We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort, Fabulous Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ona Aucanada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ona Aucanada to your Saves list
Ona Aucanada
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   C/ D'es Mirador, 5 | Aucanada, 07410 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Resort, Fabulous Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent the last 2 weeks of December and the 1st of January. It was VERY quiet. Not only the resort but also the city. Alcudia is a small town but it has everything you need. Even a big supermarket (Mercadona) with very cheap prices compared to Toronto (I'd say about 40% cheaper) but the quality of the products is excellent.
The location of the resort is perfect and the unit not only spacious but very well equipped with stove (without oven),fridge and washer (no dryer).
The guys of the reception are very kind and helpful. If you need Internet, it will cost you 15 p/week with unlimited use and you'll have access from your unit in most of the cases (depending if you are close to the anthena).
Although it sound obvious, you will need a car, particularly if you go out of season.
Practical tip: if I talk about this is because I experienced the same problem in three resorts of this kind in Europe (2 more in Spain and one in Italy). As soon as you open the door, go to the electrical pannel and put all the breakers ON. Most of the times,when the unit was not occupied for a week or two, they disconnect the switches that give power to heating and hot water tank in order to save energy. If you do not do that as soon as you get there, probably you won't have hot water to take a shower after a long trip or flight. In our case, we had to wait until the next day because the hot water tank took more than five hours to heat it. Then, it was ALWAYS OK.

Room Tip: All the room have Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Aucanada, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are particularly pleased that you had a pleasant stay. The whole Ona Aucanada team strives daily to fulfil all the needs of our customers, and we are pleased that on this occasion, we have managed to make your stay a memorable one.
We are sure that all your suggestions will help other customers to enjoy their stay at Ona Aucanada even more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
50
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This resort has greatly improved over the year. We went there last year and it suited our needs, and the improvements are making it even better. They have upgraded some of the apartments and are working on the others. The main block has been renovated and now has a gym, spa and restaurant.
The staff could not e more helpful and welcoming. We have already booked to take the family next year.
We do feel a car is useful as it is a distance from the port, but this suits us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Aucanada, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your warm comment, which is a great motivation for the whole team.
Ensuring that all our guests have a fabulous stay is our main objective and knowing that we have achieved it gives us pride.
We hope to host you again in your future visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We are in Interval International and regularly exchange our timeshare weeks and have stopped in some really nice places. I had left it too late to do an exchange for this September so booked a getaway with them for a 2 week stay at the Aucanada Club. Having read the reviews on this site I emailed the hotel in advance and asked for a refurbished unit with a roof terrace and sea views in a quiet part of the resort. I know I was probably asking for too much! On check-in I was pleased to be told that we had been allocated a refurbished unit and that we were very lucky because only 2 blocks had been refurbished so far. The unit was a duplex with a lounge/kitchen area downstairs along with a loo and upstairs there were 2 bedrooms and the bathroom (shower only). Positives were that there was a downstairs patio area with a table and chairs for outdoor eating and a balcony upstairs with views to the sea where you could sunbathe. Everything good so far! There was a hairdryer provided upstairs but there were no mirrors other than in the bathroom. Most women would appreciate a mirror in the bedroom. The shower was good but there was no extractor or window to open so it tended to smell a bit fusty. The smell in the downstairs toilet was awful it smelt really gassy so we used to leave the door open with the extractor on to try to clear the smell. There is no oven just a microwave and hob (which didn't work until the manager came in and reset the electrics). There were 2 flat-screen tellys one in the bedroom and one downstairs (more about these later). Despite the above I still felt quite pleased with the accommodation until the following day. Unfortunately, this unit is right next to the room that the cleaners use when clocking on in the morning so we were awoken because of clattering about and talking at 7 o'clock (I could have done with a bit of a lie in ). We went out that evening and on returning found the Spanish dancers that were entertaining the club right outside our room smoking. They moved out of the way so that we could get into the room and we went to bed shortly after. The problem then was that the stage was set up right outside our bedroom. It sounded like the dancers were dancing on my head ! As we were woken again at 7 the next morning I went straight to reception to beg for another room. I was offered a downstairs unrefurbished apartment, an unrefurbished duplex or a refurbished first floor apartment. I opted for the first floor apartment hoping that it had a roof terrace. Regretably it didn't. It had a compact unprivate balcony but you felt really hemmed in because of the balcony's each site and you overlooked the Clubs houses opposite which were built quite close. It also had little sun so sunbathing was not possible. However, we still thought it would be a bit quieter than the other apartment even though the couple next door had many arguments, you could hear everything in the next door and below apartments including how often everyone went to the loo in the night ! There was also a family in one of the houses opposite who were quite boisterous. So we gave up of expecting any peace and went out as much as we could. We could get some UK channels on the bedroom TV (BBC, ITV, ITV2) but not in the main room. However we told reception and they got this sorted out for us. The toaster was broken so they exchanged for another one (of much better quality than the little plastic one that was broken). They also had to replace the kettle but they replaced it with a little travel kettle that took forever to heat up (I should have bought my own)! I'm sure reception were fed up of us now. Another gripe was that the cleaners came in and changed the towels and replenished the toilet roll but our sheets were not changed in the whole time we were there. Other information that may be useful is that we paid 20 euro's for the electric for the whole fortnight so not bad. and 15 euro's a week for wi-fi which I could get on the balcony but not from within the apartment. As far as the island was concerned we really enjoyed getting out and about and the weather was brilliant. We ate a lot at the bar/restaurant of the aucanada apartments down quite a few steps from the Club. We also found a fantastic chinese at Pto. Alcudia called Fujiyama which we highly recommend and wish we had tried it sooner. We picked up a car from Terry's Car Hire (usual arrangements of them having the car ready for us in the multi storey car park at the airport) with no problem. We will definately go to Majorca again but we would not stop at the Aucanada Club.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Aucanada, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest,

