your sake. The chef must have did a degree in "how many ways to cook pork". Every meal time, pork was there in some form or other!!
The beach was directly out the back of the hotel, but was covered in dog dirt!! You needed to walk about 300m along the prom before you came to a nice, long, clean, sandy beach. Fair enough, it isn't far, but beware of the dog dirt!
The entertainment is an absolute joke. But, to be fair, we expected it, having stayed all inclusive, elsewhere, on several occasions.
The hotel is very clean, but we did see one cockroach in the dining room.
If you get a room facing the pool, anticipate some sleepless nights. On several occasions we were woken by rowdy, drunken groups gathering round the pool, sometimes as late as 5am.
Nightlife could be better. A bit quiet and spread out for my liking. I'd recommend the Olympic bar for nights out, or The King's Head and Brittannia. The latter does excellent meals, you must try the lamb chops, excellent value.
Can't fault the staff at the hotel mind, very friendly and helpful at all times. Also met some very nice people.
On the whole, we would never return to this hotel, unfortunately, because we did have a good holiday, thanks to the people we met.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa

Address: Artija Urb. Sa Coma, 07687 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Coma Playa Apartamentos Hotel Sa Coma
Hotel Sa Coma
Playa Apartamentos Sa Coma
Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.