We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salles Hotel Marina Portals

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Salles Hotel Marina Portals to your Saves list
Salles Hotel Marina Portals
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera d' Andraitx s/n, Km 10, 07181 Portals Nous, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Portals Nous
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great for a short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter and we loved it. The room was large and clean with a good view. Great swimming pool, with another one especially for kids. There is a pool side snack bar selling ice cream, chips, sandwiches and alcohol, what more could you need. Its only a short walk to the marina where there are some good, but expensive bars. The choice of breakfast was incredible

Room Tip: Get a taxi from airport, we decided to get a bus, although there's a bus stop right outside you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks a lot for your visit and for the time you took to write your comments about us.
We really feel satisfied that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you feel that it was worth going on holidays to Mallorca and staying in Sallés Hotel Marina Portals.
We hope to see you back sometime and to be able to give you our best service again.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    288
    96
    27
    20
See reviews for
116
239
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lONDON
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is ok ....but shame about the service...There is Louis the older guy on the front desk with the grey hair and glasses has no customer skills whatsoever when asked about entertainment he said he was very busy and pointed us in the direction of the information leaflets which was of no use because we had to phone up only to find Spanish speaking people on the other end. There was the guy in the bar who when asked for some ice, said he could only give me 3 or 4 pieces as the ice was for him (in the bar). When I said that its for 4 of us so this was not enough he said that I would have to go to the supermarket. The staff who was very helpful was Manuel and Maria from the restaurant who looked after us for the whole stay, Rebecca from the front desk and the 2 young guys on the front desk as well and a few others whose names I did not get.. Most of the British guests there were very obnoxious I would not recommend staying there if you were black as they stare at you throughout breakfast and dinner as if they have never seen a black person in their lives and I am believe it or not British. There was no entertainment at the hotel for the price paid only on Friday and Saturday night which was mediocre. I was never so happy to come home to cold England from a sunny holiday before as I was on this one. I could not wait to get home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.
We apologize for the inconveniences that you might have had in our hotel and we will try our best to improve our service for the future and for all guests.
We cannot promise you to make you feel better among other guests, because their way to look at the others belong to them.
We can assure you that we receive in our house plenty of guests from different countries and cultures, from all over the world. Some of them come back year after year and they get on really well with the rest of residents, with no difference of colour or language.
Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Marina Portals around 10 years ago and it was good then. Now, with impovements by the new owners, it represents fantastic value for money. Comfortable rooms with aircon, minibar and TV, attractive bathrooms, conscientious maids doing an excellent job, fantastic range of breakfast items, friendly reception staff, super location. What more could we ask for at less than the usual price of a UK budget chain? A big 'thank-you' to all at the hotel for ou stay last week.

Room Tip: Rooms on 6th floor south east end of the hotel have great views over the bay towards Palma Nova.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks for your comments.
We will try to improve our service to look after you again, if you decide to visit us in the future.
This is our target and we will aim really well to get it and have our visitors happy and satisfied.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

On arrival late morning we were allocated a double room straightaway. The room was a good size with a large bathroom and balcony and was spotless throughout. We opted to stay on B&B terms and breakfast was OK, with a wide and varied selection on offer and made to order omlettes was a nice touch, unfortunately let down by the lack of fresh orange juice or milk. Juice and coffee were both dispensed by "push button" machine and of pretty poor quality.
The pool area was very good with ample sunbeds (Mid October) again very clean with a decent pool restaurant/bar alongside which was pretty well patronised.
The management/staff deserves credit for the cleanliness of the hotel throughout and also for the attitude of the staff who were always helpful and courteous.
It can be noisy. All the floors are marble/tiled and we did have our sleep disturbed on more than one occasion by people arriving in the early hours and noise from the room above.
Would I stay here again, I think I probably would

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Mallorca-
Thanks for taking the time to write your comments about us.
They will help and motivate us to do our duties with joy and positive energy-
We will try to improve both our Hotel and service to offer you more when you decide to visit us again, what we expect to be soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the marina portals in August 2012 . Staff were very helpful. Room was clean and had high quality furnishings. Pool had plenty of loungers and shades. Lovely walk down to puerto portals - taxis rank a very short walk or will come direct to hotel. Short taxi ride to Palma. Would definitely stay here again. Although we stayed without children, we observed the staff were very welcoming to families. Good selection of food .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
It is very nice to see that you had what you expected in your holiday.
It seems that the resort and our hotel were at the level that you wanted.
We are happy to be part of that nice experience and we would like to continue offering you the place and the service you look for in your next visits to Mallorca.

