We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location… and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delfin Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Delfin Playa to your Saves list
Delfin Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hermanos Moncada 17, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Location, location, location… and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location is definitely the best thing about this hotel, closely followed by food!
Hotel’s garden exit/entrance leads directly onto a long promenade with many bars, restaurants and shops, including a supermarket, a pharmacy, car hire, banks etc which are there in both directions from the hotel. There is also a taxi rank just outside the hotel from which visitors can get to the centre of Palma (15km) for some 18-19 euro or also a bus stop served by buses to Palma (3.10 euro single) and other destinations along the coast. The beach is just across the road too. The hotel itself is nothing special but rooms are clean and good size. Some updating would improve the place: there are very old fashioned small screen TV sets in rooms and no fridge, the pine base beds are a bit creaky. Our room 609 (top floor) had a lovely view of the pool area and the sea. However there also are many rooms overlooking the not so nice back street. The large lounge next to the bar has comfortable seats and large screen TV. The free wi-fi is only available in the bar/lounge area not in the bedrooms. The indoor pool is not very nice and the room is not well aired, has a musty smell; the fitness centre next door to it is very small indeed. The outside pool area is quite pleasant. We loved the food and the friendly staff in the buffet restaurant. There was always plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables, la arge salad bar, a good selection of hot meals (fish and meat dishes), a daily soup, the cakes and puddings are colourful and tasty. The wine (on tap) is of a reasonable quality – we liked the rose best.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher (5-6 floors) overlooking pool area and the sea (for example 601-610) are better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    76
    38
    31
    6
See reviews for
49
68
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My daugher (aged 11) and I are just back from a 4 night stay at The Delfin Playa Hotel ... we are definately going back :-) we could not fault a thing about this hotel! The hotel itself was extrememly clean and spacious, the food was exceptional, the staff were very friendly and the Hotel Manager was always around ensuring his customers were happy! We were in room 506 overlooking the pool and the sea, it was beautiful. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Booked a last minute four day break with on the beach, all-inclusive at the delfin mar santa ponsa but on arrival the hotel was not expecting us and was full.The lady on reception was very nice and quickly arranged accommodation at the delfin playa palma nova.We were invited to take drinks at the bar and even though the dining room was closed fruit was offered to us which was a nice gesture.A taxi was called and at no cost to us we were taken to the delfin playa hotel reception were expecting us and gave us a room which overlooked the hotel pool., The following morning we could of continued our holiday at the other hotel however, we requested if we could stay here and staff at the hotel said that we would be most welcome.We enjoyed the hotel and enjoyed the food and drinks, it is worth noting that all-inclusive drinks finish at 2300.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Me and my wife were there for weeks holiday in September. Very clean, friendly staff. But in general hotel needs renovation. Very good food. Hotel`s territory is very cosy. The location of the Hotel is excellent right near the beach, restaurants and shops. In this region a lot of people speak English. We were satisfied. Minus only one - ants in our room. We lived on 2d floor. So, try to order numbers as high as possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just got back from a weeks holiday all inclusive at the Delfine Playa from 7th to 14th august 2012, We were booked into the Agua Beach but on arrival we got moved to the Playa this must be a common thing as its in a few reviews on here, which i might add we were not happy about at the time after traveling and having my parents with us who are in there 70's this is poor managment of overbooking hotels and being moved on arrival,then on arriving at the playa our rooms were'nt ready!! we were all tired,thirsty,hungry and hot, we had to get changed out of our trvelling clothes in a baggage room!! until our rooms were ready, this was fine for me my partner and her son 11yrs, but not the best for my perents in there 70's!!.We were given our bands and managed to get a drink from the pool bar.We had missed breakfast and had to wait until lunch at 1pm for something to eat.

All that aside this hotel is lovely, the rooms are a good size and very clean,maid service every day with clean towels,the staff are all mostly friendly but the odd one or two are a bit igronant ie resturant staff!! the food in the resturant is good but doesnt cater much for children,the salad bar is outstanding with loads of choice and as much beer,wine and soft drinks as you like they even have rose,plenty of fruit and good choice of deserts.

The pool area and pool are a good size if you can get a sun lounger!! most of the loungers are reserved with towels most of the day even people reserving them and going to the beach all day which is wrong and very annoying when you cant get one,there is even a sign saying no reserving of sun beds in all languges but no one takes a bit of notice and they reserve them anyway,so my advice is if you want a lounger by the pool is to reserve them early in the morning(what a drag)!!! staff at the pool bar are always helpful and friendly even when its very busy and they have ice creams and ice lollys for the kids.

All In All i would'nt go to this hotel again purely because it does'nt cater for British familys,the lack of entertainment was disappointing,but funny when you hear Islands in the stream by Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers sung in Spanish lol,the location of the hotel is ideal being close to the beach just across the road and close to bars,resturants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a lovely family orientated hotel with many good features, from the very Friendly helpful and welcoming staff especially the receptionist who always went the extra mile. Rooms are basic but very clean, a nice swimming pool (only Criticism would be the towels on the sun loungers by the pool no matter what time you arrived) poolside entertainment and much more going on. in short an excellent hotel for a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Me and 2 of my friends came here for a weeks girly holiday and we had a fantastic time, the hotel was very clean and, so were the rooms. The food was ok the salad bar was great and drinks and wine and beer were on tap which was good.
The location of this hotel is fantastic right near the beach, shops, restaurants and bars.
Some of the staff in the hotel were really friendly the receptionists staff were really nice and very helpful, Karina the entertainment lady was so much fun she is so cheerful and is always so friendly and always doing something to keep the guests entertained, we could not fault her such a lovely lady she is an asset to the hotel.
The restaurant staff, bar staff and the manager were a bit miserable and never saw them smile once but i guess some people just have a miserable look about them.
Did not really see much entertainment as we always went out of the hotel at night to the bars below, but the all inclusive beverages were not bad and they were ever so strong.
All in all fab hotel, would return, to make this hotel excellent the staff who don't smile need to cos they just look soooooooo miserable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delfin Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfin Playa

Address: Hermanos Moncada 17, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Delfin Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Delfin Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfin Playa Palma Nova
Delfin Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfin Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.