We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter 2013 2nd review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grupotel Maritimo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grupotel Maritimo to your Saves list
Grupotel Maritimo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Arta - Puerto Alcudia S/N, 07410 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Easter 2013 2nd review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had our 4th visit to this hotel and the standard is still up there with the best.This is easily the best hotel for good quality ingredients turned into the best food your likely to get in this neck of the woods. Try out the chocolate fountain. We really can't recommend this hotel enough. In fact the number of repeat guests at this hotel, at any time of year, speaks volumes as to it's popularity. The whole staff from the top down are just there to ensure you stay is just perfect and nothing is too much trouble to any of them. Once again we can only say once again a big thank you for making our stay special.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing east if you like the morning sun and south west if you like some late af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    97
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
84
162
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, England, UK.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here Summer 2012. Asked for a high room which we got, but it was a lot smaller than the the other rooms we'd seen, but it was at the end of the corridor so it was more private.
Room was clean and pleasant. Good range of channels on the television and bathroom was very nice. The swimming pool and pool bar were good, we ate lunch there most days. Even though we went at the end of July there were plenty of sunbeds available. Food was generally good but didn't think much of the dessert choices.
We used the buses a lot over the road to go to the port and the old town, very packed on the evenings but only a 10 minute journey to the port. We also used the bus to get back from the water park (wouldn't recommended the waterpark itself though, felt very unsafe on some of the slides and the waves in the wave pool were non-existent).
Lots of restaurants and bars to walk to nearby and the beach is only a short walk away. Very German dominated in terms of guests. Entertainment wasn't great, you might want to go further afield for this. Generally, I would stay in this hotel again, nice clean rooms, good food but entertainment could have been better.

Room Tip: Choose a high room at the back of the hotel, that way people at the pool aren't looking onto you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just returned after a weeks stay with our teenage son. Room was excellent, clean with comfortable beds. Bathroom was a good size and also cleaned well. The hotel is well managed and has some of the most efficient and conciencious staff I have met. The restaurant is fantastic. The food is prepared and presented beautifully and the choice is fabulous. You have the same table and waiter/waitress for the duration of your stay and it works very well. Our waiter was Isidoro, aka Easy, he was fab. The bar and pool snack bar is run by three chaps, one named Manolo and a very pretty lady named Alexandra. The are efficient, attentive and very polite. There are three outside pool's that are not heated and they can be quite cold in the morning. There are plenty of loungers to go round. The heated indoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi and Turkish steam room are great, especially at the end of the day. The entertainment each evening is family orientated and great fun. The dutch entertainment host is a hit with everyone! He can speak four languages which is an asset to the hotel and himself. The beach is five minutes walk from the foyer. It has golden sand, clear sea and very clean.
The hotel is very well run by the management and is shows by the amount of returning guest's. We will be returning for sure!
Mallorca is very popular for cycling, the roads are flat, safe and pot hole free!, if you wish to hire a bike as we did, go to Max Hurzeler, Radvermietung Boutique, 100 yards from the hotel on the opposite side of the road. They are not expensive, but very efficient. Great new Cube bikes aswell.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in October for one week and travelled as a couple in our thirties. We chose this hotel based on trip advisor. We were informed upon arrival that our dining room table would be reserved for the duration which we thought was a good idea as it saved us having to rush down each night and looking for a free table at the busy meal times. One night we found someone else sat at our table and informed the head waiter who apologised and gave us a free drink. This wasn't any fault of the staff but more ignorance of other guests. There are a lot of older people who stay at this hotel and 80% Germans. We found the food choice was vast but it wasn't always as hot as we like it. The quality was very good. Due to an early departure at the end of the week, we asked about an early breakfast at 6.30 am, when we went down we found no hot water left to even have tea or coffee, no juice and just a few cornflakes and some hard cobs. Very poor- we didn't want or expect much but even the basics were missing and not worth us getting up even earlier for.
We spent a few days around the pool area and found the grounds appealing and well maintained. The hotel did a 3 euros coffee and cake deal, very nice and a huge slab of cake. The hotel was very clean in all areas and was ideally located to the beach! a few minutes walk across the main road. The port area is approx 50 mins walk away but worth a visit as some lovely and rather expensive boats to see. Nice restaurants, bars and shops also around the port area.
The rooms are nicely decorated and spotless. No noise from surrounding areas in the room. Overall a very nice hotel that we would certainly stay at again, the only downside was the early departure breakfast but we would know about this in future so make other arrangements.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dover
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just returned from our second stay at the Maritimo, and pleased to say as good as the first stay.
Food is excellent as is the choice, not one poor meal in the two weeks we stayed.
