We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Port d'Alcudia - Arta 113, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
down
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is our second time staying here so that kind of says it all. Quick checkin and got to our room to find a very nice welcome back card and big carton of orange juice. A nice touch. Rather than booking a coach from airport we booked a private transfer which is the way to go! Might be a bit dearer but you get there in half the time and in comfort. Booked on a bed and breakfast basis this time which I thoroughly recommend-the breakfasts are amazing. Really efficient waiter service and they are also so friendly and nothing is too much bother for them. Mario in particular was lovely.

Very much a family based resort, our 7 year old twins were very happy in the kids club and I felt that it was a very safe hotel and resort. The kids club staff are brilliant, thank you to sofie, antonio, stefan, julia, patricia, whoever I forgot sorry. We had to hurry back every night so our girls could go to the mini disco and then watch the evenings entertainment. It was all very relaxing and good fun.

The beach is only a few minutes walk away and its so gorgeous. We made a few short visits most days and it was lovely and breezy and the water was shallow.

Ate so well whilst on holiday, walked a short distance to find quite a few nice restaurants. Our favourite was Nuevo Rancho which served lovely grilled meats, the chinese was also very good.

The hotel rents out beach towels and wish I had availed of this service as we lugged 6 large beach towels in suitcases adding to the weight. Memory foam pillows, irons, fans etc are all available for hire from reception.

Our rooms were spotlessly cleaned every day even down to rearranging my shoes! The kids cuddly toys were placed on their beds which they loved. The staff are all great, I cant fault anything really. We have planned to return this year again, all going well. The ivory playa has everything we need for a lovely family holiday. Keep up the good work Ivory Playa!

Room Tip: We chose an inland view but got very hot in evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    79
    20
    5
    0
See reviews for
146
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel was just outside of town, but only a bus ride away from Alcudia. It did have restaurants and shops nearby, though. The supermarket across the road sold everything you could want for a great holiday. The hotel had 3 excellent pools, a reasonably-priced poolside cafe, selling tasty food, and there was plenty of room for sunbeds. Beach towels could be hired from the hotel for 3 euros each which kept the weight of cases down. A great idea. The room was very clean, spacious and beds changed frequently. The entertainment was excellent apart from one singer who was awful. The Flemenco dancers were superb as was the magician. The club for children was a good idea too but while it was on the other children should be made to not run about like mad things. My only concern was that, once again, beds were 'booked' with towels. Surely this practice must be stopped by the management? It's tiresome. Majorca is an expensive place, about the same as the U.K. but the nearby beach more than makes up for that; it is beautiful, enormous with shallow water for wee ones. Sunbeds were again expensive at 9 euros for two. However, I would certainly return.

Room Tip: The boat trip for a morning was very worthwhile, albeit a bit expensive for 2 hours. Other than that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Me, my wife and our 2 girls (5 and 7 years) just had another fantastic week on Mallorca. We stayed on Hotel Ivory Playa for the second time - and it is still the same brilliant little hotel. Just read my first review. As it was our second visit, there was a small surprise in our room when we arrived. Thank you Ivory Playa! :)

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel exceeded all expectations. The service was fantastic and The facilities were just right. The pool never got too busy and there was always enough loungers, evening entertainment was great too as was the food! The beach is one of the nicest I have been on and we didn't have a bad meal the whole time we were there. My children loved the hotel pool, and happy children means a happy mum. Would love to go back there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have been holidaying in Alcudia for the last 8 years. We usually stay in the Viva Tropic, but thought having read the great reports on the Ivory Playa, that my wife, 13 year old son and 20 month old little boy, would give it a try.
Most of the reviews are very accurate, cleanliness, service and staff are excellent, why then did I not really take to these appartments?
Firstly the evening entertainment is awful, most of the shows are mimed and performed by the on site entertainment crew. The professional shows we seen were also really poor.
The location is also a big negative, only the proximity to the beach can be seen as a benefit. Reviews suggesting a "20 minute stroll to the port" or a 5 Euro taxi fare are way off the mark. The taxi fare was always a few cent under 7 Euro and took about 10 minutes, so to walk it in 20 along poorly maintained footpaths would be impossible.
I was also quite annoyed at having to pay 26 Euro for the use of a cot for the week, we'd booked a package holiday and to have this add-on, I felt was a bit out of order.
There is no doubt that the staff here are great, particularly the waiters and bar staff who ensured you never had to wait too long for a drink, the maid service was also excellent.
At the end of the day however, there are better places to stay in Alcudia. And I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Request or book poolview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is located less than 100 meters from the nice and shallow beach of Alcudia. The hotel itself and the pool are well kept.
During our short stay of one week the staff was very friendly. Our room was spacious containing a small kitchenette and a clean bathroom with bathtub. Unfortunately the balcony was facing the local road. But since the room was equipped with air conditioning we kept the windows shut during the night.
The hotel was booked by a lot of families with small children so it seemed to be a safe place for the kids as well.
We just had breakfast which offered a good variety. Half board is available also.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Ideal hotel for a family holiday with young children. We booked after reading previous excellent reviews here and found every aspect of the hotel to be excellent. We went self catering which turned out to be a very good option with young children as after trying the buffet( which was good quality but about 70 euro with a round of soft drinks) I just found it easier to cook a simple meal in the evenings which everyone would eat rather than choosing plate after plate at the buffet and wasting it! There is an excellent euroski supermarket literally 2 mins walk across the road. Apartments are clean, modern, well equipped and air con good. No noise from road with patio doors shut. Entertainment team EXCELLENT. All highly motivated and friendly. All staff very friendly and helpful. Pool side restaurant is very good for lunch- we loved the icy air blowers! We will definately return!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa

Address: Ctra Port d'Alcudia - Arta 113, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#7 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Ivory Playa Hotel
Apartamentos Ivory Playa Puerto Alcudia
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.