We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of a 4*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delfin Playa

Save Saved
You added Delfin Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delfin Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hermanos Moncada 17, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not worthy of a 4*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Arrived 24th September. Not worthy of a 4* and other guests we spoke to were in agreement. The 'hot' food was not always hot enough, had to use the microwave on one occasion, went to use it again but unplugged and rather limited in selection, did not enjoy their seafood paella, the small prawns still had their shells on amongst all the other ingredients, and some of their fish meals still had their bones intact. The salad/cooked meat/cheeses etc. were good. Desserts/fresh fruit was also good (glad we did NOT go for All Inclusive as we believe they did not serve any snacks). On arrival air conditioning was not working, but immediately fixed. There was no fridge to keep drinks cool apparently these were removed?? There were ants in our room and balcony (on 6th floor),the room was sprayed by housekeeper. The water pressure had to be adjusted due to shower water going from scalding hot to cold, not pleasant especially when under it. We found the heated indoor pool and looked forward to using this but found out it was not in use until later in the year,'On The Beach' did not state this on their description plus ' 2 magnificent outdoor pools' in description was a little exaggerated, and now looking at the Delpin Playa's own website that says 'Choose from the outdoor pool or the indoor pool ' . The bigger pool looks a lot larger in the photo however this was fine apart from the leaves/seeds/flies dropping into the water (just breath through your nose, not your mouth) and the smaller pool is a very small paddling pool. On arrival we were given the opportunity of a one off payment to partake of unlimited drinks (wine/beer) only whilst eating in the restaurant, however some of the other guests was not aware of this. Entertainment consisted of one night of Flamenco dancing which was cancelled. We was not aware of this until we purchased our drinks from the bar and waited, after around 40mins. I enquired at reception and was told it had been cancelled. We asked why was this not publicised earlier and Neus? (girl reception) said the previous reception staff forgot to let guests know, ok pass the blame. We think there was a women their a couple of nights trying to encourage guests to participate in dancing to music. Hotel reception was helpful but there was lack of information publicising alternative entertainment, events and services. Majority of restaurant staff didn't really look to be very happy, the reception, maintenance, housekeeper and manager seemed fine. Would we go there again? No. I will say that I emailed about a week or so in advance (a tip given, thank you) and requested a room with a sea view on the 6th floor which we did have, it was a lovely view. Away from the hotel, Palmanova was a busy area with nice views and plenty of bars and restaurants but little entertainment. Nice for walking, buses available to go to Palma and other area's. Tourist Info. office across from the hotel. Weather was lovely, dry and up to 34C.

Room Tip: As suggested by other review, try and email about a week in advance to request a room with a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri F, Community Manager at Delfin Playa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Jan 891,
Thank you for your comment. We've yet checked all your tips because we really are proud of our 4 star facilities and service. We will keep on working to achieve excellence.
Regards,
Puri F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    74
    37
    27
    6
See reviews for
46
64
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel end of September, first of all we were given the key to a room that was already occupied, the room had an ugly st view and was pretty small. We booked all inclusive, we got full board. We only had food at meal times (hit and miss) no snacks inbetween so if u missed your meal u had to wait until the next sitting! Also we waited a lengthly time at the bar to be served most of the time staff were in the back room! Pool bar wasn't open so we had to keep going inside. Pool area was nice the pool itself was horrible, full of leaves and flies! Constantly had flies landing on u whilst sun bathing in the pool area. Wifi available in bar area, we were reluctantly given the code! Palmanova was very quiet, 10 min walk to . magaluf beaches were really nice and clean. I wouldn't advise going to this hotel if u are English, u get treated differently and poor service, also rude looks from other guests who were not English!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri F, Community Manager at Delfin Playa, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hi Charlene W, thank you to write a review about your stay.
Obviously we are not happy that your stay with us has not met your expectations. But we want to clarify that guests of all nationalities are welcome, and our staff is ready to help to everyone of any country. Also our services and facilities are planned on that way.
Kind regards,
Puri F,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

went here for 3 nights end of september big room with the smallest tv ever don`t no if there all like it . room 204 not a bad view beds quite good .javier and the young girl on reception were great. the older reception staff and dinning room staff miserable unless your not english cleaning staff good . tv remote 10 euro . food bit it and miss not much choice .pool area nice .near beach .so all in all not bad .only if the other staff were as good as javier and the young girl .it is more for none english . first time in palmanova like it very much would go back problerly not delfin . unless the other staff were more like the younger nice pepole on reception . perhaps manager should take this in mind

