We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Lago to your Saves list
Garden Lago
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   C/ Amsterdam No 3 | Urb. Lago Menor, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a great weeks stay at Garden Lago back in May. We needed a little bit of sunshine and found this great deal online.
When we arrived we were actually quite amazed with what we had booked - so much space!
2 great large bedrooms (one with private balcony) even though it was just hubby and I; ample sized kitchen and everything you need to cook up a meal and a relaxing and comfortable living area.
Spent a lot of time by the pool - be quick to catch the sun beds!
A nice 10 minute stroll to the shops but there is a very handy supermarket close by.

Room Tip: Make sure you walk or grab a cab to the Old Town - we left it until the last day and wish we had ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Garden Lago, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are happy to read that you had an pleasurable break here at Garden Lago and enjoyed the spacious, well equipped apartment you stayed in. It is very important to us to create a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere and we are pleased to learn that we have been successful. We hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards
Helen Smith
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    70
    24
    2
    4
See reviews for
115
50
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stopped at these apartments for a week and had an amazing time. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was was a decent size and well equipped, beds were comfortable. Maid service was every other day which was fine with us.

The restaurant was good, served food throughout the day which was to a good standard. There is a good selection of cocktails at the hotel which were good. Charles which worked in the restaurant was nice, talkative and always willing to help, along with other staff, didn't manage to get there names. We did eat here for a meal, which was very nice and also the breakfasts were lovely.

Darren the entertainer was very nice and tried to play a few games around the pool, the pool was freezing cold though! Not many people ventured in, I stopped in the Jacuzzi most the time.

Ate out most the nights, I recommend Bistro 1909 and La Caseta Pizzeria which are both situated in Alcudia Old Town. Also Celler La Parra in Puerto Pollenca was very nice, ate here twice.
I hope to return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Garden Lago, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for this detailed review – we’re really glad to read that you had a great time at Garden Lago! We hope that you’ll come back here for another holiday, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Resort Manager
Helen Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned from a week at Garden Lago and it was relaxation from start to finish. We had a lovely 2 bed appt with utility room which contained washing machine and drying area within, great not to need to hang your washing to dry in the sun so it remained soft and fresh.(sad to be impressed by this on holiday or what?) Appt furniture although clean,starting to look a bit tired now but I'm sure it will already be scheduled in by Diamond for a refurb in the near future as they normally have a rolling refurb programme. Initially had hoped for a 6th floor appt with roof top terrace, but on speaking to other guests who advised us these appts had no shelter on balcony from sun or the couple of hours we had heavy rain, so in the end decided we were happy with what we had. Pool area immaculate, didn't find out the Lifeguard's name, but he certainly took pride in ensuring his loungers were evenly spaced and the backs all at the same height at the end of each day. A word of warning, the pool and jacuzzi are unheated, so a bit of a shock to everyone who ventured in, I satisfied myself by dipping a toe in. Loungers are set on grass around the pool and are not too close together. Garden Lago was very quiet when we were there, so you could get a lounger at any time of the day, so great not to have to be up at the crack of dawn. The onsite restaurant was excellent and prices on a par with the other surrounding restaurants. Excellent service in the restaurant from Enrique the Manager, Charles and I think the girl's name was Nadia. Loved to sit outside on the leather sofa's in the evening for a drink, they even provide fleecy blankets to put over you should you feel a bit cool. It's about a 30 minute walk into the Port, but there are shops and bars all the way although a lot of these are closing for the winter now. Darren the entertainer does a couple of good sangria making demonstrations (white and red) as well as showing you how to make a Spanish omelette. Watch out for the fetching dress he wears on these occasions! To be honest we only used reception for checking in and checking out and the service was friendly and efficient but lots of other people told us how helpful the reception team were. Nearly forgot, do not be put off when you arrive and see the fire station and local refuse lorry depot opposite, your holiday will not be affected by these and your balcony does not face directly onto that street. The Eroski supermarket is about a 2 min walk and the prices are great. Darren also recommended supporting the local community by using the local fruit shop which is a couple of doors down from the supermarket, the fruit and veg are fab and cheap. He also recommended the local bakery Lluna, which has freshly baked croissants, bread, pastries, cakes etc daily with unbelievably good prices. As we were only there for a week we just chilled by the pool, if there for longer, would have ventured further, buses running to the Port, Old Town, Palma, C'an Picafort etc regularly, about a 10 min walk to catch the bus. Costs about 5-6 euro for a taxi to the Port. Helen the Resort Manager has a meet and greet day, again this is a first for us as we have stayed in many Diamond Resorts and never witnessed this. The cleaning staff leave a lovely packet of biscuits tied with a ribbon as a nice gesture in your room on your last evening. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Garden Lago, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We’re really glad to read that you had a great time at Garden Lago – thank you for this detailed review! We have a constant programme of refurbishment at the resort, and we feel sure that you’ll appreciate the changes on your next visit.

