We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay at Astoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria Playa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Astoria s/n, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
South Lanarkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful stay at Astoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We (5 adults) stayed at the Astoria Playa for ten days at the beginning of June 2013. The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard. Spotlessly clean inside and in the grounds / pool area. Very comfortable sun loungers. Fantastic food - quality and choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Evening entertainment was generally good and the management team seemed keen to chat to guests and get feedback. Yes, it would have been nice to have had a full length mirror in the room, but it was hardly the end of the world. The hotel is situated near to bars, shops, cafes and the beach. The marina and old town are definitely worth a visit. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Astoria Playa and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
thanks for your nice coments. mirror will be put in room for next season cause everyone ask for it. all coments are very important to improve. hope to see you again in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    210
    43
    9
    13
See reviews for
116
571
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed as a couple at the hotel for 1 week from 26th June - 3rd July and were very impressed. We would recommend this hotel for couples or adult families. The fact that it is adults only means the atmosphere is very chilled out and relaxing.
The rooms are of a high standard, the hotel is extremely clean and modern. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The whole operation is very well organised.
The pools are fantastic and there seemed to be sufficient amount of sunbeds for everyone.
Great food, recommend eating in the hotel. good variety of drinks for all
Recommend going to the Roman City, only 10 mins away - great for exploring and taking photographs!
a great place to enjoy a relaxing holiday in the sun. highly recommended. go and enjoy it

Room Tip: get a pool facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
thanks for your coments. hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've got to agree with most of the comments about the Astoria Playa. We stayed there from 30th June to 5th July. Any comments I can add can only be positive with just one reservation. It is a very well run hotel with evident 'hands on' management presence and guests' views and opinions are actively sought.

The staff are, quite frankly, amazing. They are polite, courteous, friendly and very efficient and always make time to chat with guests. The cleanliness of the Astoria Playa is second to none; be it in the pool areas, bedrooms, public areas or restaurant. Having recently been refurbished the hotel is light, airy and well designed.

There was entertainment every night, not quite cruise standard, but most acts, basically tribute acts, hit the spot with the guests...apart from a young DJ who went down like a lead balloon!. By the way, it's worth noting that the entertainment has been switched to the smaller pool area..might be a bit noisy if you have a south-facing lower room. There are many other pluses about the hotel; the white, sandy beach is about 4-5 minutes walk away and there are plenty of local shops for 'essentials'.

However, the one negative comment has to be about the dining experience. To be fair, it is standard 4 star buffet food and some of it is very good indeed but some dishes run out quickly and are slow to be replaced. Bearing in mind the dining times, 6.30 - 9.00pm, if you're a bit late going to dinner you may miss the good menu items. I did, however, discuss this with the hotel director and she was aware of the situation and there were clear indications that the hotel owner, often seen on site, intended to address the matter.

The Astoria Playa is a 'rose amongst thorns', a white oasis amongst some pretty dire hotels. It's ideal for couples,( it is adults only), and for adult families and it's great value for money...the drinks are very reasonable too.

