We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria Playa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astoria Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Astoria s/n, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Hull
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A comfortable, but basic hotel. It had everything you would need and a nice pool area. There were plenty of sunbeds, so no real need to reserve them. It was also very nice and quiet by the pool.

Rooms were basic, but adequate, clean and well maintained.

One negative would be the charges for anything extra, including use of the safe or wifi.

There was a wide selection of breakfast dishes, not the highest quality, but ok.

We weren't the biggest fans of the evening entertainment at the hotel, 2 Elvis impersonators in one week! But good if you like it!

The hotel is in a good location for the beach, not the most attractive spot, but very handy. There are also regular buses to the historic town of Alcudia, which is good for shopping and has nice restaurants. You can also get the bus to Port de Pollenca, but beware that the last bus back is at 9! We nearly got caught out. But it's worth a visit.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. It's good for a cheap sunshine break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricardeix, e-commerce at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hola
many thaks , your review will help us to improove.
Best regards
Astoria Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    184
    38
    9
    12
See reviews for
94
379
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Had short break at Astoria Playa and was impressed with the staff, room, food, location and facilities. Good mix of guests ranging from couples of all ages and adult family and friend groups - although not the 18-30 type!. The hotel is fairly quiet but this makes for a peaceful break and the pool area is lovely with plenty of sunbeds and the bar serving cold drinks and snacks.
Entertainment was of a higher quality than usually found in the bigger hotels in this area.
Two minutes from the beach and close to the tourist shops/bars but in a quiet street. If you like an early night, the rooms looking over the tennis courts are better as the pool-view rooms (especially on lower floors) are above the bar/entertainment area although this does not go on late anyway. Pool side rooms get more sun in any case.
Food is good with plenty of variety and the dining room is pleasant and never crowded.
The staff are very attentive and work hard to ensure guests have an enjoyable holiday.
Overall, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Poolside view for sun but tennis court side for quieter evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricardeix, e-commerce at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hola
many thanks for your stay in our hotel and for your nice review, we loved it.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Astoria Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is perfect. The food was lovely and staff were friendly. We are aged 23-29 2 couples. We just got back
Last night and we were sad to go. It is 2 mins from the beach and very close to the strip. El toro restaurant is a must its delicious( can be found beside salon Latino night club or bells which is closed) its a quiet enough resort but you make your own fun. Uncle micks bar is very good and u can get pints of cocktail for 5 euro.
If you want to buy a nice
Bag I recommend Alex's shop
Which is next door to hotel when u exit out pool door to main road. Don't go to the chinees out there we all
Had upset stomachs after it :( only downside was that their was no fridge in room. The port is 5 euro in a taxi and it is beautiful only 5 mins away.. Much nicer then the strip. All in all couldn't fault this hotel.. Ps if there is any reviews with people complaining about noise it was prob us as we were a lil noisy coming in after nights out.. Don't listen to negative reviews about here it's PERFECT...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricardeix, e-commerce at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Ahhhhhh!!! You where the noisy ones!!!!! hahahaaha
Hola
Thanks for your review, we are happy to know when our guests are happy.
Hope to see you again (...but next time not as noisy, pls...)
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have just returend from out 2nd visit to the Astoria Playa. The hotel was great, nice pool and lobby area. The rooms are ok and the meals are good.
Overall I woud recommend this hotel to those expecting a good 3*

