We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Port d'Alcudia - Arta 113, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in Port d'Alcudia
down
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A very relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here with our 6 year old twins for 10 days and I have to say it was one of the most relaxing holidays we've ever had. The rooms were fine, we were self catering and as we were on holiday cooking wasnt an option! Maybe the air conditioning could do with an upgrading as well as the beds but other than that everything was fine. Rooms were kept very clean and fresh towels provided everyday except wednesdays.

We opted to eat out at nearby restaurants, the Hawaii was handy on our first night and offered good tasty grub. Smiths bar was good as well as the ranch restaurant beside smiths.

Now on to the entertainment team who were all lovely. My kids went to the mini club sometimes twice a day and thoroughly enjoyed it. On previous holidays they were a bit shy about going in but I must say Sofie and Elisabeth and another lovely girl whose name I cant remember made them feel very welcome. Ivory Playa have a very hard working entertainment team. My kids even got to go pony trekking and they enjoyed various activities.

We paid to have the buffet breakfast every morning and this was very good. Next time I think I would try and get b & b included in our holiday package.

There is a new pool there and I think it would be a suggestion to incorporate some kids water slides to keep them entertained.

Brilliant supermarket called the Eroski which has everything in it, situated down the road a bit.

We watched some good professional shows at night, the entertainment team put in a great effort for their own shows and many nights my kids were laughing their heads of at Antonio and Kingsleys antics!.

We spoke to a lot of people who returned to the ivory playa every year which says a lot.
I have to say the staff were amazing, super pleasant at all times. All in all this was a fantastic holiday and we would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    73
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
132
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Just stayed at Ivory Playa for the fifth time and it was as brilliant as ever.As usual the hotel was spotlessly clean and management and staff were all very friendly and would go out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay.They've added a second pool which is heated in the colder months and also means there is more room for sunbathing.A large supermarket is still across the road and a doctors,a pharmacy and a selection of pubs and restaurants a short walk up the road.A beautiful beach is just 100 yds behind the hotel and is perfect for kids as it is shallow for a bit out. Rooms were very clean and cosy with air conditioning and housekeeping came everyday except Wednesday. So had a brilliant stay and definitely be back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

From the moment we arrived at the Ivory Playa we realised we were going to enjoy our holiday. The kids were made feel so welcome by the entertainment club and the hotel is very safe as a result we the parents could relax and truly unwind knowing there was lots of thing for them to do.The Food was excellent . The evening entertainment was fun and the kids loved it .Its a quiet resort and very family orienteted so there were no late nights and we made great friends . We will return to this resort .

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel as they have the poolview rooms to rent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Just returned from a week at the Ivory Playa. We only decided to book something 6 weeks before and found our regular first choice hotel (Viva Tropic) was full, surprise suprise! After reading all the reviews about Ivory Playa I was expecting to arrive and find this outstanding hotel but sadly found it quite average really. We have two young children and knowing the location of this hotel i.e. on the main road through Alcudia I requested a pool view room but instead we were given a room overlooking the noisy road. We were told that if we wanted a pool view room we would have to pay 70 Euro and wait until one came available. All I can say is thank God for double glazing! Eating breakfast on the balcony was like being sat in a cafe at the side of the M6. The apartment itself was a decent size and you can see that they have tried to modernise them. They were clean and had everything you need and the maid came every other day with fresh towels. Air conditioning was good but didn't blow through the vent into the bedroom much. Maybe this was just a fault in our room. The beds are rock hard though and my wife and I didn't sleep well the whole time.

The food in the restaurant and pool bar is quite nice but a tad pricy. Buffet dinner was around 20 euro per adult and the choice wasn't great but the food was nice in fairness. Much cheaper to eat out though.

The reception and central bar areas are really nice, modern and cool but I'm afraid that's where these 3 words end. The sun terrace is quite small and the don't make best use of the space. Half of the terrace is in complete shade all day which means the other half gets cramped as poeple move to follow the sun. There is a large area at the side of the pool bar gazebo which would be a great area to extend into but is full of tables and chairs which don't seem to get used either during the day or in the evening.

There were plenty of daytime activities going on and you don't get pestered to join in. Evening entertainment though was not very good at all. The small entertainments team are really nice and you can see they try their best probably with a tiny budget that the hotel allocates to them...shame.

Apart from the main road, the hotel itself is in a great location almost sat on the lovely beach and just away from the bars and restuarants.

Overall, we didn't have any major complaints and would probably stay here again but only if the Viva Tropic is full up!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for pool view. Inland rooms overlook the noisy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Having been a visitor to this hotel for a number of years now i have to say they consistently improve on items each year, The staff are excellent, service is done with a smile and they try to ensure you enjoy your holiday as much as possible, the addition of the new pool and upgrade to sun loungers and bathing area was a nice surprise this year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Had a lovely relaxing break at this hotel. Very good location with the beach so near by. A good Eroski supermarket across the road and an ATM at the petrol station next door. A short 10 minute stroll to shops and restaurants as you turn left from hotel. Look out for Smiths Restaurant which was really good food with very generous portions for the price. Across the road from Smiths is an Irish pub, the posh paddy, with music every night. Turn right out of the hotel and there is about a 20 minute walk to more shops and restaurants and a taxi to the port costs 6 euros for even more restaurants. A vist to the old town is worth it, best way is by taxi for only about 6 or 7 euros, the buses can be crowded and often pass by full. The hotel itself was comfortable, tiny bathroom but you get used to it. Very well equipped with soap, washing up liquid, towels, hairdryer, microwave, TV, pots, pans etc. Cleaned everyday except Wednesday. Pool area also spotlessly clean. Had two kids in the kids club which they loved especially for meeting other kids. Can be busy round the pool re sunbeds, but the hotel is good at managing this when it is very busy, i.e. they will remove towels from 'reserved' sunbeds if not attended. Evening entertainment is a bit amateurish but they try really hard, we enjoyed it anyway and the kids were happy, therefore we were! They are strict re moving people from outside into the inside bar at 12 pm, which is great and cuts down on 'messing'. No need to bring suntowels, the hotel can provide at 3 euro for the duration of the visit. Overall we had a great time and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at this complex in July. The hotel is spotless, corridors carpeted-therefore quite footfall from neighbours. Environmental friendly- provide recycle bins at the lifts on each floor to encourage guest recycle glass, plastics & paper- this is the 1st hotel that I have come across this facility. Staff are very helpful & pleasant to deal with. Pool bar is food-very good standard. Did not use main dining area, prefer to move about. 1minute walk to the beach. Liquid soap, washing up liquid, tea towels provided. Max 5 minute walk to nearby supermarket- this shop has almost everything you could need. Good taxi service to & from the hotel apx 4euro to main centre of Alcudia or very nice stroll along the beach in 20mins.
Down side, road side traffic noise can be a bit annoying. In house entertainment ok for small kids & may be suit some teenagers- not impressed with the standard of in house entertainment-but the staff involved give it their best and are very pleasant. Foot paths in the area can be very rough & ready- but immediate paths & roads around the hotel are very good standard & safe to use. Door buzzer are very loud,s so you hear the neighbours door been rang.

Room Tip: Tip-Bonus The hotel can provide beach towels for 3euro per towel for duration of stay, so if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa

Address: Ctra Port d'Alcudia - Arta 113, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#6 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Ivory Playa Hotel
Apartamentos Ivory Playa Puerto Alcudia
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.