We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Abedules s/n | Urb. El Dorado, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Sa Coma
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great family hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Sa Coma Playa Hotel for 1 week in late June. The facilities are great for a family. The staff is a 10. The suite rooms are very nice. And the choice of food was very good.
I highly recommend it for a family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    203
    56
    12
    1
See reviews for
485
262
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Otley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just returned home from the most wonderful hotel and a fantastic holiday. Decorated to the highest standard, it would be hard to beat. The staff couldnt do enough for you, and the food was exceptional. We went all inclusive and aswell as breakfast, lunch and evening meal this option included a fridge with free mini bar in our room (re-stocked every day except saturday and included crisps too!!), tea, coffee and cakes by the pool 3-5pm, free drinks and ice-lollies during the day, free drinks (including cocktails) during the evening and a variety of sandwiches were provided at 11pm every evening on the bar. We also had a choice of a free meal in one of the four restaurants. We chose La Fontana (Italian) which was lovely.

Its a hotel that caters for both families with children and couples of all ages. You have a choice whether to sunbathe by the main pool area or by the pool at the front of the hotel which was much more quiet. Both pools were beautiful but if you want a break from the children go to the pool at the front. Sunbeds were really comfortable, pool areas really spacious and never had a problem getting sunbeds. Its certainly 'not' a hotel where you have to set the alarm at 6am to reserve a sunbed with towels!!!!

The rooms are extremely comfortable and very modern. The large and very posh walk in shower was a nice treat everyday after sunbathing. The entertainment on an evening was hit and miss. Always a singer / group or act of some sort (ie Bollywood dancing theme night). Some were brill and some were not so brill !!!!!! For those who want to use the hotel gym, its quite basic. My husband was really impressed with the fitness suite next door to the hotel at the Biomar Spa. So impressed that he paid 6 euro's everyday to use it. Thought we may have access to some of the facilities at the Spa being guests at the Sa Coma Playa but its not the case. The beach is 15 mins walk away, despite the Thompson rep saying it was 5 mins!! Really lovely beach with promenade alongside to walk into Sa Coma. All usual watersports and pedalo's available on the beach. On an evening we got a taxi into Cala Bona and Cala Millor (only 5-10 mins away). Lovely places but most of shops very 'touristy' and not much spanish culture, same goes for Sa Coma too.

Overall highlights were the freshly cooked (while you watched) omlettes and crepes every morning at breakfast, freshly cooked stir fry's (while you watched) on an evening, the hardworking and friendliness of the staff and high class presentation of our room. See you again very soon Sa Coma Playa because we will be back!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed for 14 nights, a family of 6 adults and 1 child (aged 7) and had a fantastic holiday. The hotel was modern, beautifully presented and very clean. Our rooms had everything we could possibly need : comfortable beds, pristine decor and furnishings, fridge with free minibar (we were all inclusive) which was restocked daily, kettle with tea, coffee and milk, black out lining to curtains, lovely balcony with clothes drying rail and 2 chairs and table, flat screen tv with British channels, luxury bathroom with large shower area, hairdryer etc.

The food was excellent. If you are all inclusive you eat in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and evening meal, not in the eating area next to the pool. All drinks including cocktails and a selection of the ice creams are included (ice creams such as mars, kit kat and all ice lollies are not included in the all inclusive). This was disappointing as our daughter wanted iced lollies and not ice creams so we had to pay for these. Breakfast was cooked and continental with champagne, all tastes were catered for. Lunch was cooked or cold salads and meats, plus each day the chef prepared something fresh to order eg omlette, toasted sandwich, savoury crepe. Also full choice of deserts and fresh fruit, cheese and biscuits. Evening meal offered full salad bar with cold fish and meats, breads, olives, cheese. Several hot dishes with sides to suit all tastes, freshly prepared stirfry made to order by show chef every night, fish and meats cooked fresh on the grill continuously. Lovely deserts, chocolate fountain every night with fresh fruit and profiteroles, ice cream and fresh fruit and yogurts. Cakes were served in the afternoon and sandwiches at 23.00 for all inclusive guests.

The pool was warm, clean, plenty of sun beds at all times of the day. Beach 15 min walk away proved too much in the heat for us with bags, inflatables etc!!

Staff were all friendly and helpful, couldn't fault any of them. Chocolate was even left on our pillows on our final night! The hotel manager Chej was always present and nothing was too much trouble.

We went to the La Reserva waterpark which was 9 euros each (all inclusive rate) all food and drink included, pool bar in the water which was very nice, my daughter loved the day there.

The evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss, we enjoyed some of the shows but others were poor particularly the dire straits tribute band which were shocking!! we enjoyed going into cala millor (4-5 euros in taxi) and cala bona (8-10 euros in taxi). Both had childrens play parks with bouncy castles, trampolines, motorised cars on tracks which took a 1 euro coin etc. They also had lots of bars and shops (most of which were very touristy, not many authentic spanish goods to buy) but still nice for a look.

