We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cala Marsal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cala Marsal to your Saves list
Cala Marsal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb Cala Marsal 11, 07670 Porto Colom, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Porto Colom
Lancaster UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

What a fantastic holiday. Great hotel in an absolutely stunning location. The food was lovely - fabulous sea food and a huge choice. Rooms spotless and staff extremely friendly. Cala Marsal is a beautiful place and this is certainly the best hotel there. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel though perhaps ought to mention it may not suit teenagers who wish to spend their holiday clubbing etc. If, like us, you want a holiday where you just want to relax then this must be the ideal. Beautiful pools and a stunning beach. We had a very late flight home and when asking if the hotel could store our luggage (check out is at midday) we were told that not only would they do that but that we could use all the hotel facilities for the day AND they would provide shower facilities for us before we left. How many hotels would bother to do that??!! I would go back in a heartbeat. Try it. You won't be disappointed!. Brilliant holiday.
Also worth saying that I had expected Porto Colom to be tiny when in fact it is a reasonably sized town with some fabulous bars and restaurants and a lovely port. Certainly worth a walk there (about 10-15 mins walk from Cala Marsal and the hotel) and spending a morning looking round.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    316
    120
    54
    24
See reviews for
270
270
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I rellay have to say that the hotel is really nice as well the area, i've been with my wife and my son 9 years old. The staff was really nice and friendly ( except the bar staff, without smiling and everytime down the bar saloon with had to wait at least 10-15 min with a "chep" service !) only Juan, that one one the pool bar was always ready to welcome us with a joke!
The restaurant buffet offer a really good variety of salads , main dishes, fruits & desserts. The quality of the food seems fresh and well cooked, there was everything for all the tastes , and always something different ( we spent 2 weeks in the hotel)
The animation was wonderful with a program full of activities for all the ages, as well for our little son, he had a lot of fun in the miniclub with Anita,
a special note for Elena & Jorge. They entertaint everyvbody naturally, never tired!!!
The hotel has perfect position being just in front the beach, we really appreciate that. in general the hotel is very good for families with kids. over the bar, everything was really nice and for sure we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Myself, my husband and my 2 year old stayed at Cala Marsal at the end of June. We arrived at 1am and the night porter gave us the key to our room. We were surprised at the size of the room. It was very small - twin beds and a settee which folded out for my son (we did not use this - it didnt look clean and there were no sheets left anyway!). The beds are really uncomfortable too (and so were the sunbeds at the pool unfortunately). We were full board and I have to say that we were not impressed with the food. There was some variety but it was very repetitve and tended to cater more for italians and french. The first time we met the restaurant manager, he was quite abrupt with us as we were not sall inclusive. He told us rather sharply that we had to pay for our drinks and to speak to Reception if there was a problem with this. I did ask at Reception if water was included in the full board price and was told to speak to the restaurant manager, which I did and was again told rather abruptly 'No'.

On the 4th day of our holiday, my husband became ill that night and about 6 hours later, I too became ill. We believe we had food poisoning which lasted 2 days for the both of us (and its not easy trying to look after a 2 year old when both parents are ill !!). Through the process of elimination, we 'think' we got the food poisoning from some potato salad which appeared on the buffet 3 times (at lunch, at the evening buffet the same day, and then again at lunch the next day). This did spoil our holidays for about 3 days and restricted our travels around the resort. As we were the only english speaking people in the hotel, I had no way of finding out if any other holidaymakers were affected.

There are 2 pools - we opted for the quieter one away from the entertainment team. There was a mini disco every night which our son loved, although if you speak english, be prepared to stay at this hotel and have to speak french and italian.... we did not hear anyone else speaking english for the 10 days we stayed. The enterntainment team do a fantastic job but they did not really speak to us as we were english and instead they spend their time with the italians and french.

There are 3 small lifts for the entire hotel and you had to wait about 5 minutes at any time during the day to catch one. Be prepared to push your way into the lift - the french and italians always pushed their way on in front of us, which was just rude.

