We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Palmanova

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Palmanova to your Saves list
Viva Palmanova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Ca's Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Myself, husband and 2 kids aged 10 and 8 stayed here from Saturday 12/10/13 until Wednesday 16/10/13 in a standard 1 bedroom apartment. Room was spotless, with well equipped kitchenette, kettle, toaster and coffee maker. Plenty of room for the four of us.

We were self catering so I can't comment on the food in the hotel, but there were lots of shops and lovely restaurants nearby, and we were really glad that we had went self catering.

The hotel itself was really clean, all the communal areas well maintained and the gardens were beautiful. The kids loved the pirate boat and with the hotel being quieter they could get lots of time to play on it. They loved the play park and the bouncy castle too, and we loved not having to fight for a sun lounger every day!

The only gripe I have was that although the entertainment was good (Wild West show, contortionist and Rat Pack tribute), the entertainment was over for the night at 9.50pm! I don't know if this is because it was the end of the season, or if this is standard practice at the Viva.

The location of the hotel was great, just cross the road and walk down a set of steps and you were right at the beautiful Son Mathias beach, or turn right and walk down the hill and you were in Magaluf.

We visited Katmandu Park which was excellent value for money and a great day out, and did the glass bottom boat tour which I would definitely recommend. The only thing I would say is if you are visiting in October a lot of the attractions are operating restricted hours and days, so check first before setting out. There is a ticket office near the Santander bank, and the lady there was very helpful.

All in all, a great little short break at a lovely hotel and great resort. We will be returning back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    109
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
224
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here with husband for 4 nights oct 13' we got a beautiful room on 3rd floor with a staircase to roof terrace with Jacuzzi, aand double lounger. Very clean, open plan living area with kitchenette. Very friendly staff pool area excellent with kids area and seperate over 18 relax area and pool, entertainment was excellent. Close to beach, 2min walk and close 2 shops bars restaurants, hotel has an attached supermarket which is handy for self catering. 5* rating for me and would def return. :D

Room Tip: 3rd floor has jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

just back from a week in Viva Palmanova - had the most amazing holiday! Went with 2 kids (5 and 3 years of age) and had all inclusive package. The whole week couldn't have gone better: the food was gorgeous - even for my very fussy husband who doesn't eat fish; the place spotless, the hotel staff was really helpful. Kids had an amazing time, didn't want to come home. Couldn't recommend this enough, would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my husband and 18 month year old. The wather was generally in the late 20's.2 really hot days and 1 cloudy day.

Accommodation
Our Room was on the 3rd floor and had a pool view.
All rooms on the 3rd floor also have a staircase and an additional locked door to a roof terrace with hottub. We purposefully didnt't choose this type of room as it would not be suitable for my young daughter. The door at the top of the staircase was locked, (as we hadnt paid for this room type) however, the open staircase is still dangerous so my husband spoke to reception and they send some men to the room, they brought in some additional furniture to block the front of teh staircase. Our room overlooked the pool (good view) however it also faced the outside stage (where the evening entertainment is!) so it was really quite loud at night. Luckily my little one sleeps quite well but I'd recommend asking for a room facing the opposite side if your child would not be able to go to sleep in the middle of a disco.

The room was a decent size and fairly modern.

Facilities
The facilities are great, especially for children. Our little one is prob too young to take full advantage but the hotel is geared up for children and there are lots of little touches. A full day and evening events programme, outdoor pools and playgrounds a man in a giant teddy bear costume, colouring books and pens in all the restarants, plastic cutlery etc in all teh restaurants etc.

Food
I must say that I expected pretty bog standard buffet food but was very impressesd. We puposefully only choose to go on a B&B basis as we have found that hotel buffets tend to be fairly average and quite repetitive, however, the food was very decent quality, with plenty of choice. We even had sparkling wine and smolked salmon on the menu today and the freshly cooked pankakes and omlettes were a delight. I must say that food outside the hotel was very dissapointing, we ate dinner out 5 nights and struggled to find anywhere that sold anything except chips and deep fried food abart with friend and griddled meat. The best place we found is Zen on the sea front, a lovely chilled out bar with friendly staff and nice tapas. We also choose to eat at the hotel twice and the food was fantastic compared to anything we had outside.

Staff
The animation/entertainment team were extremely hard working and very polished professionals. They are a credit to the hotel.

Overall - I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone with children. We will definitely consider going back in future years

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel three times now and have never been disappointed. Very helpful staff and hotel and pool are very smart. Like the adults only pool too, very peaceful !! Not sure we'll make it again next year though because it seems to be getting more and more expensive each year. Will certainly miss it though !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just stayed at the Viva Palmanova for a week and had a really good time. Our room was very clean, modern and spacious with a lovely balcony and with a bed and a table and chairs. We had a ground floor room at the back so not much to look at apart from a car park but we didn't use this much.
The pool area is huge and you can always get a bed, we checked out the 18+ pool which looked very nice and relaxing but we had children with us so wasn't allowed in. Aquagym every day was good fun.
The staff in the bar and restaurant were so kind and helpful.
Breakfast was lovely and so much choice! The kids loved having pancakes and omellettes made to order in front of them.
I wouldn't recommend paying extra for the rooftop rooms with hot tubs, our friends paid an extra 600 euros and although it was lovely to have the hot tub, the room was actually a lot smaller than our normal room in comparison.
Also this hotel is a lot closer to Magaluf than I thought, which is ok if you want to go there, but we struggled to find anywhere nice to go out and eat outside of the hotel. Would recommend eating in the hotel.
Also the spa was divine! We had a few treatments during our stay so would definitely recommend this.
Overall a great place to stay, we will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms towards the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

we stayed with our 5 and 1 yr old for 10 nights all in. food was fantastic with show cooking, omlette eggs and pancakes fresh at breakfast and a selection at evening meals. lunch was ordered at pool bar off a varied menu if you didn't want buffet twice a day.
entertainment staff were amazing with kids and my little boy loved sofia and laura. they loved him back I think too! sadly sofia won't be there next year, sadly missed I'm sure. adult entertainment was ok but not long enough. always ended by 10pm which was annoying as we wanted to stay up on hol a bit later but not leave hotel with kids.
rooms and hotel are spotless, pools spotless and great fun! yes water is cold and can imagine if out of season may be hard to handle but we went 19 to 29 th sep and it was so hot the pools were welcoming to cool us down. our kids were in there everyday and it didnt bother them.
location, to be honest we ate out twice as it was my inlaws birthday and i thought local restaurants were average and hotel food and service outclassed the area. its closer to magaluf than palma nova but we never heard any party animals, its just the streets were not that clean and smell was bad. it is close to beach shops etc. all in all though a great holiday but wish i could put the hotel and all the wonderful staff in a more picturesque setting.
thank you viva.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Palmanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Palmanova

Address: Avda Ca's Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Palmanova 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 kilometres from Palma lies the magnificent tourist resort of Palmanova. And in its centre, just 200 metres from its magnificent beaches, Viva Palmanova Aparthotel can be found. Recently renovated, this establishment is the best choice for families and couples seeking maximum comfort, a full range of amenities and great entertainment for all. Viva Palmanova has three different swimming pools: a general pool with a large sun terrace, a children’s pool with water games and a Pirate Boat, and an exclusive chill-out pool with Balinese sunbeds. Also the Viva Palmanova boasts a complete range of sports and leisure facilities: sports ground, gym, indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, children’s playground, and recreational games, while an abundant and varied cuisine can be enjoyed in any of its restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Viva Palmanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Palmanova Palma Nova
Viva Palma Nova
Viva Palmanova Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Palmanova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.