We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement but lots of good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Hotel Galatzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Hotel Galatzo to your Saves list
Maritim Hotel Galatzo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera de Andratx Km 20, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Galatzo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Room for improvement but lots of good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just got back from a week in Mallorca. Cannot rate the staff highly enough although we didn't get off to a great start. Early morning flight meant rooms were not ready on arrival so had drinks at the bar. In spite of being told they would tell us when our rooms were ready nobody came so after an hour we asked and they were! Went to room but cases not arrived there so went to lunch. Cases still not in room on return so called to check where they were at reception. They arrived finally around 3pm!

Room comprised of spacious bathroom and lounge area with large balcony with good sea views. Bedroom was adequate although not much room to move around the beds and not one drawer in the whole area.
The carpets in rooms and hallways were very tired and at least needed a good clean. The sofas in lounge area of room were very uncomfortable which could easily have been remedied with some cushions.

The only mirror was in the bathroom and the only full length mirror was in the lift!
The toilet roll holder was still hanging off the wall in the bathroom when we left in spite of having told reception about it on day 2 .
There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room which I would have expected from a 4+ star grading.

The outdoor walkways were lethal in the rain as they were so slippery - 2 women ended up in wheelchairs during our stay although it may have been nothing to do with slippery walkways....

We weren't allowed to sit wherever we wanted at breakfast and lunch because those tables were already set for dinner ( the only difference being menus and cloth napkins on those tables) so ended up having to sit on top of other people.
Cups were cracked or chipped quite often.

Food was generally very good but not replaced until empty. Coffee was rubbish compared to any you bought outside the hotel - forced to buy a jar of nescafe for the mornings!

Best things - cava included in the all inclusive in the bar (but not with dinner). Excellent resident duo in the evenings. Fantasic waiting staff - never seen people work so hard.

The island is stunning. We hired a car and had a good look around. If you get the chance, go to Es Celler in Petra for lunch ( the slow roast kid was to die for!) and visit the Jardines de Alfabia just south of the tunnel on the way to Soller.

The roads are fantastic quality although many a switchback because it is so mountainous once you are away from the coast and you will encounter lots of lycra-clad cyclists along the way.

If you don't want to venture far, the local seaside area down the hill has plenty of bars, restaurants and shops and although the walk down is doable and very pleasant you will definitely want to get a taxi back unless you are super fit! There is an hourly courtesy minibus from the hotel ...

Don't let any negatives in this review put you off. This is a blissfully peaceful hotel in a great location and streets ahead of any of the other hotels where we dropped off other Thomson holidaymakers en route!