From Ona Aucanada we want to thank you for the time taken in posting your opinion in regard to your experience in our aparthotel.
Your comments and suggestions are highly appreciated, thanks to them, we can identify our weak points and at the same time, make improvements in our service.
I remain at your disposal and hope to welcome you again in the near future, when you will be able to appreciate all the developments that have taken place.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvalsoe, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in one of the nice appartments and it was perfect for our family of 4. New kitchen and lovely beds and a nice view to the sea.We had a car and was able to get around in the area - we'll be back one day for sure :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Aucanada, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your warm comment, which is a great motivation for the whole team.
Ensuring that all our guests have a fabulous stay is our main objective and knowing that we have achieved it gives us pride.
We hope to host you again in your future visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Spent a week here with my parents, husband and 2 children. When we arrived they showed us a duplex which was way too small and we upgraded to a 3 bed town house for an extra 100 euros.
Nice if a bit old fashioned - but comfortable and clean with 2 bathrooms and a rooftop terrace with beautiful views. Especially liked the little gated backgarden for my 2 year old to potter around.
Negatives about the place where 1. staff a little too pushy for my liking but after saying no a few times they took the hint and let us be.
2. toaster was broken - however reception replaced
3. charge for cot and high chair of 50 euro - I think these sort of charges are ridiculous - no hotel would charge extra for a cot - just be advised if not bringing a travel cot.
4. no english stations apart from sky news - thank God for portable dvd players
5. lots of steps and not enough ramps - not pushchair or wheelchair accessible.
6. only eat once in restaraunt on bbq night - after that experience we visited Alcudia for our meals
7. definitely need a car if staying here as all uphill and 2 miles from Alcudia centre.

Alcudia was ok if a bit commercial. Our last night we went into the old town and the restaraunts had much better authentic food and service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Aucanada, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, let me thank you for the time you have spent on sharing your opinion of your stay at Ona Aucanada.
It is thanks to these comments that we can detect our errors and therefore implement changes to improve our quality.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sønder Felding, Ringkobing, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husbond and I spend 4 days in this beautiful hotel.
We were arrieving earlie because our flight was earli - but that was
no problem for the hotel. we got our room 5 hrs. before we should.
The staf is very kind and sweet - always smiling and fast so see you.

The apartment were very luxery - we didn´t miss a thing.

The area is very uphill - so you must be a good driver :-)

A car is a must.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Aucanada, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Let me thank you for the time spent on your comment and for sharing it with all TripAdvisor travellers.
It is always a pleasure to see firsthand the satisfaction of all our customers and to know that in your specific case we have achieved our ultimate aim. This encourages us to keep working on the same basis every day.
We hope to see you again at Ona Aucanada, and do remember that we are entirely at your disposal for anything you may need.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Our timeshare unit was comfortable, clean and had all the necessities. We didn't know that they were in the process of upgrading, but had very little disruption because of it.
We really loved that it was quiet, and a nice walk into the Port. we also walked to the Old Town from there and bought fresh produce and olives at the Marketplace.It was nice to have the kitchen. Also a short walk to the Golf Course and a nice park near the water.
The next wave of people going in will have all fresh paint and bedspreads and curtains and furniture, so it should be even better!
We ate in the little restaraunt there one night and it was very good, awesome Sangria!
I would recommend this place, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: The parking is very tight, rent a small car. The roads are also very narrow. We had a small SUV and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Aucanada, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent in sharing your opinion through TripAdvisor.
We are sure that your comments will help other users to enjoy their stay with us even more.
The whole Ona Aucanada team strives daily to fulfil the wishes of our guests and our ultimate reward is customer satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ona Aucanada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Aucanada

Address: C/ D'es Mirador, 5 | Aucanada, 07410 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ona Aucanada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ona Aucanada are the ideal apartments for your holiday rentals in Mallorca, (Alcudia), about 56 km from the city of Palma, and has all the necessary facilities and services to ensure a fantastic holiday in Majorca. The resort offers an ideal space either to enjoy holidays or just for a short trip: 3 swimming pools, gym, snack service with terrace, restaurant, parking, fantastic area of garden and the brand new SPA AUCANADA. Apartments are fully equipped for your commodity: totally equipped kitchen with fridge, microwave and cooking utensils; iron and ironing board, washing machine, Satellite TV and balcony. All you need to enjoy an unforgettable days. Aparments have 2 double rooms, bathroom and living room. The complex lies on a hillside, and has wonderful views over the bay of Alcudia, just 100 metres away from the complex, you can enjoy peace and calm of private coves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ona Aucanada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aucanada Club Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Ona Aucanada Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ona Aucanada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.