We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off, not worth the money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Platja d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Platja d'Or to your Saves list
Platja d'Or
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Arta s/n, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ripped off, not worth the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I returned from spending 2 weeks in this dreadful hotel just yesterday. My partner and I are of the same opinion, as are many of the guests, especially the ones coming in from a cruise.

We arrived at 1 am on a Monday, no warm greetings with a refreshing drink but the water dispenser located at the end of the bar was pointed out to us if we were thirsty, the mini fridge in the room was empty and there are no tea making facilities in the room.

Then room itself is very compact, there is no drawer space whatsoever, the beds are very hard and make the most horrendous noise whenever you turn over, the walls are paper thin, in fact just a pit of plasterboard and noises from the adjacent rooms can be heard quite clearly so I would recommend that if you wish to stay here take a set of ear plugs with you. We were put on the 1st floor above the dining room ( and I use that term loosely) more like a canteen, so whenever it was in use all we could hear was the scraping of the chairs on the marble floor, very irritating, we were also located right above the bottle bank so crash bang wallop when the bar closed. Be aware also that there is a light on the balcony which is turned on & off by the hotel and doesn't go off till midnight, very annoying if you like to sleep in the dark.

Everybody staying at this hotel is there on an all inclusive basis so there are no wrist bands, yes the bar staff are very quick but then they don't have to stop and take money like regular bar staff.

The food is a set menu every day and is repeated weekly, It is not good. It looks appetising but once you put it in your mouth you quickly realise how bland and overcooked it is, I had the misfortune of selecting a chicken curry for my lunch, which looked good on the plate but was completely tasteless, chef I think had forgotten to put the curry powder in, most dishes were of the same calibre, very poor, we had no choice but to go out for meals which added to the cost of the holiday when we could no longer bring ourselves to eat this rubbish.

Sandwiches are available from the bar when the canteen is closed but be aware that when you ask for one sandwich you will get one slice of bread with a filling, in England this would be viewed as half a sandwich.

The entertainment staff did try to arrange activities but as said in previous reviews they are out of their depth and a lot of people were complaining, it is true they had their own little clique of guests, not everyone was included. The tribute acts which are billed as professional acts appear 3 times a week, we saw a Beatles tribute act, which were not bad, they played all their own instruments and were dressed the part, vocals were lacking though but I was entertained.

The ages of the guests tend to run as 60 + but there were definitely some of the younger generation there too.

There are 4 floors to this hotel and around 400 rooms, when fully booked it is far too overcrowded, ramming us all in like sardines with two small lifts to service all those rooms, there were quite a few disabled guests, myself included, unable to use the stairs actually getting in a lift was quite a feat.

As a non smoker I feel I should point out that although smoking is not allowed inside the hotel it seems all the smokers at the hotel, and there are quite a few seem to be in competition with each other to see who can smoke the most.

The Hotel is clean, but it is old and damp and does smell musty, the chairs need to be renewed . It is listed as 3 star but I don't think it even up to that. Its location is too far from any liveliness, and I don't mean clubs, that a bus or taxi is the only way to get there. Alcudia itself is rather nice, the beach, where I spent most of my days was lovely, the sea a joy to swim in, however you will need to be down to the sunbeds very early in the morning to get one or pay out to reserve them, minimum of 4 days @ €9 per day, it can get very busy especially at the weekends. I was told the pool at the hotel was deep and a lot of people wouldn't use it because they couldn't put their feet on the floor at any part of it. I must admit that whilst I didn't use the pool it was fairly evident that not many other guests were either.

The two Thomson reps were at the Hotel everyday, but having attended their welcome meeting it is just rehearsed patter and their mission is to sell excursions, no thanks !!! We had to attend the farewell meeting 2 days before we actually left. I must also point out that whilst a considerable amount of guests were disabled in one way or another, the hotel is definitely not disabled friendly.

All in all we were extremely disappointed and we will never return to this hotel. We were told by an elderly couple who had been going there for the last 17 years that it was much better when it was a Gold Hotel & even they were disenchanted with their experience this year.

Next year we will be using a different travel company and be going to a different location, probably as bed & breakfast or self catering, this holiday has totally put us off the All Inclusive package.

I'm sorry people I cannot recommend this Hotel, go elsewhere !!