All our staff strive to provide an excellent standard of service to our guests, and we’re delighted that your holiday here was an amazing and memorable experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Resort Manager
Helen Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I think Garden Lago is like the surrounding area - generally good, but looking a bit tired. The room on the 5th floor was spacious and well equipped, but the main furnishings were probably about 10 years old. Satillite TV and iPod dock were welcome touches, but the broadband caused us an issue. It was available for a 23 euro fee - a bit pricey in itself, but the code only covered one appliance - we therefore had to rely on the free offerings in restaurants to avoid a huge cost.
The restaurant was very good and reasonably priced
The resort was a bit 'lively' for our tastes, but a short drive to the old town provided nice squares, a harour, and more a refined eating experience.
The old town also offered a huge weekly market if you want a break from the beach

Room Tip: Anything other than the ground floor should be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Garden Lago, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to read your comments regarding your apartment at Garden Lago, however we are sorry to learn that you found the furnishings slightly disappointing. We would like to take this opportunity to mention that all apartments are scheduled for refurbishment and we hope to be able to update most of the apartments before the end of 2014.
As for the free internet access, in order to remain competitive we unfortunately continuously monitor the cost of running the resort and unfortunately at the moment it is not possible for us to incorporate the Wi-Fi charges into our outlay towards the resort operations. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
It comes as a surprise, however, that you have found our resort too lively as we often hear comments suggesting the resort would benefit from more night time entertainment.
Nevertheless, it appears you have had an all-round pleasant experience and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

With kind regards
Helen Smith
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a great holiday at Garden Lago at the end of September.The staff are all very friendly especially Darren the entertainer who made a real fuss of our 2 year old grandson. The accommodation was brilliant we had a 2 bed apartment on the 6th floor which had nice views of the pool and the lake and a great rooftop area which got the sun all day. The only down side of the hotel was the temperature of the pool which was far too cold for our family and I only saw 2 or 3 brave soles in the pool throughout the week.There was however plenty of sun loungers around the pool.The hotel is on the outskirts of port alcudia and it is a good 20 mins walk to the lovely beach. There are plenty of local bars in the area and on some evenings there was some late night noise from other hotels in the area.
We used the hotel restaurant on several evenings. The food was good and not too expensive and you were guaranteed a warm welcome by the staff. All in all a great hotel with friendly staff in a nice location

Room Tip: try and get one on the 6th floor with a roof top terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Unlike many of the other reviews, we did not actually stay at this hotel, but during our 14 day holiday we ate dinner there on 11 nights so we had good first hand experience. We were given a tour of the facilities available and we shall definitely be going back to stay. The rooms/suites are to die for - clean, spacious, modern. There is everything you could ever need during your stay. The pool area although a little on the small side, is definitley one of the nicest in this area. All the staff at this hotel were helpful and professional. Food in the restaurant was always appetising and portoins are large so be warned! Enrique the restaurant manager and his staff can not do enough for you, they were all fabulous. Darren the entertainments chap is very funny and you should try and catch his shows. In the evenings we had dinner on the front terrace which overlooks the lake. There is also an inside restaurant if you would prefer to eat indoors. Kae Dee is also an entertainer at the hotel. She tends to do cabaret several evenings a week on the terrace - lovely gentle singer to accompany your evening meal and later on she covers more up tempo dance songs from various genres. Kae Dee will sing pretty much anything so if you have a request for a special celebration, just ask. You can also get up and sing a song if you are brave enough! All in all a wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had an awesome holiday here - the staff could not be more helpful. The pool area is gorgeous and we didn't have any problems getting 4 loungers together. We had an amazing 3 bedroom apartment on the 6th floor, and as it was set on 2 levels it had 2 huge balconies. The master suite had a large bathroom and dressing room! the other 2 twin bedded rooms were lovely too and had their own large bathroom. Loads of space in the open plan living area with another toilet, utility area and everything we could have wanted in the kitchen. The trips on offer where very good too.

Room Tip: Well if you can get the 3 bedroom one go for it! It's awesome! But they only have 2 I think so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Garden Lago, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We’re really glad to read that you had a great time at Garden Lago! We hope that you’ll come back here for another stay, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Resort Manager
Helen Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Lago

Address: C/ Amsterdam No 3 | Urb. Lago Menor, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puerto de Alcudia's stretch of pale sand extends as far as the eye can see and is just one of the many attractions that awaits guests that stay at Garden Lago. One of the most attractive holidayspots in Majorca, Puerto de Alcudia has something for everyone, from the waterpark and go-kart center for children, to quiet spots for couples eager to get away from it all. A cosmopolitan atmosphere exists where you’ll find clusters of shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs surrounding the port, central crossroads and old town. There are many holiday destinations in the world, but few are as exciting as Puerto de Alcudia, and none with a resort quite like Garden Lago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Garden Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Lago Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Garden Lago Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.