On a positive note, the maid cleaned the room every day and left clean towels. There is a beautiful beach across the road from the hotel (be prepared to pay 12 euros for 2 beds and an umbrella at the beach... pricey!) and there are a couple of supermarkets nearby. The weather was fantstic during our stay which made the time enjoyable.

Unfortunately, I have to say that we were disappointed overall with this hotel - we definately wont be returning!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We were asked to stay in Cala Marsal for a night as there were no rooms available at the other hotel we were booked at. The hotel is located right next to Cala Marsal, the main beach in Porto Colom area.

Upon arrival we were greeted by polite and professional staff members who spoke fluent English, German and French. The two receptionists were very helpful and considerate.

We checked in late in the evening and appreciated the fact that the hotel saved a dinner for us. We did not like the dinner itself, which was probably due to the fact that it was not on schedule. Nevertheless, we did appreciate it after a flight and a trip from Palma. The breakfast was better than what we expected with large selection of meals.

The hotel has a large number of facilities, such as two swimming pools, tennis courts, subtropical garden, bar, etc. It also houses a large number of tourists and, hence, is able to offer a large selection of things to do such as beach aerobics, walk tours, evening entertainments, etc.

The room itself felt, however, very basic and cheap. The room decor felt very tired; the room would definitely beneft from a lick of paint. The bed linen and blankets looked very old and as a result we did not have a comfortable sleep. The bathroom also looked worn out with a very basic hygienic set. The TV set probably was there from the early 90's with a tiny 14'' CRT screen. The two good things about the room were good countryside view and a free-to-use frige. For that reason, I would not put Cala Marsal at the top of the rating in Porto Colom.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

As a last minute deal i booked the Cala Masarl on the friday nite and we flew out on the sunday. It is quite far from the airport which is a downside, however when you get there it beautiful. very clean room, wonderfull selection for breakfast and the same for dinner. 2 outstanding pools (very clean) always sunloungers available! and about 50 footsteps away a stunning beach. The only problem we found was that the hotels guests are mostly french and mostly very rude!!! To the point that we went half board and ate out 2 days out of 5 as we were so fed up with them barging into us and giving us looks as if we were not worthy to be there.

Room Tip: ask for a room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Went to the Cala Marsal for a 5 night break. The hotel is in a beautiful location facing a small sandy bay. The hotel was 90% French whilst we were there, who were all-inclusive, however we found the drinks to be really reasonabily priced, the food was great and most of the staff were great. We upgraded our bedrooom the week before arrival and had one at the end of a corridor facing the bay, slightly bigger than others and with a long balcony (paid very little for the upgradeand WELL worth it). The 2 pools and beach were spotless, the surrounding area is quiet, but its a nice walk to the harbour at Porto Colom, although very little there. For a relaxing break you can't go wrong. Local shops and supermarkets were just getting cleaned up to open in May so there will be slightly more to do from now on.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

the hotel was clean , the staff accomadating , especially the entertainers , if you want to eat lots of english food and meet many english familes then dont use this hotel . Mainly French , Italian and some Germans which was great as it made for a good mixture, all friendly and got on well.
The food is pleantyful , not much varity but a different meal each eveing should note men and male teenagers have to wear trousers , we did not have any so reception provided them free of charge .
The pools are great , clean plenty of free sunbeds every day , entertainment was there if wanted it and in the evening some shows were held
we have 2 adult children and they found the hotel food and pools excellent but there is not enough for them to do in the hotel or surrounding area , which was fine with us as we wanted a quiet holiday
For what the cost of our 7 day Half Bd stay was we would recommend it as a quiet beach holiday with some local bars and resturants , food basic and good and lots of it.
Our rooms were cleaned every day , the bathroom and toilet cleaned every day.vey quiet at night so you can sleep no rowdy people at all.
We all agreed a week was enough at this location , we all liked the sandy beach which really is only five min walk , sea was sheltered and snorkling was great. You can walk or get a bus to Porto Colum from outside the hotel , oh a decent gym is available in the hotel , shops to nuyy water on the beach

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cala Marsal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Marsal

Address: Urb Cala Marsal 11, 07670 Porto Colom, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Colom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Porto Colom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Marsal 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cala Marsal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Marsal Porto Colom, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cala Marsal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.