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    363
    167
    65
    25
See reviews for
75
672
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

hotel was very clean and staff very friendly. Food good although would have liked more variety with the salads, but that is personal preference. smoking area a bit too close to the bar for my liking and also allowed to smoke round the pool so often got people next to you on sunbeds smoking and by then not many loungers left to move to. sorry to say the worst thing was the entertainment. ok for the 3nights of tribute bands but other evenings and during the day quite poor. 2youngsters who did their best but didnt seem to realise the average age group they were trying to entertain

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Hotel has quite a modern, contemporary feel and on only 4 floors with 2 lifts. Staff are polite and courteous,food is basically english but of pretty good quality and lots of it! Location is very good from one point of view- superb beach is only across a private road and through a few trees, on the other hand its a good half hour walk from a resort of any kind. Guests appeared all english and more over sixties than under forties, not always a bad thing. Evening entertainment is a little sparse and of questionable quality but the drinks are free. Overall- excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

currently staying at this hotel we leave tonite the hotel is great for relaxing it is very clean and the food is excellent the people are very friendly the entertainment is not for everyone we have two young people who have bent over backwards to entertain us it is not there fault that the holidaymakers are of a certain age and want to complain for the sake of it well done KARA you were funny and made the stay worthwhile

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We usually look to go to a 4 or 5 star hotel and as we believed this hotel was advertised as a four star hotel we were very disappointed? Having gone to see the rep, she explained it was a 4T hotel which meant 3 star!) however, 4 star prices are charged!

Whilst the location is brilliant for the beach and right near the shops and the place is extremely clean, the rooms are dated, the food is awful, the entertainment is dire and the two animation team reps who are not employed by Thomson but by the hotel direct have no idea what they are doing. They are mostly on the beach or sitting texting on their phones! Easy money!

This holiday has cost us a lot more than we thought as eating out even once and day and frequenting other bars to get some evening entertainment ate right into our budget. If you want to sit on the beach then be prepared to pay 9 euros a day for two beds and a shade. You can reserve your beds for at least 4 days so that you don't have to get up early to save a seat on the beach which is a good idea. However, this has cost us an extra 72 euros for the pleasure, on top of which we have had restaurant bills and bar bills having had to go elsewhere for evening entertainment.

We always go on Thomson cruises and holidays, so please Thomson take this hotel off of your hand picked list. The majority of hotel guests here who had not visited this before were all complaining and those returning could not believe how the standard of food and the entertainment had dropped.

Room Tip: Room 327 has sun in the morning and has a limited view of the sea through the trees but is pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

after many years of holidaying at this hotel (12 in all) my husband and I have never come home disappointed, yes the hotel needs some updating but it is spotlessly clean , yes the beds do squeak but if you pull them away from the wall just a little bit that stops,yes the entertainers were very young but they did not choose to be there, their agency sent them there, they had no experience of entertaining the older generation but I think given a bit of guidance they will make a good team,but it will not help them if people keep on complaining to them , it is platja' s management team that employ the agency that they come from. All the staff are friendly, the food is good and there are more beds around the pool than ever this year , But most of all its the people that you meet their that gives the place a happy friendly relaxing holiday, they come from all walks of life there is no snobby pretention , you dress for your own comfort and you can just relax and be yourself. This is what a holiday should be . I say well done Platja , perhaps next year the entertainment will be back to its normal excellance .

Room Tip: pool side gets the afternoon sun and the front gets the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I recently returned from the Platja d'Or for the 8th time where we meet our friends on a regular basis, all in all about 15-20 couples, usually in the month of May, some have been here 8 years plus. We love the hotel, location,clean and tidy, staff, food, etc.On this occasion I have to say the animations team and entertainment were very poor. The hotel in general has an excellent client base,middle to older generation who in the past have enjoyed 4 shows per week on a 2wk rotating basis and something going on re animations 4 times daily. Unfortunately the hotel on this occasion brought in 2 persons under 25 who had no experience in dealing with the older client base or daily activities, not their fault,but under the current economic climate I would assume that the hotel did not want to pay for experienced older animations team
from their agency. This also reflected on the type of evening entertainment that was available,
the amount of time allocated for the show and was cut back to 3 per week with the suggestion of repeating the shows in the second week from the events programme, this obviously would not work for people on a 2wk stay and was obvious it was a cost cutting exercise by the hotel. The support and resources available for day and evening entertainment were very poor.This affected the regular client base who were forced to find alternative daily/ evening entertainment at cost to the client and probably profit for the hotel. I have tried to be constructive, it was a lovely holiday, a friendly hotel, but if this problem is not rectified it will affect reviews and bookings.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of hotel are quieter facing the beach, rooms facing the main road/garage are quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Platja d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platja d'Or

Address: Ctra Arta s/n, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#17 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Platja d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Platja d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platja d`Or Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Platja d Or Puerto Alcudia
Platja D'Or Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platja d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.