All in all a fantastic holiday and we can't wait to return. It would be hard to beat this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just returned from our second visit, and felt as well looked after and comfortable as on our first. All staff, from management down, are attentive, polite, and obviously enjoy their work .Rooms are extremely comfortable and housekeeping is carried out to a high standard, as it is to all areas. Food was exceptional with plenty of choice for all tastes. Bar staff never stop working, and always have a smile.
The whole area around the hotel has plenty of play areas and a small animal park to keep the children happy.
Can't wait to return.
One small observation, wife and daughter in law think that a baby changing unit would be handy, if fitted in the ladies or disabled toilet.

Room Tip: all rooms appear to be of the same high standard, never heard moans or complaints of any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I really should only give the hotel a one star so to keep this place a secret but that would be unfair on the management and his hard working staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they go out of the way to make your stay a memorable one. From the excellent standard of food(recommend the asador) and the quality of drinks on offer (main brands served) to the rooms which are modern and kept to a high standard can not find any faults with the Protur Sa Coma.
If you want a relaxing enjoyable holiday then this is the place to go for a top class stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We booked a last minute week away to the Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa at the end of June 2012. We were looking for high quality rooms, good food and a safe environment for our two small children to play. This is exactly what this hotel offers.

The area of Sa Coma is similar to many tourist resorts. There are lots of hotels catering for mainly British and German tourists with the typical English pubs and Irish bars dotted around the shops selling inflatable beach toys and towels. As a result it lacks old fashioned Spanish Charm and is not really to our taste but there really isn't any need to leave the hotel!

The Hotel is part of a group of three hotels, Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel and Spa (4 star and well deserved), The Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa (5 star and from what we saw well deserved) and the Protur Safari Park Aparthotel (4 star but from what we saw should be a 3 star at best).

The Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel and Spa offers brilliant well equipped rooms. We stayed in a standard room which was definitely large enough for our family (2 adults and 2 children aged 4 and 2). There was plenty of storage and the bathrooms were very large with bath tub and separate shower cubicle. The beds were comfortable but could have been a little softer. The blackout curtains were very effective, our kids are usually early risers but we had to wake them up for breakfast! The air conditioning was also very good.

The staff were fantastic. Paco especially was a real star, he should set up his own company teaching hotel staff and waiters about how service should be! The Deputy Manager Chej was also fantastic. He really helped to make our stay a memorable one. Considering he was a waiter there just 6 years ago we would imagine he will be a director next year. He should be very proud of the way he runs this fantastic hotel. The hotels entertainment team were also great and put on a mini disco every night which our kids loved (8.30-9pm).

We went all inclusive which we would recommend. From what we could work out there is only one hour of the day where food was unavailable! The buffet restaurant was good but I think any more than a week of it would be boring.

Breakfast was great, there was a good choice available from typical cooked English breakfast, cereals and pastries to the Majorcan corner serving up dishes from the island (The little Cornish pasty looking thing with peas in was great). The pancakes cooked to order with the crispy bacon won it for us though.

Lunch was a little repetitive but still a good selection of food with a live cooked to order option.

Dinner again had a good selection of dishes. There was a different dish cooked live each night, usually grilled meat or fish which obviously tasted better that the food which had been sitting under lights for a while.

There are however other options. We dined out in Es Moli D'en Bou Tomeu Caldentey, the Michelin star restaurant twice and found it to be excellent. Definitely worth treating yourself whilst you are there. We also dined in Asian which is located in The Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa. This was some of the best Japanese we have had anywhere in the world.

The evening entertainment was generally very good especially the magic act who performed on Tuesday evening. The entertainment ran from 9.30 - 11.30 every evening following the mini disco. All music was turned right down or off at midnight and despite being in room 003 just across the path from the main bar we didn't hear a thing beyond 12.

We used the Spa once whilst we were there. It was very nice but despite the 50% discount thought 14 Euros was a little steep. My wife had a treatment which she thought was great.

We booked everything separately booking the room directly with the hotel via there website and found it to be the cheapest way to go. Flights through Easyjet and transfers through www.holidaytaxis.com. (Thompson may be cheaper if you book well in advance?).

Suggestions to the management. 1, Install a small water slide for toddlers in the pool. 2, offer guests free entry to the Spa on their first visit. 3 – Give Paco a promotion.

Excellent Hotel, Excellent Staff, some Excellent food but average area.

Final word - Thank you Chej!

Room Tip: Lower Floors have bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just really needed to write this review, It has been the best holiday to date. The staff at the hotel were so friendly at all time and made our trip so enjoyable. The hotel was so clean and very modern our room was lovely with great views of the pool room number 213. I was really nervous about going away because we were taking our 18 month year old for her first holiday abroad but there was no need we all loved the hotel and will be returning 100% one day. If you book this hotel you will not be disappointed No bad points just one amazing holiday. ;-)

Room Tip: 213 Pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa

Address: C/ Abedules s/n | Urb. El Dorado, 07560 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Spa Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sa Coma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel And Spa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel Sa Coma
Sa Coma Playa
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.