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricardeix, e-commerce at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Hola
Thanks for your second stay and your nice review.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have just returned from a very hot week in Majorca. We stayed at the Astoria playa which is now an adult only hotel. We have a adult daughter with moderate learning difficulties and we thought this would make it easier. The hotel was excellent. The room was lovely, our only gripe would be that the bathroom had no ventilation which is common in most spanish hotels and there was milldew between the tiling in the shower area. This would not stop me returning as there are so many plus points. Beds comfortable,bedroom very nice and air conditioned. The maid came in every day and was very thorough. The public areas were very clean and the pool area did not open until 9am. We did not encounter the usual rush for sunbeds and had no problem getting 3 if we went off and did not return until the afternoon.The food was varied and of a good quality and hot which is often not the case at previous hotels we have visited.The restaurant staff are lovely and were very kind to our daughter.It is true the restaurant manager is a real gent and kisses the ladies by the hand. Our daughter was quite amused, but I think it made her feel a little special.We only watched the evening entertainment on two nights, but would recommend Silvia ,she has an amazing voice and is very talented. We visited Porto Pollensa which is very pretty and Alcudia town where they have a market on a Sunday. The usual tourist leather etc, but look out for the fruit and veg stalls. You never see anything like that in England. A real feast of colour !Overall a fantastic holiday which was made special by the Astoria Playa. Give it a try ,you will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricardeix, e-commerce at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Hola
Nothing makes us happier than happy guests, THANKS.
Hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Returned today 17/8/12 after a week at the Astoria Playa. We booked this hotel mainly for the adult only policy and after a horrendous flight with incredibly badly behaved children kicking the back of our seats and screaming constantly we couldn't wait for this oasis of calm. We were not disappointed. Firstly the minuses ( this wont take long because there are so few). The first room we were given was the smallest room we have ever seen, seriously it was tiny ! The bath was no more than 3ft long !! There was nowhere to put your clothes. We immediately asked to be moved and with no trouble at all were given a huge room which we loved. The second minus is the fact that there is no fridge in the room so you could never keep drinks cold and believe me with the high temps we had this was hard going. The last minus is how early they stop serving the evening meal . We found 9pm far too early and we went out into town to eat a couple of times. They are really the only negatives we can say about the hotel. If you are a couple that is fed up with people that think it is fine for their children to destroy the peace and quiet of your holiday then this is the hotel for you. It is such a relaxing hotel to visit, all the staff are incredible and will do anything to help you. The pool area is lovely and while you swim you could almost hear a pin drop. Everywhere including the rooms is spotlessly clean. The food is ok, you wont go hungry but its more of a belly filler than fine cuisine. The evening entertainment is odd, some acts are awful but others really good fun to watch but it all ends at 11:30ish and then a wander into town is good fun, lots of nice bars to sit and people watch or do the lively thing ,one evening we didn't return to the hotel untill 7am, seriously bad heads next day! The only downside to a lot of the bars is that they insist on having a tv on in the background, really don't understand why. The beach is very large and clean with golden sand and very close but be warned, you take your life in your hands every time you cross the main road because the spanish will jump the lights even when the green man is flashing !! It really is an accident waiting to happen, don't let it be you. Do take a walk to the marina and the old town, it's well worth it. To sum up. Dont let the three star rating put you off this hotel, many four star hotels could do with visiting the Astoria Playa to see how it should be done. We had a lovely relaxing and fun stay. I'm sure we will return. One last thing, Palma airport is awful when you leave, huge queues and they totally rip you off with food and drink, 17 euros for 2 stale baguettes and 1 coke !!.It really is the worst airport we have ever flown out of. That's nothing to do with hotels but you should be aware.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms will be noisier in the evening due to entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricardeix, e-ommerce at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Hola
Thanks for your review, we love to be told we are doing a good job, and we also need to know the complaints to have the possibility to improove.
best regars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Loved it.
Rooms cleaned everyday for you and staff are lovely.
Entertainment was awesome, especially The Comrades the Beatles tribute.
Bar was very good with wide selection of cocktails.
The food is fantastic. Buffet but not buffet standard! It was all very tastey!
The pool is lovely, fairly small but most people used it to sit round. so you get it to yourself.

We weren't happy with our room on the first night (mind you we arrived at 4.20am so had been up all night so we weren't buzzing with excitement), however later realised we got a great deal because we had the town side and not pool side which would have been noisey. And we only spent time in the room to sleep etc so it wasn't vital.

the beach is but 5 minutes walk across the road where you can hire jetskis, canoes etc and also parasailing which we did and loved!

A wonderful stay. saving up to go next year!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricardeix, e-commerce at Hotel Astoria Playa, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Hola
Many thanks, happy guests makes us happy.
Hope to see you again.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Astoria Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria Playa

Address: Astoria s/n, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria Playa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astoria Playa hotel**** is a hotel of modern design and great comfort, for adults only, located in Puerto de Alcudia, only 150 meters from the beach without architectural barriers.It is a perfect choice for those visiting Majorca as a couple, relaxing trip, for fans of sport, both cycling, hiking, Nordic walking.We have also in the area, routes of hiking, cycling promoted by Majorca´s and Alcudia ´s council.You can also play golf in Alcanada Golf course which is just 7 km from the hotel.This hotel offers 166 rooms, 2 spectaculars swimming pools and 3 Jacuzzis surrounded with our gardens.The hotel also provides free Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Astoria Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Playa Puerto Alcudia
Hotel Astoria Playa Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.