Thank you veru much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The photographs of this hotel are clearly touched up, the room(s) we were given did not reflect the rather grand rooms on the website, however this is only a minor obstacle. The room(s) are spotlessly clean, the pillows could be better, the bathrooms are clean and well equipped.
The choice of food at breakfast is amazing, everything you could wish for including champagne!
the pool area is clean and well kept, but sadly full of Germans, you have been warned.
The staff are hot and cold, some are very helpfull,,,,,,,,,,,,,some are completely dis-interested. the hotel is in a great location for bars, buses taxi's etc, the marina is a 5 minute walk away

Overall this is a nice place to stay, with a little thought , some staff training in customer service, and TLC it could be GREAT

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sixth floorm avoid 1,2 and 3 as they are BELOW street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for the time you dedicated to write your comments about your stay in our hotel.
We will take them in high consideration in order to mend errors and improve all what we can.

And we will keep on being proud about our hospitality for all visitors, without exception of nationality. We are very happy to make our guests satisfied. They are guests. We don´t ask them where do they come from. They all are welcome, from everywhere, and many of them come back over and over again.

We will try to train our staff more and more in service to all our clients, as human beings. This is the base of every training course.

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I think this was my 12th visit here so I don't really have anything to complain about! Some of the green leather seats have been replaced with cream ones which is actually noticeable! Round the pool the shaded area has been increased with some shady tables for the outdoor eatery. Yes you may go for the sun but it gets damned hot in Mallorca and this is a big improvement. There are now also tables outside at the front as an extension to the bar. Very popular with smokers, alas!

I do feel that the staff deserve a special mention, quite a few having worked there for some time. They work long hard hours and deal with travel stressed customers far better than I could. The main man in the dining room seems to have got it all very well organised with a smile too. On the front desk they are all excellent with thanks to the young man (D Hidalgo, on his name tag?) who is as helpful as anyone could be.

Most reviewers seem to have covered most relevant points so i will simply say that my only "complaint" is that I do not come here often enough. Shopping in Palma, an evening swim in the sea before a botle of cava..... Paradise!

Just a further comment about restaurants - Casa Paco does not seem to be listed on TA. Excellent food and excellent value although the staff seem a bit lackadaisical. Probably because customers are locals and expats - great for people watching and hearing Spanish spoken with a Manchester accent!!!

Just wish I was there now!

Room Tip: They all seem pretty similar but if you want a proper double bed its a cama matrimonial!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director General at Salles Hotel Marina Portals, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
It is great to see that after so many years you are not fed up with us and our island.
We try to offer the best service possible and, sometimes, we fail.
But we keep on trying and, sometimes, we do it.
Ad, sometimes, our guests, like you, appreciate all this.
We are really glad to see that your holiday was what you expected and, perhaps, a little more.
We promise that we will keep on working hard for " this little more ".
Hope to have you as our guests for many, many more years.
Thanks a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salles Hotel Marina Portals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel Marina Portals

Address: Carretera d' Andraitx s/n, Km 10, 07181 Portals Nous, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Portals Nous
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Portals Nous
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salles Hotel Marina Portals 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional-style Marina Portals offers stunning Mediterranean Sea views just 7 minutes' walk from the beach. It has a pool and a spa, and the air-conditioned rooms have satellite TV. Guests have free access to the spa, which has a water circuit, sauna and steam bath, as well as chromotherapy and other relaxation and beauty treatments. Marina Portals also has a large sun terrace with loungers. All the spacious rooms in Marina Portals have a private balcony and free Wi-Fi. They have antique-style furnishings and safes. Many of the rooms have sea views. Marina Portals offers a breakfast and dinner buffet service. The hotel's snack bar has a terrace, and the Coral Bar offers a range of drinks. Marina Portals is less than 10 minutes' drive from the capital of Palma de Mallorca. The bars and restaurants of Portals Nous, as well as the marina, are within 10 minutes' walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Salles Hotel Marina Portals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Portals Hotel
Marina Portals Nous
Salles Hotel Marina Portals Portals Nous, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salles Hotel Marina Portals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.