Room Tip: sea veiw a must higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri F, Community Manager at Delfin Playa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear The3M's,
Thanks for your comment and to write about our hotel. But we can accept that you disparages our staff. We are very pleased that our staff has helped, but we can not tolerate that you told about miserable other part. We are delighted to receive direct feedback from our guests, but the negative reviews can be written without insult anybody.
Regads,
Puri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. Reception area nice. Restaurant nice, breakfast the norm.
We had room 403, view lovely, bedroom nice, bathroom in need of refurb. Toilet smelt of wee needed some bleach down it. A bit off putting. In the room it had a alarm on ceiling which flashed green. Bit annoying. Tv but the channels went off. They were cleaned everyday but if the hotel read this please put bleach down the loo it stinks.
Safe 2 euros per day and 10 euros deposit.
Tact to airport 20 mins and cost 38 euros.
A bar just outside the beach way called castaways 2 euros 10 for 2 pints.
Did take about 40 mins to walk to magaluf.
The pool looked very nice but when you got in it was full of flies and leaves. Disgusting. We stopped going in it. They need to cut the trees down. It was a shame not to use it.
Free wifi in the pool bar area. Next to beach.
Overhaul we did have a good time but these few faults, management need to address this situation. Sort the dirty pool out, and clean the toilet properly. VERY off putting.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri F, Community Manager at Delfin Playa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
The3M's
Thank you for your comment. We will check all your tips in order to improve our services and facilites.
Kind regards.
Puri F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just got back from this hotel and it certainly is not worth the 4* rating it has. This is a very dated hotel and although the room was very clean, it looked out onto a back street and we did not got any sun at all on our balcony. Satellite TV means BBC world news channel is the only English Channel you can get and the food was very poor with little variety. I do acknowledge that all the staff were very friendly and helpful, but we will not go back to this hotel again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri F, Community Manager at Delfin Playa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sharon M,
Thank you very much to explain your experience in our Hotel. We will revise our service and we are specially glad to know thay you value the work ouf our staff.
Kind regards,
Puri F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

very cheap u get what you pay for we where half board food was poor rooms where ok not the best .quiet part of town no night life at all. Bus stop and taxi rank next to hotel magulff was 6 euros away worth every penny or try a small port called portalls in the other direction same price if you like good food nice bars .positives beach bus stops taxi rank at the back of hotel

Room Tip: dont book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri F, Community Manager at Delfin Playa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear 2013maria123,
Thank you very much to spend a time writting this review and explain your opinion about our services and goods.
KInd regards,
Puri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Positive:
The garden with pool is beautiful, the beach is close to the hotel, the bus stop is 10 meters from the back door, the position of the hotel is very good. The hotel is very clean. If you go out for all day, you get a picnic bag (instead of lunch).

Negatives:
We had a room with terrible view - just look at the pics. 2 m from our window was a HVAC central motors, which was roaring 24/7... The change was possible only for 8€/day... The beds were bigger than the mattress, they sliding.
We pay for all inclusive - all inclusive means full board (breakfast, lunch and dinner) plus drinks from bar from 11:00 am to 11:00 pm (only domestic drinks), the second bar (at the pool) wasn't open in Sept.
Some people from the staff wasn't kind, but the other are friendly.
The animation was only in evening: an older women plays music and sometimes shouting "come on everybody, disco music, let´s dance"...
The food was only on average, not very delicious...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri F, Community Manager at Delfin Playa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi R1attee! Thank you for your review.
We will take note about all your comments in order to improve our services.
Thank you to help us to became better.
Regards,
Puri F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delfin Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfin Playa

Address: Hermanos Moncada 17, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Delfin Playa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Delfin Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfin Playa Palma Nova
Delfin Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfin Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.