We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Lucia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Lucia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Santa Lucia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Duc Estremera 6, 07180 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We just returned from our two week holiday. Hotel is lovely,staff friendly and reps available 24/7. This hotel is more geared to "regulars" though, most of those we met or saw have been going every year for approx 20years.There's a lovely pool area, but be early if you want a sun lounger and parasol.It states quite clearly that none are to be reserved, but as regular as clockwork people were reserving them with towels etc at 08.00am every day!!1 We felt a little bit young (even though we're middle aged) and although it's not exclusive to adults, we only saw 2 or 3 children at the hotel.The rooms are pleasant and comfortable, but have no tea/coffee making facilities and to hire a kettle, 2 cups and a spoon costs 10 euros for the two weeks, plus a 10 euro deposit. Also 67 euros for the hire of the safe and if you want to use the fridge it will cost you more. As this is rated as a four star hotel, we would have thought these would have been included in the cost. The food was ok, but very much the same and often recycled. We stayed Half Board and got a little tired of the repeated menu. There's entertainment every night, quiz, bingo and live acts but again you need to be mindful you don't take a regulars table or seat!! We only went in one night to see a Jackson Five Tribute Act, except there was only THREE!!! We went out to the local bar the Three Brothers (right opposite hotel) and highly recommend a visit their. Just one more "niggle" really. We were being picked up at 07.00am on the day we left and as I am diabetic I asked the Rep about providing me with an early breakfast because the restaurant didn't open until 08.00am but was stunned when he said he couldn't do anything. As there are no facilities to make a drink in you room either, I had to buy a bottle of Diet Pepsi and Ginger Biscuits until I could eat at Palma Airport. We definately liked Santa Lucia Hotel, but might just wait another 10 years or so before we visit it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    312
    184
    71
    33
See reviews for
243
408
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I (Seniors) enjoyed yet another excellent holiday courtesy of all staff at Santa Lucia.
Check in was a dream, within 10 minutes of arriving we were in our room soaking up the views.
No problem with the room, plenty of space to move around in.
Spotlessly clean and fresh looking not bad for end of season (Sept 24th til Oct 3rd 2013)
Each day a cheerful lady cleaned for us changing linen often, first class in all that she did.
The hotel was always spotless and fresh, including the exterior.
We last stayed at the hotel 2 years ago, and noticed some alteration to the building and signage, very smart indeed, plus extra sun decking with plenty of loungers..
The dining room was as always a joy to enter and the only agony was what to choose from an extensive menu.
never did we have a cold or tepid meal, unless of course it was the super salads.
Like others we did wonder if the poor reviews were a matter of concern, no need to fret there was no justification (in my view) for any complaints.
By choice we did not visit the bar or take in any of the entertainment, so cannot remark on the standard.
I have no hesitation in recommending a stay at the hotel Santa Lucia.

Thanks to all the staff, those in view and others behind the scenes.

Room Tip: 4th floor is a reasonable height Quiet and coo in the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We`ve just returned home from a two-week stay at this first class 4* Hotel and it was everything we hoped it would be. Excellent food, comfortable beds and the room was much bigger than we expected it to be. We booked our holiday 6 months in advance through Thomson Holidays online and I must say that their website was first class at keeping us up-to-date as our departure date approached.
When we received our eTickets we emailed the Santa Lucia to see if we could choose our room, we requested a pool facing room on the 5th floor, we didn`t receive a reply so assumed they never got our email, but when we arrived at the Hotel reception desk we got exactly what we had asked for, Brilliant, sea view, pool view, sun shining on our balcony, what more could we ask for.
Many reviews we had read prior to flying were causing us a fair bit of concern but after staying there I began to wonder if those who had penned the bad reviews had been actually staying in the same Santa Lucia as we were. Our room was really spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the towels were replaced every day, the linen was changed regularly, yes it is an excellent Hotel, so don't be put off with the grousing of other grumpy holiday-makers, you will really enjoy your stay here, the staff are always smiling and ready to help, even the lady cleaners were singing and humming in the mornings. This was our first visit to this particular Hotel and I highly recommend it if you are reading these reviews. Oh yes, and the beautiful beach and warm sea was only about 20 meters from the Hotel door.

Room Tip: Email the Hotel before you go, you have a very good chance of getting the room you want. We asked fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

stayed in this hotel 23-30 sept staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was kept very clean and tidy and had a great view across the bay.
we had a excellant choice food which was well prepared.there was entertainment provided every night which was varied and of good quality.
i enjoyed my weeks stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in this area.

Room Tip: choice of rooms is not a problem as all have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Santa Lucia between the 6-10th September. The flight with Thomson was great, very smooth and the cabin staff were all extremely friendly and helpful.
We were thrilled to find the hotel was only 30-40 minutes away from the airport. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist and check-in was quick.