Room Tip: We were in the same block as the Spa which wasn't tooo far away from main area.Would avoid floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so very much for this detailed review about your stay with us. We are glad to hear you were overall satisfied with your stay and especially with our staff. Your negative feedback is also appreciated as it will help us improve our standards further. We will therefore forward your comments about the furnishing of your room and the seating policies in the restaurant as well as your complaints about the cups and the coffee we offer to the respective departments within our hotel and do our very best to find ways of improvement. We would love to welcome you at our hotel again and show you changes take place on ground of reviews. Thank you very much for recommending Luabay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    220
    112
    38
    22
See reviews for
34
542
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LEEDS.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is advertised as 4 star but only just makes a three.The rooms require a complete update as does the public rooms.The restaurant is just acceptable but the bar is dingy and requires a complete face lift.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are very sorry you were not satisfied with the facilities of our hotel and truly hope you still had a nice and relaxing holiday. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will be sure to look into your comments in more detail and find ways for improvements for the future. We hope we can welcome you at our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This is billed on through Thompson website as adults only. However, 2 weeks before we were due to depart, they emailed us to say that there would be children there after all! We complained, which they did not deal with to our satisfaction. We will never travel with Thompson again. That said, the hotel itself is lovely. The rooms are large and clean, and the food and drink selections are great. Nice singers in the evening but overall a very quiet atmosphere and location. Recommended as a hotel, but not as adults only. And I definitely don't recommend Thompson!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, lu at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
You review is very much appreciated and we will like to take this opportunity to inform you that in fact Luabay Galatzó is an Adult Only hotel and only guests over 16 years old are allowed. We are glad to hear you find the hotel lovely and that you enjoyed your stay, it would be an honor to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel based outside of two towns, regular shuttle bus available to Paguera but actually only a 15 minute walk down an excellently maintained path. We opted not to take the superior rooms and were very happy with our stay in the main building on the second floor - first niggle, the air conditioning was not on and our room was very warm (on the third floor apparently it was freezing). We did ask and were told that it was switched to heating rather than cooling so could not be changed. Also I did read a review saying that there were English channels on the TV, these were not available during our stay but apparently BBC did appear on the last day. The food was good, always something that you would like. Second niggle - set menu for lunch, actually not a problem with a selection of pizzas, sandwiches and salads but more limited than advertised. The pool area is small and I can see there being a problem with sunbeds in the summer but this was not an issue for us. Third niggle - the pool bars were both closed as was the A la carte resturant. The staff were fabulous but fourth niggle - there were not enough of them, you frequently had to ask reception for someone to served at the bar and were left waiting for some time. The hotel was very quiet, there was no entertainment and they are not great at advertising some of the facilities which were available, I still have no idea how you hired a bike. I do think all of these niggles will be addressed as the season progresses and they did not spoil our stay. Tips - choice of rooms, the 'basic rooms' are a good size and have excellent showers but take a kettle. They are very convenient for the resturant, bar and pool. The superior rooms are in the Levante building, I had a quick peep and they look very large. I believe they have full bathrooms. They are more convienent for the spa and indoor pool. Apparently the balconies catch the wind but get great views. There are some steps to negociate to the resturant and its a bit of a trip to the bar.

Room Tip: Tips - choice of rooms, the 'basic rooms' are a good size and have excellent showers but tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Lisa, thank you very much for writing this review about your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday and had a good time in our hotel. We are sorry that some of our services and facilities were not available during your stay and will share your feedback with the corresponding departments. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The sun shone and we had a fantastic week. If it had not been good weather then we may not felt the same. The hotel is remote and although advertised as having entertainment every night but we had none. There was also an advertised shuttle bus but this not running as early in season. However thanks to the Thomsons rep Kate this was sorted by following day.
Staff in restaurant all worked very hard and especially Mikel .
Restaurant food was very good.
Overall very happy with holiday

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the great weather. It is great to hear you were satisfied with our staff and the food we offer in our restaurant. We are sorry that there were problems with the shuttle and hope these were solved to your satisfaction. It would be a great pleasure to have you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights and the hotel was great for us! Clean room, good breakfast and nice gardens. The pool is always clean and we spent most days by the pool. I am booking this hotel for another stay as we were very happy with the accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, Jones! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and are planning on booking with us again. It will be a pleasure to welcome you as our guests again this summer. Thank you very much for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in July and really enjoyed the hotel and its many amenities. Stunning views and beautifully landscaped, with two great pools, lots of good food and a well equipped spa. Our room was clean and tastefully furnished and the staff were helpful and friendly. There was a variety of entertainment in the evenings, all of a good standard. It's a bit of a hike down to Peguera but the hotel lays on a free shuttle bus service for those who can't manage the walk. We look forward to a return visit some day.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Maritim Hotel Galatzo, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment and your kind words for our staff, Simon! We are very happy to hear that you were completely satisfied with our offerings and the standard of our hotel and enjoyed a great holiday. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will pass it on to all our staff. The team of Luabay Galatzó is looking forward to welcoming you as our guests again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Hotel Galatzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Galatzo

Address: Carretera de Andratx Km 20, 07160 Peguera, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Galatzo)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Peguera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Peguera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Peguera
#4 Luxury Hotel in Peguera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Galatzo 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galatzo hotel is situated in the south west of Majorca, the largest of the Balearic Island group. Built on a hilltop between the village of Paguera and the residential area of Costa de la Calma and close to the coast it offers magnificent views over the Mediterranean Sea. Surrounded by its own extensive sub tropical gardens that guarantee a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, the Galatzo hotel is the best place to make its guests forget about daily routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Maritim Hotel Galatzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Galatzo Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Peguera
Maritim Hotel Galatzo Majorca/Peguera, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Hotel Galatzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.