We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, great location, great staff, but dated and terrible beds.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delfin Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Delfin Playa to your Saves list
Delfin Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hermanos Moncada 17, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very clean, great location, great staff, but dated and terrible beds.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just got back from 7 nights, with hubby and 6 month old baby and the grandparents. Good points are location is brilliant, pool area is lovely with plenty of sun beds and seating outside. All areas are very very clean and staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is very good for mass catering for various nationalities, good selection of hot and cold foods. Again plenty of seating and it never felt overcrowed or canteen like. Towel hire is great idea, only £10 euro deposit. Maid service was excellent, fresh towels daily and our maid was really cheerful and pleasant. Bar prices are good for a hotel. Beaches are lovely and right outside the hotel. Bus and taxi rank also right outside and only 10 min walk if you do want to go into magaluf and lots of shops to browse.

Bad points are: Sea view rooms do have amazing views, but we had to ask to move after the first night due to noise coming from the bars outside hotel and those sitting and chatting around the pool area.We were kept up way after 2pm and rooms only have single glazing so you do hear it all. Although very clean, the rooms are quite dated and the beds were really uncomfortable and needed replacing. Just way too soft and we all woke with really bad backache every morning.There is also no fridge or tea/ coffee making facilities, which for a four star hotel is dissapointing. I had nowhere to keep baby food or milk chilled. The website pics of rooms make them look much more spacious and modern than they actually are. TVs really need updating and only one english channel ( but who goes away to watch TV anyway?) Indoor pool is not nice at all, just didnt look very clean and it has a filmy scum on it and tiles looked dirty when we went in to use it.

Didnt really see any entertainment, so cannot really comment, i know there was some aqua fit and yoga but we didnt see that either. If you want a place that has an entertainment team to keep the kids occupied than this is not the hotel for you.

We are going back to Palma Nova in Sept as we enjoyed it so much, but not sure if we would go back to the Delfin Playa. it is a lovely clean hotel, but i feel it is a three star hotel trying to be a four star. We paid £1100 for half board for each couple ( baby was free) and i feel this is expensive for the overall experience within the hotel.

Room Tip: non sea views rooms have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    96
    46
    32
    7
See reviews for
63
92
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a four night break. We chose this as a reasonably priced, well located hotel and stayed on a bed and breakfast tariff. We had a perfectly pleasant stay. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were helpful, the choice at breakfast was good. There were not many English people in the hotel but so what? We had no bother getting a sun bed and there is plenty of room for every one in the spacious gardens. This hotel obviously caters for the more senior end of the market, which suited us. We will stay at this hotel again and would recommend it, but not to young people or people with young families.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I cannot fault this hotel. Just come back from a week's stay with my sister-in-law, really wish it had been longer. We thought the hotel was just beautiful with lots of character i.e. lovely wooden doors and furniture, it was spotlessly clean and well kept. The room was very spacious, as was the balcony. We had paid for the higher floors, especially wanting a sea view, we e-mailed the hotel directly beforehand and received a very nice e-mail back, even sending another e-mail, thanking us for thanking them. Great service from all the staff; our lovely cleaning lady, the receptionists, especially Javier who was very polite and helpful, our two favourite waitresses Pastora and Felicia and all the bar staff. The surroundings are wonderful, with lots of beautiful trees, plants and flowers all around the swimming pools, there's so much attention to detail. The location is just perfect, the view from our balcony was magnificent and we were quite literally across the road from the beach, lots of shops and bars nearby. Excellent food with lots of variety for all tastes. We have stayed in several hotels in Palma, but we will definitely, definitely go back to this one for all our future holidays. Many, many thanks to the manager and staff. Anne Marie & Gill.

Room Tip: E-mail the hotel directly before travelling if you wish to have a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Location is excellent and the food is good. On the negative side, the pool is freezing with the result that barely anybody uses it and secondly, there is no entertainment at night. Not good for children.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the garden rooms, C1, C2, C3, preferably C1 as it's sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great holiday! the location is excellent, with the beach, bars, shops and everything that you need nearby. The overall room service could be better with a few refurbishments required however, the staff are excellent and friendly with Kids. special mention goes to Amin and the restaurant staff! Amin, an excellent chef and top gentleman, javier at reception was helpful and Karuna and her entertainment/dance moves helped make our stay fun.
Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location is definitely the best thing about this hotel, closely followed by food!
Hotel’s garden exit/entrance leads directly onto a long promenade with many bars, restaurants and shops, including a supermarket, a pharmacy, car hire, banks etc which are there in both directions from the hotel. There is also a taxi rank just outside the hotel from which visitors can get to the centre of Palma (15km) for some 18-19 euro or also a bus stop served by buses to Palma (3.10 euro single) and other destinations along the coast. The beach is just across the road too. The hotel itself is nothing special but rooms are clean and good size. Some updating would improve the place: there are very old fashioned small screen TV sets in rooms and no fridge, the pine base beds are a bit creaky. Our room 609 (top floor) had a lovely view of the pool area and the sea. However there also are many rooms overlooking the not so nice back street. The large lounge next to the bar has comfortable seats and large screen TV. The free wi-fi is only available in the bar/lounge area not in the bedrooms. The indoor pool is not very nice and the room is not well aired, has a musty smell; the fitness centre next door to it is very small indeed. The outside pool area is quite pleasant. We loved the food and the friendly staff in the buffet restaurant. There was always plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables, la arge salad bar, a good selection of hot meals (fish and meat dishes), a daily soup, the cakes and puddings are colourful and tasty. The wine (on tap) is of a reasonable quality – we liked the rose best.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher (5-6 floors) overlooking pool area and the sea (for example 601-610) are better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My daugher (aged 11) and I are just back from a 4 night stay at The Delfin Playa Hotel ... we are definately going back :-) we could not fault a thing about this hotel! The hotel itself was extrememly clean and spacious, the food was exceptional, the staff were very friendly and the Hotel Manager was always around ensuring his customers were happy! We were in room 506 overlooking the pool and the sea, it was beautiful. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Delfin Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfin Playa

Address: Hermanos Moncada 17, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#15 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delfin Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Delfin Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfin Playa Palma Nova
Delfin Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfin Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.