Still not totally sure about the design of bathroom doors though.....you'll see what I mean when you go!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side, overlooking the smaller pool area, have very sunny balconies. These rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
thanks for your nice coments. it is gratefull to see that you enjoy your stay with us and hope and it was not the last time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for Two weeks in June, came home on 28th.
After a couple of hours delay at the airport, we arrived at the Astoria Playa at 3 am, Unfortunately the hotel had double booked our room and we had to spend the night in another hotel!
Normally this would have really annoyed me. But the hotel really looked after us. The other hotel was a 4 star, they called us a taxi and said to come back at 10 am when our room would be ready. To be honest we were so knackered that all we wanted to do was sleep! We got picked up later that morning and started our holiday!
As compensation we were given the safe free of charge ( think its about €20) and we got a free drink every evening with dinner( this saved about €8 every night)
We didn't have to ask for any of this either.
We were really impressed with the room, very modern. Enough storage for 2 people. Not sure the sofa is needed and the tv isn't amazing but you don't really go for that! Hair dryer isnt amazing. If you have long/ thick hair, I would take your own! Huge balcony, our room was first floor over looking the curvy pool.
The pool area is lovely, very quiet to say its next to main road.
Staff are really helpful and friendly. Every one of the staff were brill and speak very good English .
Wifi is €5 per day or €15 for a week. It's a bit slow. Some of the bars have free wifi. Go to pacos bar. Nice food in there too. Good entertainment as well, we one full house on bingo twice!
Food is really good, lots of choice, although we went out 5 nights during the 2 weeks as we got a bit bored of similar food every night.
We highly recommend a couple of restaurants. First is an Indian on the canal close to the bridge opposite the Bellevue hotel. Maharaj. We went 3 times! But we enjoy a good ruby! And a Spanish place which does steak, seafood ect. La Traviata. You can probably find them on trip advisor. The most amazing steak you will ever eat. Really good service too. It's just behind the hotel next to cheers!
The drinks arnt cheap in the hotel but the hotel is is such a good location, there are plenty of bars with cheap drinks on offer.
You can get on the train just outside the hotel and go up to the port, or it's 10/15 mins walk up the beach front. It's nice up there, we wished the hotel was there instead. The old town is gorgeous and only 10 mins on a bus.
To sum it up. Alcudia is great for couples and families. Loads of bars, restaurants and shops.
Beach is close and really clean, Plenty of buses to take you to different areas in mallorca. The hotel is lovely at night time. Entertainment is good too. Temple dreams were our favourite. The woman's voice is amazing!
Would deffinatly stay again, and hope to in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
thanks for your nice coments. it is gratefull to see that you enjoy your holiday in our brand refurbished now 4 stars hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here with friends between 22nd june 2013 and 29th june. i had read good reviews about the hotel before going and had high hopes of a pleasant stay. on arrival i was pleased that the hotel looked very clean and modern. the staff on reception were very welcoming. my room on the second floor was lovely and modern with a great bathroom with a bath and shower. i had booked for breakfasts only and the breakfast room was large airy and ultra clean. lots of choices in food hot or cold. the place was so large that it never seemed that busy even when lots of guests were using it. the hotel is a short walk from the most beautiful beach or if you prefer the hotel has a choice of two pools. i loved the hotels own crazy golf course. if you stay here you will have made a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
thanks for yur nice coments and for your visit in our new refurbished hotel. we are looking forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we stayed there at the beginning of May,the hotel is recently been refurbished to a very high stander ed.the food was excellent,and the staff is very friendly.the official rating is three star,but i would put it at four star.Alcudia has a nice long beach,and a lovely harbor.Pollensa is another town worth a visit.Apart from few tacky shops and bars its quite a nice place to chill out.plenty of places to walk and the bus service is pretty good.very enjoyable two weeks,except the last day when we had our bags stolen from the poll area,with all our passports,tickets,credit cards,phone,money amongst other things.what a night mare.The hotel staff were very helpful.I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
thanks for your coments. hope you will keep good moments from your holiday in our hotel. hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a newly refurbished hotel with excellent bathing areas to front and rear of the building. Food is good to very good although wine could disappoint. The staff are very good and in Alcudia there is a pleasant atmosphere at most places you happen to place your bottom down, with everyone having the ability to speak English very fluently.
The rooms are a little small but the rooms and bathroom are very nicely done.
There are no gym or spa facilities, however, I did hear that this is the owners next project to build these facilities, where the crazy golf is at present. However, if these are not on your wish list then the Astoria for a reasonable price is perfect for you now.
They do serve lunches at the front, but I found the food and staff at Los Palmitos opposite to be wonderful and efficient.
The beach is only 300 metres from the hotel and it has a blue tarmac road that runs both ways.
Sometimes I used the road and other times I just walked the edge of the sea which is only another 100 metres out. Port Alcudia beach is like a pond because of the breakwater and is lovely to walk in as it gets warm.
All in all I liked this hotel and would recommend it for condition, its staff and position. The entertainment was hit and miss, however, some acts like Abba's Angels were quite good.
Tips.
The sunny side of the building ( odd nos on first floor) face the sun. This is good when the weather is just warm, however, if its roasting you may prefer the darker side, which when its hot would have the entertainment. Whilst there the weather was varied, so most of the entertainment was in the bar.
The Abba tribute band if its in the area is really worth seeing. Westlife & Take That are poor & should not be endured even if you are a fan.
Take a trip to Albufera park ( you can hire a bike nearby ) as its a very big natural area and would take ages on foot to walk around.
Take bug spray as Alcudia is reclaimed land and mossies do lurk especially in the park and around the canals, although they are sprayed and controlled by the Majorcans periodically. I found the Boots spray very affective.
Don't bother going to the Dracs Caves unless you are young and don't mind being treated like cattle being driven into the bowels of the caves with hundreds of other people for a 20 min performance.
The wifi is expensive at the hotel (15 euro for a week) and isnt very good in the rooms ( very weak at 1mbps). In the foyer it is better (11mbps). Strangely, The hotel wifi is better at the Los Pelicanos (17mbps) across the road. However, most places that do lunches & drinks do have wifi and they will give you a wifi code if you ask for it.
You may be better with a 3G package limit especially to use Viber etc.

Room Tip: 128 is convenient for foyer but does not have any sun, but in the hot weather should have evening en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelinexxx, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
thanks for your sincere coments.all the coments help us to improve. now internet wifi has been changed and give now a better service. we look forward to welcoming you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria Playa

Address: Astoria s/n, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#1 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Astoria Playa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astoria Playa hotel**** is a hotel of modern design and great comfort, for adults only, located in Puerto de Alcudia, only 150 meters from the beach without architectural barriers.It is a perfect choice for those visiting Majorca as a couple, relaxing trip, for fans of sport, both cycling, hiking, Nordic walking.We have also in the area, routes of hiking, cycling promoted by Majorca´s and Alcudia ´s council.You can also play golf in Alcanada Golf course which is just 7 km from the hotel.This hotel offers 166 rooms, 2 spectaculars swimming pools and 3 Jacuzzis surrounded with our gardens.The hotel also provides free Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astoria Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Playa Puerto Alcudia
Hotel Astoria Playa Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.