While in the lift a guest asked what floor we were going to and we said "7th please". He replied "ooo thats where all the toffees are staying, they are newly refurbished rooms". We laughed about this as we had no idea. When we got into our room we found it was lovely and light, newly decorated, gorgeous Holiday canvas pictures on the wall and completely spotless. With the hotel being situated literally on the beach, the view from our balcony was incredible whih gave us a look of the stunning turquoise sea, white sandy beach and of course maginificent sunshine! Very happy!

Food was very nice, we partcularly liked the Theatre Grill section where Chef cooked us some nice Steak and Fish! They were different options every day so good selection. The Sangria was super, very strong and the more of it you get, the cheaper it is! Cocktails were also very nice although my only complaint with the drinks is in the Lounge Bar it took me nearly 15-20 minutes to get served. I could not find anyone at all and my boyfriend ended up coming to find me! Apart from this drinks and food were fab!

As we were on a short trip we did not book any excursions but did go for drinks one evening in Puerto Portals which was recommended by a friend. Took less than 10minutes to get there in a taxi and was less than 10euros each way. It is an absolutely lovely area, quite fancy, nice to relax. Be aware it is on the pricey side but so worth it for a nice treat! I asked the Thomson Rep a question one day and although we did not book anything she was very friendly. They were always reps in and around the hotel talking to the guests.

We did not arrange our transfers through Thomson but used Resorthoppa instead. They were very prompt and quick at getting us to hotel/airport. Overall great holiday, would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent 3 days at the hotel after our cruise. Our room was very clean and we had fresh towels each day. We found the staff most helpful. We were spoilt for choice with the food, fish and meats grilled while you wait, as well as very good selection of other dishes. I had had read revues about the food and was a a bit worried but had no need. Also I had read that all inclusive could not eat or drink after 12 noon on the day of leaving but this was not so. Our only moan was to hire a safe we would be charged 7.50 euro a day. To hire for a week was 26 euros. They did not provide pool towels but you could hire them from the shop, also the shop hired kettles, beach parasols, irons, hair dryers. We would go back again.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and worried about waiting for lifts but never waited very long at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent two weeks at the St Lucia hotel, 8th to 23rd Sept. We were on an night flight and arrived at the hotel at 04.00am. The reception area was spotless clean and the receptionist friendly. Took a while for the elevator to arrive but when we got off at our floor again the hall area was spotlessly clean.
The room was very small and there was nowhere to store the empty cases out of the way. The Thomson reps had left their brochure saying the welcome meeting was at 10.00am. Since breakfast was 08.00 until 10.30 we decided to get some sleep and forget about the welcome meeting. For night flights the meetings should be early afternoon.
The breakfasts every day were full English with queues at the coffee, tea, fruit juice and toast machine. A cook making a fresh omelet would have been a change for the better but alas never happened. We had booked half board and there was a variety of meat and fish dishes and plenty of salad. There was also a cook making a fresh fish or meat dish every evening. However if you stay for two weeks the meals menu repeat and by the second week we were completely fed up, pardon the pun, with the food.
Entertainment is OK, not great, and like the food repeats the second week.
Pool towels are not supplied but can be hired, as can kettles, wheelchairs, mobility scooters, at a private shop in the hotel foyer. I mention the scooters because there were regularly 5 or 6 being recharged each evening in the reception foyer. A number of the repeat clients had walking difficulties or were substantially overweight and so this area around the hotel, being flat with no hills, was ideal for them.
Other writers have mentioned the pool and decking area fiasco each morning. There are only a fifth of umbrellas available compared to the number of beds and the doors to the pool area gets opened at 08.00 each morning. This means queues form at 07.30 and spill out across the reception area. This, along with people queuing to get into the breakfast area, and people with cases leaving the hotel means the reception area can be very busy every morning.
If you order a drink with your evening meal the staff stand at the table waiting for payment. Your obviously not trusted to pay later or add to your room and pay on leaving.
The hotel has a door leaving the pool area which leads down a few steps onto a beautiful beach and we used this to bathe in the sea most days.
The hotel claims to be 4 star but in reality it is 2 to max 3 star. Probably a one week stay and a cruise the second week would have been a better option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Lucia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Lucia Hotel

Also Known As:
Santa Lucia Palma Nova
Hotel Santa Lucia
Santa Lucia Hotel Palmanova, Majorca
Address: Calle de Duc Estremera 6, 07180 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#14 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Lucia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beachfront Hotel just 20 metres from the beach, located in the best area of Palmanova between the beaches of Son Matías and Palmanova. All the rooms have lovely sea views and views of the bay of Palma, in addition to a terrace, full bath, telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and heating, etc. The main floor areas of this hotel of Palmanova, are spacious, with lovely lounges and climate controlled dining room with an exquisite buffet. 1 pool bar with snacks and barbeque. Often at night there is live music and entertainment, including cabaret shows and dancing. The hotel has outdoor swimming pools for adults and children and an indoor heated swimming pool in the winter. Also, enjoy the jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Santa Lucia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Lucia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.