We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top drawer! No question about it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hipotels Marfil Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hipotels Marfil Playa to your Saves list
Hipotels Marfil Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Cards, 1, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Sa Coma
Southend on Sea, Essex.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Top drawer! No question about it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was excellent by any standard for a four star, well run, well maintained, comfortable, and quiet. Perfect place to get away from it all and relax.
Most of the other guests were middle aged, middle income Germans it could have been a BMW board meeting on the terrace any day of the week, they were polite and reserved company. We went all inclusive for the extra £45 each it cost for the week and it was well worth it, the food was more than adequate, one night dinner was shell on king prawns and I over indulged, the chef station tends to have the tastier options. At the risk of being rude the house wine is a little rough but there is a wine menu, we selected a bottle each (which of course is extra) the waiter puts a collar with your room number on it so once you've had a glass or two at dinner you can leave and it is stored for you until you ask for it the following day, so you are not obliged to guzzle all of it in one sitting.
The bed was comfortable, the sheets crisp and the pillows firm. Everything was very clean. The Hotel caters for elderly and less able guests and has a chair lift for access to the pool. This end of the resort is fairly sedate and easy going but still has plenty of bars and cafes. To the right, about 10 minutes walk is the more upbeat younger part of the resort just head for the dome with the neon flashing lights.
The beach is as near to perfect as it is possible to get, and is a very short walk, the surf can be strong but the beach is attended by a number of lifeguard stations.
We checked out late on our last day but the all inclusive carried on until we left, the hotel was full so we couldn't keep our room, we showered in the sauna area before getting the coach, but had to use our beach towels as the hotel wouldn't provide towels which was a bit of a faff, perhaps that was the only thing I would ask the hotel to reconsider, by the way the transfer was about 50 minutes from the airport with an hour twenty wait in the carpark when you arrive I think I would enquire about a taxi next time. One last thing the house beer is San Miguel. There is no feeling of penny pinching with this all inclusive.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    55
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
64
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent 10days in this hotel at the end of August. Overall we had a great stay. We stayed on a B&B basis, as we do like to try different restaurants each evening. The breakfast was very good and the dining room staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are adequate, but the lack of a fridge was a problem. I think this should be standard in any 4star hotel. The staff are a credit to the hotel, the reception staff are especially very helpful, and the cleaning staff are great, they are well supervised and do a great job. The bar staff were pleasant enough, bar one, the older man working there was borderline rude, he was the only staff member we encountered like that.
The location of the hotel is great and I would say the best in Sa Coma. We had a room facing the pool and they would be the best in my opinion. You might have street and music noise with front facing rooms. The pool area is small, but the sun terrace behind it is huge and there are plenty of sunbeds with shade available.
Sa Coma itself is a nice resort, it is quiet, but with enough going on to entertain you. It is mostly a family resort. S'illott is only a nice 10min walk along the promenade and that is much quieter. Then Cala Millor is about 20min walk in the opposite direction, and this resort is much busier. All in all for us Sa Coma was a very good choice. It was 152euros return fare by taxi from Palma airport, we booked with Galatran and they were prompt and efficient.
I have reviewed some of the restaurants we visited, but the one we most frequented was the 'Atlantic', we found it couldn't be beaten for value and service. Overall we had an excellent holiday, with no great complaints and I would definetly recommend both the hotel and the resort.

Room Tip: Book a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

An amazing hotel in terms of room, pool, restuarant and location. Would have left 5 stars but the animation team and evening entertainment let the hotel down slightly.

The beach is only 200m away. Taxi fare is 80 euros from airport.

Half board option was very good - difft meals every day and lots of variety. Never had a problem getting a table. Note that drinks are NOT INCLUDED for evening meal half-board option.

Animation team seems mainly catered towards German guests. I appreciate that the hotel guest are mainly German but they could be more welcoming to english/french/spanish guests.

Evening entertainment was mainly variety style shows ( musicals, comedy, caberet) - but i didnt find it that entertaining.

One more gripe was that the only two english TV channels were SKY NEWS and BBC NEWS, would be good if they had non news english channels to pass some time in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a wonderful week at the end of August.

The hotel in lovely. Exceptionally clean, and very friendly staff, who were always most helpful.

The food was very good for hotel buffet style dining. A good choice each night, of various dishes, and two or three meats, and two fish choices from the grill in addition.

The pool area was kept very clean and tidy, with plenty of umbrellas and sunbeds.

The entertainment was OK, if not great. But always plenty going on in the bars of Sa coma!

The beach is wonderful, and kept very clean.

Bar staff very friendly, and good humoured, especially Sebastian! 11/10.

Would certainly re-book this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My sisters and I stayed here for four days towards the end of August 2012 and loved it. We wanted a quiet getaway, close to the beach and very relaxing and this is exactly what we got! We chose to stay all inclusive and were not disappointed, the food was great and the choice of drinks and snacks in between meals was good.

Our room faced the pool and the sea, although we could hear the entertainment outside by the pool, they finished up in good time. These are the best rooms, plus also ask for rooms higher up as they have the best views. Rooms are a little dated, but you will hardly spend any time in there! They are perfectly clean and pleasant and staff are quick and helpful if you need any extra towels. There is air conditioning in the rooms and housekeeping helpfully keep your curtains closed to keep the heat out during the day.

The hotel pool is small, but big enough to accomodate everyone with space. There is a small, small children's pool too. Aside from the sun loungers around the pool, there is a separate sun lounger platform to the side of the pool, reachable by a small set of stairs. This is wonderfully peaceful and not too busy. Perfect for a glass of wine and a few chapters of your book.

The beach is five minutes walk away and gets busy, so get there early to find a good spot. Renting loungers and parasols on the beach are expensive (about 18 Euros per day?), so buying a parasol from the local shops (8 Euros) seems a cheaper option. The sea is lovely and warm, even at 9am and wonderfully shallow. You are able to walk out thirty feet and the water only comes up to your waist, perfect for the small ones hence why it's a popular family beach. Buy your refreshments away from the immediate shops by the beach, as they are very expensive. There are some great ice cream stalls and snack shops just around the corner.

Transfer from Mallorca airport took about 2 hours on the coach, I guess it just depends who is travelling on the same route as too how long it will take to get there. Be prepared to keep alert and listen out for your hotel.

All the staff were great here, the hotel is kept spotless and it was all very welcoming. We'd love to come back here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool/sea and higher up are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just returned from a great week, in sa coma we stayed at the marfil playa hotel was faultless, staff very friendly and helpfull location was good all inclusive well worth paying extra for
dinning room had a very good selection of food to suit every one, would highly recommend this hotel for families.
Entertainment could of been better.
Also could do with free wifi.

Room Tip: pick a high floor for a sea view over looking pool ideally 7th
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed all inclusive from 27th Aug - 6th Sept. Staff very nice, food great, rooms lovely, and everything spotless. The hotel is also in a great location, close to eveything in Sa Coma, which isn't over the top busy, but only just over 4 euros to Calla Millor, which is very busy. Would not have a problem reccomending this hotel to anyone, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hipotels Marfil Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Marfil Playa

Address: C/ Cards, 1, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#7 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Marfil Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hipotels Marfil Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Marfil Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Hipotels Marfil Playa Sa Coma, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hipotels Marfil Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.