We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuevas del Drach

Cuevas del Drach
Ctra. Cuevas s/n, 07680 Porto Cristo, Majorca, Spain
+34 971 82 07 53
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Attraction details
Crieff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Magic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Dull day for the beach so headed to the Cuevas del Drach for an adventure. Thought it would be educational for the children but I find seeing spectacular works of nature up close like this inspirational. Well done them for having real musicians playing beautiful music in the boats on the lake. Magic!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    615
    312
    120
    85
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol (UK)
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, but maybe overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

You trudge down the caves in large groups, cooing at the cave formations, until you reach the bottom. There's a nice treat at the end before the fairly swift journey back to the surface.
It's nice to see, although more could be made of the caves on the way down. No information boards or local legends to read, although the guides seem to want everyone to descend as quick as possible anyway. Though once you're seem some stalactites I guess you've seen them all.
It's worthwhile being one of the later ones to reach the bottom if you don't want to wait 20-30 minutes for the entire group to get there, but if you want the best seats for the 'entertainment' you will want to get there first.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Was not expecting this...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I haven't been in very many caves (other than a few in Kangaroo Island, Australia) and a few others, so this was a very pleasant surprise. I went as part of our Regent Seven Seas cruise ground excursion and was very happy with what I experienced. Entrance fees were included in our free ground excursion, but I would have been happy to have paid whatever the actual fees were. To begin with, the caves are quite hot and humid (around 21 degrees C) and quite extensive. The lighting under the natural lakes made everything quite surreal and breathtaking and although it was quite a lenghty hike, I never felt bored looking at the same thing over and over again. There's also a fair number of stairs involved (not surprising, since these are caves), but it wasn't anything too challenging.

My only complaint was the concert at the conclusion of the tour - definitely was a bit cheesy and could have been eliminated completely...

Please note that flash is NOT permitted, although photography is. I don't think you can bring tripods in either...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I can recommend this attraction.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

It was raining, out of season and we wanted something to do so chose to visit the caves.
Entry fee was €14 and although we just missed the 10.45 start and had to wait till 12.00' it was worth hanging around for.
The guide spoke 5 languages and was patient throughout. There are a number of steps down into the caves but it's worth the effort. The boats, lights and music are quite magical.
Try to sit over to the far left and at the front if you want to do the brief boat trip as that's where the queue starts. If you have a night setting on your camera, put it on before you enter as flash photography is not allowed.
A pleasant way to spend an hour.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting caves with a beautiful concert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Worth the bus trip from Palma. We took the bus at the main station to Porto Cristo. The cost of the bus and the entrance is a better deal than taking a tour to this attraction. The caves are amazing and bigger than we expected. The concert and the boat ride are a beautiful treat. After visiting the caves, we walked down to the beach, took a dip in the water, had coffee and took the bus back to Palma. Start early, look for the bus schedules online

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuevas del Drach also viewed

 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Cuevas del Drach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuevas del Drach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.