Travelled with Thomsons, no dramas, though the rep was invisible the whole two weeks, he/she was based in a hotel a few minutes away so any querries and you had to go searching!, not great but have noticed the reps are being cut back all the time, none on the coach transfers any more with this travel company.
Rooms very clean and plenty of linen changes, a few mozzies but it was quite wet a few nights so i guess you should expect that .
A very poplar hotel with the Germans, though if they like it it must be good as i think they would not stand for a poor product, have always found this to be the case with hotels, plenty of Germans = good hotel !.
Beach is a short walk away and is very good and safe, plenty of sun beds , two beds plus parasol was 10.30 euro.
As it was the end of the season the resort got very quite as the two week s went on, by the end of the holiday most resturants and bars were closed, did make the beach very quite!.
weather mostly good, couple part cloudy days a few rain showers, lucky that most of the rain fell during the night. If you want be guaranted weather perhaps a few weeks earlier ie end September better.
Will definatly be back to this hotel soon.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask to be away from road, can be noisey at that end of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulsterIE
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A party of four of us stayed at The Maritimo for 10 days in October 2012.
When we stayed at the hotel it was quite late in the season, making for a quiet resort and a very quite hotel. For the most part it was a really nice experience. The hotel general areas, reception, lobby, etc. of the hotel were well decorated and spotless, really lovely. The dining experience was great too. The food was surprisingly good. There was a real relaxed feel to the meals; no rush or bustle or panic as often exists in holiday hotel dining rooms. The quality, freshness and the variety of the food was very good. This was the first time we have ever kept the same table for the duration of the holiday and it worked out well. Instead of constantly sitting beside strangers, it was possible to strike up a friendship with fellow-diners as you sit nearby them day after day.
Probably the slightly disappointing aspect of the hotel was the quality (or lack thereof) of the rooms. The facilities were adequate but not really 4-star. The furnishing and fixtures, storage space and room size were all a bit disappointing. Room cleanliness was excellent, although.
Now for my overall criticisms.
1.) When booking the two rooms, I requested rooms with afternoon sun. At check-in we were told there were none available. We were offered a change the second day but after unpacking and putting everything away, who could be bothered moving camp.
2.) Despite daytime temperatures of 27/28 deg C, the hotel turned off the room a/c for the season half way through our stay. Apparently some guests complained about being cold. All the Anglophiles were sweltered. Surely they could have left the a/c available for all rooms and the cold folk could have used their blankets.
3.) Ants in the room. Complained and got them sprayed three times. Third time did the trick. We were offered a room change, but again didn't want to decamp.
4.)A few mosquitos everywhere. Around the pool area, inside the public areas and especially in the bedroom. Owing to no a/c we kept balcony sliding door open one night and got a few bites that night. I reckoned there would be mosquitos in Majorca, but didn't think so in October.
The good qualities of this hotel far outweigh these few criticisms which did not spoil the holiday by any means. A gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back get ZERO sun in the autumn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We visited this hotel in August 2012 it is a lovely hotel you always get a sunbed as the beach is just across the road which is absolutely beautiful. Food was grand we were half board (im a bit fussy and was 6 months pregnant at the time so i was even fussier!!) but my other half and 10 year old son loved it! Excellent vegetarian options and you have the same table for your entire stay which was great. Entertainment was just ok and had a few daytime activities for adults and older kids and separate for younger kids. There didn't seem to be much around the hotel lots of typical Spanish shops but not very many restaurants etc.. Staff were friendly and welcoming and room was ok we were quite high up but did seem to have quite a lot of ants.. which was really the only fault in this hotel. It would definitely suit anyone with a young family. We did head in to the port which is quite a distance away and lots of lovely bars and restaurants without being commercialised. I would definitely go back to explore more as i was unable to do much exploring due to being pregnant..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grupotel Maritimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Maritimo

Address: Carretera Arta - Puerto Alcudia S/N, 07410 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#4 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Maritimo 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 150 m away from the beach, surrounded by big gardens. Rooms: Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Minibar. Terrace. Sport & Leisure: swimming pools with children's splash pool. Swimming lessons. SAP with heated indoor pool. Jacuzzi. Sauna. Turkish bath. Massages. Gym. Tennis courts. Beach volley Table tennis. Miniclub. Nursery. Children's playground. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Generous breakfast buffet. Hot and cold dinner-buffet. Show cooking. Lounge bar with terrace. Snack restaurant. Services: Shop. Car, bicycle and motorbike rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grupotel Maritimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Maritimo Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Grupotel Maritimo Puerto Alcudia
Maritimo Hotel Alcudia
Hotel Maritimo Alcudia
Grupotel Maritimo Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grupotel Maritimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.